We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polstead Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
71
7
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaxi serviceb bking size roomperfect place to staywi fiwalking distanceself cateringfriendly hostsbreakfast was excellentroom was cleanlarge bathroomstay there againstayed here for one nighthigh standardon arrivaldavesuffolk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 83 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose to stay here as we were enjoying a drive through Suffolk for a few days. Very clean, huge room and bathroom. An amazing array of breakfast goodies in the morning, including a cooked breakfast. I chose some fruit and toast whilst my husband went for the full bifter, cooked brekkie! Great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo6406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I liked this B&B because the owners were friendly and welcoming, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and, despite the lack of B&B sign on the gate, it was easy to find. (Husband says looking at a map helps!) it was great to hear muntjac deer "barking" in the night. Also very useful that a good gastro pub was within walking distance. Bike parking was available.

Room Tip: We were offered the en suite with a bath, as well as shower, which was much appreciated after a day's cycling.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have recently stayed at Polstead Lodge in Suffolk and it lived up to all expectation. A peaceful setting with fields all around. The house and rooms was very clean and comfortable, massive bedroom (king size bed) and en-suite that had a nice big bath. The full english breakfast is top notch.

Dave and Moreen are very friendly, very knowledgable of the surrounding area and know the best places to visit.

I would certainly go back and recommend it to anyone. What you get is a personal touch, much more than staying in a hotel or pub. Very welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichierichOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fautless accommodation.
Dave & Maureen fantastic hosts.
Very knowledgeable of area to explore.
Rooms very spacious, beautiful decor, bed very comfortable.
All you could eat at breakfast.
Good banter with host.
Will return again when in area to explore further.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norchris47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Polstead Lodge last weekend (23rd March 2013) for a friends wedding which was at the nearby golf club there. We very much enjoyed our stay in the double room which was located downstairs in the B&B. Polstead Lodge is a beautiful house in a great location.
Maureen and Dave were very accommodating as soon as we arrived. We dropped our bags in our room and then Dave took us to the wedding in his taxi and picked us up later on in the evening which was very handy as we had heard taxi's in the area were rather tricky to come by.
The double room we stayed in had everything you need, shower was fine and the bed was very comfortable with lovely sheets.
The breakfast was cooked to perfection and there were plenty of other options if you didn't want a 'Full English'.
All in all we had a really pleasant stay here and will definitely return when in the area again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nik1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews