We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spa break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just arrived back from an overnight spa break at the stoke by nayland hotel. There were 6 of us celebrating a friends 30th birthday. We had an amazing time.

Yes, there were a couple of minor things that could be improved with the rooms, particularly the lack of extractor fan in the bathroom which made it hotter than the steam room in the spa! But these tiny issues in no way detracted from our experience.

The spa facilities are lovely, the grounds and views beautiful but by far the best thing about this hotel was the outstanding level of customer service we received from every single member of staff we encountered from the minute we arrived to the time we left. Nothing was too much trouble, they were all friendly and helpful and so accommodating even when faced with unusual requests.

In fact the one and only truly negative thing was on two occasions 2 different members of the spa made it very clear they dislike dayguests intruding in 'their' spa but obviously this has nothing at all to do with the hotel or their staff, just some people can be very rude and petty which unfortunately you can get anywhere.

We can't wait to book a return trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlc275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Happy 30th birthday to your friend! Glad that we could help you celebrate the occasion. Hope you enjoyed your relaxing treatments in Peake Spa. I will make sure that the staff know that they helped to make your stay special. Please do return – we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 896 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner came for our dinner one evening in the lakes restaurant about a month or so ago and although the food was fantastic we wasn't blown away by the service!
However we chose to return due to the high quality of the food and we couldn't of been happier with our decision!!
On our second visit we were greeted at the door by a very happy smiling young lady called kellie and straight away felt comfortable and welcome!
A few moments later a very polite young man called Fred bought us some complimentary breads over and explained the three different flavours to us! They tasted fantastic and we could tell how fresh they was!
Kellie really helped us out with picking out a fantastic wine off their new wine menu for us to enjoy with our meal and she had such good knowledge about each wine we asked her on! Her recommendation was spot on and was very well matched for the food we had picked off the menu!
We was amazed by the knowledge Jaou had on the food menus when taking our order and he made us feel very excited about the food we was about to eat! And he wasn't wrong all three courses were out standing! The flavour and presentation were second to none and we could tell attention to detail played a big part of that! Kellie Jaou and Fred couldn't speak more highly of their chefs and it was really encouraging to see such team spirit!
It was a very busy evening in the restaurant, not that the staff let it show! You could tell they were pushed but as a customer we never felt it! I just wish these three would of been on shift for our first visit! This time The restaurant felt alive and full of positive energy! As I looked around the room every table was so happy and this seemed to lift the staff's spirits no end!
They gave us exceptional service from start to finish and couldn't of done more for us we felt like VIP's :) between them the run the restaurant perfectly creating a atmosphere u couldn't help but get lost in! It was fun yet professional which is a hard Balance to achieve!
We moved through to the bar area afterwards for coffee and we were greated by a lovely man called James! He was so attentive and made us some amazing liqueur coffee's (again the presentation and attention to detail didn't go un noticed!

Overall we were blown away by the evening and will not hesitate to return in future - (in the hope they are our servers again!) the staff which served us last time could learn a lot from these three!!

The staff were a true credit to your company and you should be very proud of your employes!

:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

This is an incredible review and I will make sure that Joao, Kellie, Fred and James know how much their service meant to your evening. Thank you for giving us a chance to showcase our incredible staff and culinary skills. I do hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding vows renewed, and had the reception at SBN. From the moment we arrived we were thoroughly looked after by Becki the duty manager who made sure our day/evening went smoothly. Becki was attentive and worked very hard to make our day special. The food was 5* and wish to thank the chef (Alan) for all his hard work. Many of our guests commented especially on the pork. The function room was excellent and the staff set it out perfectly and the view was exquisite from the outside balcony. We rate this whole experience a 5*. We and several of our guests had booked rooms we were able to use the excellent facilities that SBN have to offer. I would highly recommend this hotel for celebrating all occasions and for weekend breaks and spa breaks. Thankyou to all the Staff at SBN.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neddieSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

What a lovely review – thank you very much. Congrats on your wedding vow renewal, I hope you had a wonderful time. I will pass on your thanks to Becky and Alan – they’ll be delighted to hear that they helped to make your special event a success. We are very pleased that you chose to have your celebration here and we would absolutely love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a short golf break at SBN , overall this is a great place for a golf break , courses albeit a bit busy were excellent . Hotel was good , though in truth needs a bit of an update throughout particularly the rooms which are to say the least a bit dated but to be fair they were clean and functional. The restaurant though is a big winner , food was excellent and staff and service was very good .

As I say the hotels appearance needs a bit of an update but putting that aside they have a great offering .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad that you enjoyed the golf – did you have a chance to play both courses? We are very proud of the Lakes Restaurant so it is nice to hear that you received a delicious meal and exceptional service. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding. The wedding itself was lovely (food portions a bit on the small side though). Lovely terraced area and beautiful grounds.

However, the room was not good at all. The bed was really uncomfortable (I'm quite slim and I could feel bed springs pressing on my joints). Our double bed was in fact 2 singles pushed together- which I know is standard practice in a lot of hotels. The issue here though was the massive gap between the mattresses. The result was that when I rolled over my arm got stuck in the gap! Despite being exhausted from a long day, my boyfriend went to reception to ask for a room change- he was told that the hotel was full but if we talked to them in the morning they'd "sort something out".

In the morning we were basically fobbed off- told that those mattresses were in all rooms, and were being replaced soon anyway, so because they were standard they couldn't give us any money back. Frankly they weren't even sorry. The weirdest thing was they said that if we'd charged drinks to our room they would've refunded those as a "gesture" but wouldn't refund the room- so they clearly acknowledged that we had something to complain about but were not prepared to do anything about it. I wish I hadn't paid cash at the bar!!!! Maybe things will improve with new mattresses, but frankly this has soured my opinion of the hotel (they'd made a lot of money out of our wedding party and a gesture, or even a genuine apology, wouldn't have hurt). It would take a lot to entice me back here- I value my sleep too much!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaP190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty during your stay. We have been investigating the incident but we require further information in order to resolve the issue. We value customer service above all else and would like the chance to get to the bottom of this. Please contact us at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I chose to spend my birthday meal at the lakes restraunt in August, and was very impressed. The food was superb, with a good amount of vegetarian options which is hard to come by nowadays. Staff were so helpful and welcoming, Joao knew the menu like the back of his hand and advised us accordingly. Fred and Kelly were also very attentive and made sure we were well looked after. The view from our table was outstanding, you could see right across the lake, a perfect setting for a nice meal. Would recommend highly to anyone and we will 100% be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Happy birthday! I will make sure to let the staff know that you appreciated their help. Our chefs are very talented and they produce some delicious food. Please do visit again soon and sample another of their yummy offerings. We’d love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I, my sister and her 6 month old baby came here for a mini break last week for two nights.
We were greeted wonderfully when we arrived, which was lovely,staff were very chatty and kind.

As we were early we went and sat in the garden and had a drink. The view was just beautiful and it was so tranquil to sit out there and enjoy the surroundings.

When we arrived at our room it was beautiful, and a fridge had been put in there for the baby’s bottles which was so kind & helpful & we were lucky enough to have a room with that stunning view.

On the first night we had a meal in the bar area and we were served by Kellie, she was really nice, chatty and attentive to us the whole time we were there. Made us feel very welcome.

The pool and the spa facilities were also very nice and we enjoyed our short time in there, the baby especially loved having a splash around!

We are already planning on coming back next year for another mini break: maybe even a bit longer next time as we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone even for just a night as a couple, a mini break, or girls get together. It’s fantastic!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaytee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I’m glad to hear that the staff were able to go that extra mile to make your stay more comfortable and relaxing. Drinks on the terrace are certainly the way forward! Did you have a treatment during your time in the Spa? I would definitely recommend it for your next visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
6.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,185 reviews
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range: $90 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing