We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to run away and relax, this is your destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Mussanah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I've been to this place with my family. It was a wonderful experience. Quite place, helpful staff, amazing scenaries.
When I did the booking, the reservation person gave me an extra bed when she saw the I need that (without asking) free of charge.
When I arrived, the staff was so kind and welcomnig.

Room Tip: I would strongly advise taking the sea view rooms, as other rooms are not facing an interesting view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yousef J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Made a day visit for a function. Cannot comment on the hotel as such but its worth commenting that the pool was open and the resort itself was in great condition. Very quiet though. Beach is long and straight and the enclosed beach area in the marina is used for water sport. Management ought tto consider if this could be made a child friendly area

By the by, Oman Sail were doing childrens lesson - great initiative - at the Marina.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank DarkeinOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had an overnight stay so the fact that the hotel is not quite finished and the location is still undeveloped was not a problem to us as we wouldn't have had time to enjoy the facilities. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully furnished, although getting out of the bath/shower might be a serious problem for the less agile (as mentioned by another reviewer). The South East Asian food served on New Year's Eve was wonderful. The food was all of the highest quality and was prepared in small batches so that the buffet was constantly replenished. Table service (drinks etc) was efficient and unobtrusive. Enjoyed a late leisurely breakfast and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigertripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is well appointed with it's own marina and private beach. The beach is not particularly good though. The hotel is constructed with central corridors running North to South with rooms on either side, so half of them overlook the car park and the other half have a sea view. All have balconies with chairs and a table. To the South of the hotel (and part of the hotel complex) is a similar building containing apartments, whilst to the North is a separate Health Spa building that is expected to be complete by the end of 2011. Construction work on 3 swimming pools is now underway to the North of this latter building. One of them will be an indoor pool for women only. The facilities were excellent but the staff are still on a learning curve. Interestingly most, if not all, the kitchen and restaurant staff are from Myanmar, but the food was very good indeed. Although mainly Asian or Indian food on one evening the restaurant served up one of the best Shepherd's pies I've ever eaten. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very comfortable and clean, and this was the only hotel in Oman that provided face cloths. We got a special rate in Sept 2011 because it's not yet finished and is still seeking to build up a reputation. I suspect the full price will be something of a deterrent. Of course you can't get away from the place without a car and I'm not sure that there's anywhere interesting to go within about 5 miles so 2 or 3 nights might be quite sufficient.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the sea. They don't have the full force of the sun on them after mid-morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cielward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We came from Dubai by car and the first impression was that neither the resort nor the new road from Sultan Qaboos highway did show up on the GPS. After some hazzle, the hotel was easy to find. The staff were very service-minded. All enquiries were met with a smile which seemed authentic, and our impression was that the staff really put their effort in making our stay as pleasant as possible. We got a free upgrade from garden view to sea view. The rooms were pretty standard, including one king size bed. We got an extra bed for our child free of charge. The bathroom is standard. However, the room was cleaned twice a day, and always new towels, soaps, water bottles etc. were put out. The restaurant seemed good. Both the breakfast and the dinner buffet was very nice, and even though the number of guests seemed low, a full selection of food was put on the buffet every day. The private beach was a nice feature, sheltered from the waves by a molo. A little more effort should be made in cleaning the beach and shallow water even more for garbage like empty bottles and plastic bags. The molo is also a nice place to snorkle. as there are lots of crabs, shellfish and other sea creature to watch. The beach was also inhabited by lots of white, cute beachcrabs, which gave the beach the impression of what it in reality is; A living eco system..

I only gave 3/5 on the condition of the hotel area. This is because when we stayed there, the swimmingpool and leasure area wasn't finished, nor the gym. The only place to spend the day on the resort was the beach.

Luckily, we came by car, so we had the opportunity to explore the whole area, forts and villages and Muscat city pretty easily. The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere, so without a car we'd feel pretty stuck.

So, to conclude this review, the pros were the service provided by the staff, the beach, cleaniness of the rooms and the restaurant, while the cons are that the resort is unfinished and the location of the hotel. When the pool area and the gym is finished, this resort will be perfect for families looking for sun, sea and relaxation. Using this resort as a base for getting around and exploring Oman is not possible withour a car.

Room Tip: All the rooms facing the sea do have a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This "resort" was built because the Asian Beach Games were being held here, and it is evident from driving up to the front door that this is a work in progress: I had to go inside the lobby to get someone to take my luggage, only to find no fewer than six employees -- two of them at the door -- standing around. I guess I disturbed the routine, and decided to carry my bags in myself.

The pros are the following: The reception staff is quite pleasant. However, don't expect any service to be volunteered. You need to ask for everything you want. The decor of the lobby, the common areas and the pool is beautiful, modern and locally-oriented. The rooms are quite spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable, but still a bit hard for my liking. The pastry chef in the Mydan buffet restaurant is obviously quite talented, although he did burn the mille-feuille to the point where the taste and texture of the whole dessert was ruined. All cooking is done in an open kitchen, which is modern and, most importantly, spotless.

Now for the more numerous cons: The first room I was given had no functioning A/C. They struggled and tried to get it started by pushing buttons, but it was obvious to me that there was a more basic problem: There was no electricity. Be sure to check before unpacking. The shower is nice, but to use it, you have to step up into the bathtub, and quite a step it is. To accomplish it, I had to sit on the rim of the bathtub, swing myself over and then stand up, but there is nothing to hold onto if you lose your balance except a glass door. Not the smartest design. Be careful. Someone didn't take into account that not everyone staying here is an athlete. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere. My room looked out onto a manmade marina with a few small boats and a tiny slice of similarly manmade beach with small groups of foreign tourists and their children. Totally depressing, actually. The minibar is empty, which is probably better given that the prices are quite high. The occupancy rate is very low...I think it was 20% during my stay, but it is often as low as 2-3% from what the staff told me. The buffet dinner has so much potential. But, the sushi is tasteless (and there was no soy sauce or chopsticks available at the station); the salads uninspiring; the kingfish and chicken overcooked to the point of becoming leather-dry; and the appetizers uninspiring (except for the bresaola-parmesan amuse-bouche). The cream of mushroom soup was also quite tasty. The dinner is absurdly expensive: with a bottle of local water and watermelon juice, I paid RO 20 (almost $52). If you go to the restaurant, which adjoins the buffet, a piece of grilled salmon is RO 11, and Omani lobster (which has no claw meat) is RO 19.5. Ridiculous. No turndown service, and no changing of towels unless you call and ask for it. Even then, the wait is incredible. When I made the reservation, I asked for the general manager by name, and was told by the staff that there is no manager, general or otherwise, available on the weekend (Thursday-Friday). I find this hard to believe, given that the weekend is the only possible time this hotel has guests. I paid RO 55 for bed and breakfast, taxes and service charge inclusive. I would consider RO 30 to have been a fair price. There is nothing to do. I was bored out of my mind. I simply watched TV, but the signal kept going in and out. Wi-Fi? Yes, theoretically. But forget about it. It's so slow that you want to throw your laptop against the wall. I called and complained about it and was given another ID number, which was invalid.

If you are coming to Oman from Dubai, don't stay here; drive the extra 100 km and stay in Muscat, which at least has things to see and do. All in all, I was disappointed, and won't be returning.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
5  Thank SheikhDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here shortly after the pre-opening and after the Asian Beach Games were held here. It is nice to finally have an international hotel in this area - and what a great location - right on the beach - with half of the hotel having superb views. A general buffet restaurant and a newly opened seafood restaurant and bar. Nothing quite beats the sea views from these three outlets. However there are still teething problems in service and consistency in what is on offer. Had chicken which looked unappetizingly grey - but tasted OK, while my husband ordered the fish (hammour I think) which was NOT fresh.

If you can still get a room with the pre-opening special pricing then please stay because the rooms that have sea views are lovely in decor, size and all have balconies. The breakfast buffet is very good - their pastry chef or baker is pretty deft at making fresh bread and pastries which are so nice to eat compared to what ýou buy locally. The desserts on the dinner buffet were all works of art and not only looked good but tasted fantastic.

The pricing of the coffee-tea-cake in the lobby is a bit out of whack with local pricing - i.e. an espresso is more than 2 OMR plus tax - whereas in a five star hotel in Muscat it can be cheaper than this. It seems strange that the hotel bakes beautiful fresh breads which they serve in the breakfast buffet - yet when one orders a tea or coffee with a tuna or egg sandwich in the lobby - the bread is more often than not stale and hard. Why don't they use the freshly baked bread? Why also don't they serve a high tea option?

Anyways get in quick while the pricing is still at preopening specials - as this more than makes up for the teething problems of a new hotel opening.

Room Tip: Lovely decor - tourquoise blues offset with nature browns. Get a sea view room, or one of the fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacqueline118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Mussanah
24.6 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#1 of 2 in Barka
74 reviews
45.9 mi away
Mysk Al Mouj Hotel
Mysk Al Mouj Hotel
#23 of 63 in Muscat
43 reviews
55.9 mi away
Samara Hotel
Samara Hotel
#30 of 63 in Muscat
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#37 of 63 in Muscat
61 reviews
50.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat OCEC
Crowne Plaza Muscat OCEC
#25 of 63 in Muscat
18 reviews
0 mi away
Ramee Dream Resort
Ramee Dream Resort
#42 of 63 in Muscat
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Resort Mussanah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort Mussanah

Address: Wudham Al Sahil | P.O. Box 82, Al Mussanah 300, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Al Mussanah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Mussanah
Price Range: $102 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Resort Mussanah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the Gulf of Oman, Millennium Resort Mussanah blends vivid Arabian and Asian themes to provide a unique and memorable getaway resort on the coast of Al Batinah. The lifestyle destination resort is just 45 minutes from Muscat International Airport and close to the neighbouring cities of Barka and Sohar. With panoramic views of the sea, the resort has something for everyone and caters for seafaring guests with a private 54-berth marina, conferencing facilities for discerning business visitors, offers a diverse range of sports activities for leisure travellers and luxurious pools with exclusive beach access for holidaymakers. Guests can relax in idyllic surroundings and take in all of the spectacular natural beauty that the Sultanate of Oman has to offer. Millennium Resort Mussanah features 234 luxurious accommodating hotel rooms in a range of options to suit every need including Deluxe, Executive and Junior Suites, 74 fully-furnished serviced apartments or residences comprising of studios and one bedroom and two bedroom duplex apartments. Each room offers impressive views of Al Hajar Mountains, the Marina or the Gulf of Oman. The resort also offers a choice of culinary options including a poolside bar open until sunset, modern lounge, à la carte restaurant and a welcoming buffet all with private terraces facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Resort Mussanah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Resort Mussanah Hotel Al Mussanah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing