We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort set in a dramatic location”
Review of Van Chai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Chai Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Sam Son B&B and Inns
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort set in a dramatic location”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Van Chai is at the end of the costal road that heads north from the sea front at Sam Son. It’s in a quiet location in its own grounds with a sandy beach on either side and a beach wall with steps down to the sea. There is a good sized swimming pool, a spa, a couple of restaurants (serving excellent food), and pretty gardens. The main building is charming and my room was perfect, with a balcony, a large, comfortable bed, a mosquito net, free wifi, and a decent en-suite. The only improvement would have been a proper shower. My room had a bath with a shower attachment, which is not really the same when you want a cold shower at the end of a long day. Step out into the gardens in the evening and wander down to the beach to see the waves crashing in. A spectacular sea front. Great food in the restaurant both at breakfast and in the evening. Friendly staff and a charming place to stay.

Room Tip: The ocean rooms are good. Pick one away from the pool if you don't have kids and close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
14
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Me, my wife and young child recently spent 3 nights, including New Year, at the Van Chai Resort.
Our opinion of the resort is that it is a very beautiful place, which has taken quite some time to reach its current charm.
It is situated with its own stretch of beach, and in the summer I expect is a magnet for holiday makers looking for the seclusion it offers.
However in the winter we found there is very little to do, so more effort is required from the Owner to give the guest value for money with a range of tour options. This should include trips to Sam Son and Thanh Hoa at a discounted rate, so as to be attractive to the tourist.
Facilities, including buffet breakfast, spa, indoor swimming pool, outdoor Taipei bar were only available upon request, and were extra costs to an already expensive stay.
We found the staff to be excellent. The real selling point that the resort offered.
So friendly, welcoming and caring. I hope they are rewarded as they should be for the service they provide.
All in all I believe that the rate we paid for our stay at the resort was higher than the facilities on offer at this time of the year.
There were various renovation works in progress at the time of our visit, which is only normal with this type of resort which obviously takes a lot of up keeping.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a bad description, with views obstructed by the angle the room is at, or by tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family stayed at Van Chai during weekdays in mid-august, which may not be a good time for a beach holiday. However, we experienced a very good level of service quality. We spent three nights in a double twin room designed with pure traditional style of North Vietnam delta which is different from any other hotel that we have stayed. The fully-equipped and stylishly-decorated room is spacious and comfortable with a large toilet, a small courtyard with tap and shower, and especially a sea-view balcony. The verdant landscape is outstanding with various types of flowers and fruit-trees. Our children also love the out-door swimming pool and the in-door sauna very much. The staffs always appear with smiles and are willing to give any help we need. They are showing that the Resort is trying its best to reach and maintain a professional level of service. We strongly believe that by preserving this manner, Van Chai will be more success in future.
There is something that the Resort can improve. Most importantly, the beach, which is only available in the morning, should be invested to be more attractive. Currently, it is not very clean with construction debris and litter. Then, safety guards should be mobilized to take care of guests swimming at the beach. Besides, it would be perfect if the TV in the room is not of such an old model.
We really hope that we will comeback Van Chai Resort someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThangNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYON
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed there with my family last week end. The hotel is very beautiful. The staff is quite professional although it is not up to the Thai standards where i have stayed this month.
Van Chai is a nice gateway for fortunate hanoi commuters, or for someone who need calm. Sam son has little to offer for western tourists. The beach is dirty in the village, and only exists in the morning at Van Chai. The water is not up to western standards, if you want a nice beach you will need to go further south (Hue or Danang). Finally we have spent more than one thousand euros there in 2 days, be aware this is a very expensive resort. The breakfast and food there is below average for a 4 stars, a welcome drink should be introduced like Furama resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and independant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franck69890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jylland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Exelent to stay at Van Chai for one or more days, relaxing and just at the sea with perfect swimming and beach facilities. Clean and beautiful place - and just besides along the coast lots of fishermen who like to inform and speak about their daily life.

Take a taxi or a driver from the nice but in a way chaotic city of Hanoi - to have some peaceful days at the sea. In land you can also have a lot of intercultural talk to a lot interesting and very wise people.

The staf will do everything to support you - and to advice what to do in this area of Vietnam. And just to mention especially one of the staf members, Thuy Vu: She would love to tell experiences of her job at Van Chai, which she apreciate very much - and also to tell about the possibilities for young families in this region.

This place deserve a lot of Stars - and sustainable friendly new visitors.

All the best
Kaare, kaos@viauc.dk
Denmark

Room Tip: Next to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaosJylland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just visited my friends in Hanoi and they recommended the group a weekend in Van Chai. I was a bit apprehensive at first because I was unsure about going to the beach when summer had just ended but they assure me I would have a great time and they were right. The place is absolutely beautiful! The buildings are very unique and the gardens are so well maintained. Ms. Ha, the staff that took care of us, is so charming and helpful – she was literally always 30 feet away from us. Friday night we tried the seafood market in the restaurant, the food are so fresh and the staffs even helped us choose the best-looking crabs for dinner. The dinner was surprisingly cheap for such high quality seafood. On Saturday we spend our time lounging about the swimming pool area relaxing. I had the most peaceful nap here than I had in a long time. I saw a couple taking their wedding photos taken amongst the grass and pine trees with an ocean background, such picturesque scenery. Saturday night we joined the weekend seafood buffet by the pool. The combination of the magnificent food and playful atmosphere (guests can request karaoke) was a delight and our group had a lot of fun. I was a little sad about checking out on Sunday but we couldn’t extend our stay (it was overbooked). Overall, a great value for money and I would recommend Van Chai to anyone that comes to Vietnam. I myself will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I and a couple of friends living in Hanoi decided to get away from chaos of the city, and chose Van Chai as our destination. Although it's about two n half hours away, we all found it to be a charming haven for relaxation. The three days spent there were filled with swimming, sunshine, billiards and spa, joining in on some beach volleyball as well. The staff were even kind enough to set up a bonfire by the beach for us. The food was delicious, the restaurant right beside the beach provided the perfect atmosphere for our feasts, I especially enjoyed the catch of the day, vietnamese steamed fish. Perhaps the biggest surprise was beauty of Van Chai itself, the rooms are reminiscent of the traditional vietnamese style of brick and wood. Understated elegance and rich in history, spread out among bonsai gardens and trees. Overall a great place to relieve stress, or to simply enjoy some free time, with family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Son
0.7 mi away
FLC Luxury Hotel Samson
FLC Luxury Hotel Samson
#3 of 16 in Sam Son
32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dragon Sea Hotel
Dragon Sea Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sam Son
22 reviews
9.8 mi away
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
#1 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
#5 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tai Hoa hotel
Tai Hoa hotel
#4 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Hotel
Muong Thanh Hotel
#3 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Chai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Chai Resort

Property: Van Chai Resort
Address: Quang Cu Commune, Sam Son, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thanh Hoa Province > Sam Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sam Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Chai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van Chai Resort is a tranquil haven along Sam Son beach. This Grande Dame of historical and traditional charm offers guests the finest in luxury and service.With its stunning colonial architecture,spacious and relaxing rooms, beach front setting and personalized service; Van Chai Resort**** is a place where there is always enough time for things that really matter! Nestled within the pine forests on one of the most romantic beaches in North Vietnam, Van Chai resort is a sanctuary for retreat and rejuvenation. To many travellers, the grandeur of the resort and accommodation, the facilities within its enchanting ambience, and the tantalizing cuisines of its restaurants, has made Van Chai Resort a sanctuary for them to visit again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Van Chai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing