We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and facilities, staff very polite and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a spa break, arrived early to make the most of our stay. Straight to the spa where there was a table reserved for us, offered a free drink whilst looking through the lunch menu. The pool and facilities were nice along with the food, I had a half hour massage which was great, the girl knew what she was doing and knowledgable about muscles, tension etc,
We stayed the night at the hotel room 303, views of the lake and golf course, very pleased.
Dinner was just as good three course meal with very friendly staff, was very impressed with one in particular as the table next to us didn't like a starter so he changed it to something different, nothing was too much. We were also lucky with the weather so took a walk near the golf course, beautiful grounds.

I could go on, I have stayed at 3 spas local and we were both very impressed with the short break.

I recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKMullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks for posting comments about your spa break. Sounds like you had the right idea getting in early to make the most of it all. The massages here are lovely – our therapists are very talented. Thanks again for your recommendation and I hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 888 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms are clean, and are a nice place to stay in, the food in the restaurant, is superb, all credit to the chef, probably goes down as one of the best meals I have had!
The staff in the bar, special mention goes to Kellie and Stuart who looked after us and nothing was to much trouble, a credit to the hotel, the reception staff were very pleasant, and I would recommend this place to anyone.
Now the golf club, firstly the staff are rude, and not very welcoming, everything was to much trouble, and their attitude did not change until we spent £120 on buggies!
We had breakfast on the first morning in the clubhouse bar all eight of us, it was all piled on to one small plate, £8.50 not even any toast, and was really not very nice, the bar area in here was only to be described as absolutely filthy, the carpet looked at the bar as though it had not been cleaned for weeks, could not see through the windows as they were so smeared.
We had this break for the golf, really enjoyed the hotel and the constable course, but we all felt that the golf course and areas around the clubhouse were not up to standard, it will be stretched to its limits in busy periods, shame as the courses are ok.
The very good rating is for the hotel,and staff, it would have been poor for the golf side, just wanted to be made to feel welcome!

Room Tip: Rooms from 300 are top floor and you would get less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobthetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We came with family for afternoon tea, we were seated in the dining room overlooking the Terrace and lake and it was a stunning view. We had a selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones served with clotted cream and jam. The cakes and scones were superb, we have had tea at the Ritz in London and have to say that this was better especially the scones which were mouth watering. The Staff were very friendly and informative and it was a most enjoyable visit. We would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

What an excellent review! Thank you very much. All credit for the cakes and scones must go to our incredible team of chefs who really do pull out all the stops where our food offering is concerned. Please do visit again. If you liked the Afternoon Tea, you’ll love our 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with my mum who is in a wheelchair. Was disappointed the disabled friendly room I had booked was not available. It was just hard work for me to make sure I was around to help mum on and off the toilet and around the room. So I could not leave mum for long. The Receptionist was very helpful and was put in a disabled friendly room the next day. Some places were not accessible by the wheelchair. And wasn't told there was a ramp they could put down until we were leaving. Staff also not sure how to use them. The bar staff were extremely helpful.My nephew's wedding went very well. The staff that served dinner and got disco ready was very impressive. A great place for getting married.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your nephew's wedding! I am sorry that you had some difficulty during the first part of your stay. I do hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the mix up with the hotel room and I am glad the staff rectified it quickly for you. We would love to have you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight golfbreak & what a great set up. A lovely hotel with great staff, warm welcoming & efficient.
Food was reasonable & bar prices ok.
2 brilliantly designed golf courses which were not in the best condition after the wet winter but were still a pleasure to play.
We'll be back in the Summer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks for posting your comments about your golf break. Glad you enjoyed the food and the courses. A visit during the summer is a must – with a little luck the weather will be more in our favour by then. Hope to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in March and we had a large executive room. The Spa was wondeful very quiet and relaxing and we wouldn't hesitate to go back. We ate in the restaurant one evening. it was very nice food but we like to go out and try different things so we ate in The Crown and The Angel Inn which were both above 5 minutes drive away from the hotel. I recommend both of them.

The breakfast was good, but I did expect more from a 4 star hotel such as cheese, cold meats etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review! I’m glad you had a relaxing stay during your 3-nights with us. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area so it is nice that you did get a chance to experience it. Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, large room very clean. Swimming and other gym facilities exceptional. Staff very helpful. We were a bit disappointed in our bar meal in the evening, thought it over priced for scampi and chips, and my husband sent his back because it was a soggy mess.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Your review is very much appreciated – thank you. I’m happy to hear that you found the pool and gym facilities to be exceptional. Maybe you’ll try a spa treatment (or two) if you visit again. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
6.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,175 reviews
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,045 reviews
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing