We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Ilford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotel and Spa”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in March and we had a large executive room. The Spa was wondeful very quiet and relaxing and we wouldn't hesitate to go back. We ate in the restaurant one evening. it was very nice food but we like to go out and try different things so we ate in The Crown and The Angel Inn which were both above 5 minutes drive away from the hotel. I recommend both of them.

The breakfast was good, but I did expect more from a 4 star hotel such as cheese, cold meats etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you had a relaxing stay during your 3-nights with us. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area so it is nice that you did get a chance to experience it. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    256
    122
    50
    24
See reviews for
135
341
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, large room very clean. Swimming and other gym facilities exceptional. Staff very helpful. We were a bit disappointed in our bar meal in the evening, thought it over priced for scampi and chips, and my husband sent his back because it was a soggy mess.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Your review is very much appreciated – thank you. I’m happy to hear that you found the pool and gym facilities to be exceptional. Maybe you’ll try a spa treatment (or two) if you visit again. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had our wedding ceremony and reception last year at Stoke by Nayland Hotel. We couldn't of been more pleased. From the plans and meetings previously and the big day itself. Fantastic scenery, organisations, experience and advice, yummy food, lots of choices of menus (lovely tasting dinner to help us decide), hospitality was the best, stunning honeymoon suite, beautiful and spacious ceremony and breakfast rooms. It was perfect for our guests because of the accommodation and use of the spa and pool. Our wedding was so beautiful Stoke by Nayland Hotel used our photos on their website. Completely perfect package.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your wedding. Glad that you and your guests enjoyed your big day and were able to make use of our facilities. Your wedding photos are stunning and we are very grateful for your permission to use them on our website. Hope you are planning on visiting for your 1-year anniversary – we’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are so pleased we took advantage of a groupon offer to stay at this super hotel set in wonderful grounds whilst we toured National trust properties in the area. Sometimes you think there must be a problem if they need to use groupon but we really could not find fault during our stay. From our lovely warm reception and throughout our stay, we found the staff to all have a real stake in putting across the caring 'customer first' ethos. How rare these days to find such super service across the board!
Our room, a 3 bed superior room was clean, large, well furnished and extremely comfortable. The toiletries and biscuits were of a good standard and we really slept well with no disturbance from fellow guests or pipework / heating systems etc. As the hotel was fairly busy both nights I seem to think that was what you could expect at most times of the year.
After reading good reviews on the food in the restaurant we enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal and a super bottle of wine for around £70 which was very fairly if not under priced. Good local produce very well cooked. Next day after getting back totally exhausted and failing to find a pub serving early we ate in the bar and once again the food was of a very good standard but noticeably cheaper.
The breakfasts were of a high standard with good quality fresh fruit, yoghurts, and excellent breads and pastries., The full English had top quality Suffolk bacon and sausages accompanied by your choice of eggs ,beans toms etc. For a change though on the second morning we went for the fresh kippers and poached eggs option... delicious!! We were accompanied at breakfast by the Nottingham Forest team who had used the hotel before their game at Ipswich. No doubt they will be back to use the facilities at this wonderful hotel and so shall we next time we are touring the area!

Room Tip: If you spend time in your room you might prefer one with a view out over the golf courses but we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
What a thoughtful review. Thank you so much. It is wonderful to hear your detailed comments about our food in the Lakes Restaurant and the Lounge Bar – I’m really pleased that you had a chance to try so much! Not to mention that kippers and poached eggs for breakfast certainly sounds like a good call! Please do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the staff made sure everything was taken care of in a very professional manner. Beautiful surroundings. Excellent service, all the guests were very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and our venue. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just spent a lovely spa weekend, staff very friendly. Could not fault spa facilities, 2 small hiccups, firstly extractor fan was not working in bathroom which made it very hot and steamy, secondly although had a really nice meal in lake restaurant, there were a group of about 16 men golfers who were very noisy which spoilt the enjoyment of the meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your spa break. I’ve passed on your lovely comments to the staff and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Lakes Restaurant and the spa facilities. Hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night whilst working locally.
First impressions were good although there were a couple of hiccups. The TV in my room did not work, after reporting to reception they sent a couple of people to confirm it didn't work. 45mins and a couple of handymen later I had a working TV, a little frustrating this was no checked earlier. My room was large but a little dated.
I ate in the bar area and found the food to be good quality and reasonably priced.
I didn't eat breakfast, priced at 13.95. I thought this was very overpriced.
Wifi was good and the hotel has sky sports available in the rooms which was very welcome.
A decent hotel and one I would certainly return to if in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you plan on returning. Sincere apologies for the difficulty with the television, but very happy to hear that you did get to enjoy Sky Sports in the end. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,008 reviews
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing