We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel & staff, let down by the golf club!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel & staff, let down by the golf club!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms are clean, and are a nice place to stay in, the food in the restaurant, is superb, all credit to the chef, probably goes down as one of the best meals I have had!
The staff in the bar, special mention goes to Kellie and Stuart who looked after us and nothing was to much trouble, a credit to the hotel, the reception staff were very pleasant, and I would recommend this place to anyone.
Now the golf club, firstly the staff are rude, and not very welcoming, everything was to much trouble, and their attitude did not change until we spent £120 on buggies!
We had breakfast on the first morning in the clubhouse bar all eight of us, it was all piled on to one small plate, £8.50 not even any toast, and was really not very nice, the bar area in here was only to be described as absolutely filthy, the carpet looked at the bar as though it had not been cleaned for weeks, could not see through the windows as they were so smeared.
We had this break for the golf, really enjoyed the hotel and the constable course, but we all felt that the golf course and areas around the clubhouse were not up to standard, it will be stretched to its limits in busy periods, shame as the courses are ok.
The very good rating is for the hotel,and staff, it would have been poor for the golf side, just wanted to be made to feel welcome!

Room Tip: Rooms from 300 are top floor and you would get less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobthetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    250
    119
    50
    23
See reviews for
130
335
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We came with family for afternoon tea, we were seated in the dining room overlooking the Terrace and lake and it was a stunning view. We had a selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones served with clotted cream and jam. The cakes and scones were superb, we have had tea at the Ritz in London and have to say that this was better especially the scones which were mouth watering. The Staff were very friendly and informative and it was a most enjoyable visit. We would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
What an excellent review! Thank you very much. All credit for the cakes and scones must go to our incredible team of chefs who really do pull out all the stops where our food offering is concerned. Please do visit again. If you liked the Afternoon Tea, you’ll love our 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with my mum who is in a wheelchair. Was disappointed the disabled friendly room I had booked was not available. It was just hard work for me to make sure I was around to help mum on and off the toilet and around the room. So I could not leave mum for long. The Receptionist was very helpful and was put in a disabled friendly room the next day. Some places were not accessible by the wheelchair. And wasn't told there was a ramp they could put down until we were leaving. Staff also not sure how to use them. The bar staff were extremely helpful.My nephew's wedding went very well. The staff that served dinner and got disco ready was very impressive. A great place for getting married.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your nephew's wedding! I am sorry that you had some difficulty during the first part of your stay. I do hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the mix up with the hotel room and I am glad the staff rectified it quickly for you. We would love to have you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight golfbreak & what a great set up. A lovely hotel with great staff, warm welcoming & efficient.
Food was reasonable & bar prices ok.
2 brilliantly designed golf courses which were not in the best condition after the wet winter but were still a pleasure to play.
We'll be back in the Summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for posting your comments about your golf break. Glad you enjoyed the food and the courses. A visit during the summer is a must – with a little luck the weather will be more in our favour by then. Hope to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in March and we had a large executive room. The Spa was wondeful very quiet and relaxing and we wouldn't hesitate to go back. We ate in the restaurant one evening. it was very nice food but we like to go out and try different things so we ate in The Crown and The Angel Inn which were both above 5 minutes drive away from the hotel. I recommend both of them.

The breakfast was good, but I did expect more from a 4 star hotel such as cheese, cold meats etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you had a relaxing stay during your 3-nights with us. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area so it is nice that you did get a chance to experience it. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, large room very clean. Swimming and other gym facilities exceptional. Staff very helpful. We were a bit disappointed in our bar meal in the evening, thought it over priced for scampi and chips, and my husband sent his back because it was a soggy mess.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Your review is very much appreciated – thank you. I’m happy to hear that you found the pool and gym facilities to be exceptional. Maybe you’ll try a spa treatment (or two) if you visit again. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had our wedding ceremony and reception last year at Stoke by Nayland Hotel. We couldn't of been more pleased. From the plans and meetings previously and the big day itself. Fantastic scenery, organisations, experience and advice, yummy food, lots of choices of menus (lovely tasting dinner to help us decide), hospitality was the best, stunning honeymoon suite, beautiful and spacious ceremony and breakfast rooms. It was perfect for our guests because of the accommodation and use of the spa and pool. Our wedding was so beautiful Stoke by Nayland Hotel used our photos on their website. Completely perfect package.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your wedding. Glad that you and your guests enjoyed your big day and were able to make use of our facilities. Your wedding photos are stunning and we are very grateful for your permission to use them on our website. Hope you are planning on visiting for your 1-year anniversary – we’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing