We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Love this hotel, the staff are very friendly and made such a fuss of the kids. The swimming pool is a good size but could be a few degrees warmer. Had a massage which was lovely, the spa isn't ridiculously priced like some I've been to. The lakes restaurant is very pleasant, the staff are knowledgable of the menu & the food was great I had the pork terrine followed by chicken with mustard mash both were delicious! The room was nice a bit more attention to the tea/coffee making facilities would have given the hotel a 5 from me, 1 cup hadn't come out of dishwasher clean and the coffee and sugars had been used (to be fair they had been placed in such a way that you didn't know till you picked them up so can forgive the cleaners for not realising)
Breakfast was very nice, would prefer it if they brought toast to the table I hate the slow do it yourself toasters.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Pumpinicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Great to welcome you back to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa again! Lovely to hear that you had such a nice time in the spa area, and that you felt very welcome with the children. Thank you for your comments in regards to the toaster in the restaurant, we will of course take these onboard. Fantastic news that you had such an amazing meal in the restaurant, pork is actually one of our Chef’s many specialities. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 896 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here over a weekend and it was fabulous. The spa was lovely, plenty of sunbeds, facilities all clean and in working order. I had a treatment which I thought was wonderful . The Cafe next to the spa provides lovely snacks at great prices. Rooms were spacious clean, bright and airy. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice for a cold or hot breakfast in lovely restraunt. We visited the bar in the evening , reasonable prices, excellent service. Reception helpful at all times. Grounds were lovely, very well kept. Excellent stay, I would 100% recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EILIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your fabulous comments, we have relayed these back to the whole team. It sounds like you made great use of the Spa and some of the other hotel facilities whilst here with us. We will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I decided to book a Fabulous Friday deal for our wedding anniversary. It was great! The package included a bottle of wine in the room on arrival and afternoon scones and cream. Our room was upgraded and we had lovely views over the golf course. I have to say the staff were wonderful. There was no waiting at reception with lack of attention - all staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. I felt most went the extra mile and their customer service was excellent. The food in Lakes was exceptional you must eat here! The spa was very good as were the treatments - a thoroughly pleasant and uplifting experience which I hope we can do again soon.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Happy wedding anniversary! Thank you for your review. I’ve passed on your lovely comments about excellent customer service to our staff. Please come visit again soon. Maybe the next wedding anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visited with 3 friends for a 3 day golf break, we were all looking forward to the break as I had visited the hotel alone in November for a 2 night stay prior to us booking a 3 day golf break and had found everything top class. I had told them about the excellent food , great golf courses and an added bonus of a snooker room . On arrival we had lunch in the golf bar --which was fine-- then as we had arrived early (we had golf booked for 1.30) we decided to see if we could check in early. The receptionists (2) both seemed to be doing something more important than dealing with guests ?? but eventually a lady was free ?. our request was greeted with almost scorn !! left us with the feeling that had we been 5 mins early we still wouldn't have been allowed to check in ? So we decided - OK -- we will have a couple of frames of snooker to pass the time pre golf. But we were then informed the 2 snooker tables have been removed ?? When we stated this was one of the reasons for choosing the venue ( there are many golf break complexes) the lady said ( rather frostily!) we should have checked the website ? -- why would we do this after booking ?? especially as I had visited as late as November ??
So we decided to try to arrange an earlier tee time ?? This was done but we were put on the gainsborough course -- what a disappointment -- is in the process of being "prepared" for a professional tournament -- we are not professionals --rough was 8 ins !! etc etc.We also found over the three rounds that the course is so oversubscribed ( 4 hours 35 min rounds) delays on every tee -- no starter -- no course marshall to check slow play etc --members "demanding" to be let through ( a 2 ball in a buggy -- we were a fourball with trolleys ??)-- made for an enjoyable golf experience -- NOT )
Plus points the restaurant food was the same excellent standard ( service was slow however ) but little things spoilt the break -- biscuits not refilled -- door key didn't work --reception staff -- slow service -- childrens swimming classes in pool --doors from golf bar to verandah locked ?? -- shame as weather was great to sit outside ( if you fancied a walk !!)
So overall disappointing -- not the same place I stayed in Novemeber ( and work on new entrance still going on ??? - 5 months ??) Shame - wont be returning

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night with my husband through a spa deal. We both had 4 treatments which were the best I've ever had. The food is amazing and definitely a must to eat at the restaurant when you stay. The breakfast was also amazing I really cannot put into words how much we loved it there!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

This is such an excellent review! Thank you very much! Which treatments did you have? Please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A very enjoyable stay to celebrate my daughter's 40th. Staff very friendly, helpful, nothing too much trouble. An ideal mini break. Golf course very enjoyable . Spa staff very professional . Thank you for making this special for myself and daughter.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoPlaice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

What an excellent review! Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed the golf and the spa. Hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Our wedding day was made incredibly special by all of the staff at this hotel. The grounds were spectacular and the food really was delicious. My special day was really a perfect day! I would recommend this venue to anyone and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz_wootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marijk at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your recommendation. I’m so happy to hear that we helped to make your day special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
6.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,185 reviews
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range: $90 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing