We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get out of Hanoi to the Sea - go for Van Chai”
Review of Van Chai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van Chai Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Sam Son B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Exelent to stay at Van Chai for one or more days, relaxing and just at the sea with perfect swimming and beach facilities. Clean and beautiful place - and just besides along the coast lots of fishermen who like to inform and speak about their daily life.

Take a taxi or a driver from the nice but in a way chaotic city of Hanoi - to have some peaceful days at the sea. In land you can also have a lot of intercultural talk to a lot interesting and very wise people.

The staf will do everything to support you - and to advice what to do in this area of Vietnam. And just to mention especially one of the staf members, Thuy Vu: She would love to tell experiences of her job at Van Chai, which she apreciate very much - and also to tell about the possibilities for young families in this region.

This place deserve a lot of Stars - and sustainable friendly new visitors.

All the best
Kaare, kaos@viauc.dk
Denmark

Room Tip: Next to restaurant
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaosJylland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Van Chai Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just visited my friends in Hanoi and they recommended the group a weekend in Van Chai. I was a bit apprehensive at first because I was unsure about going to the beach when summer had just ended but they assure me I would have a great time and they were right. The place is absolutely beautiful! The buildings are very unique and the gardens are so well maintained. Ms. Ha, the staff that took care of us, is so charming and helpful – she was literally always 30 feet away from us. Friday night we tried the seafood market in the restaurant, the food are so fresh and the staffs even helped us choose the best-looking crabs for dinner. The dinner was surprisingly cheap for such high quality seafood. On Saturday we spend our time lounging about the swimming pool area relaxing. I had the most peaceful nap here than I had in a long time. I saw a couple taking their wedding photos taken amongst the grass and pine trees with an ocean background, such picturesque scenery. Saturday night we joined the weekend seafood buffet by the pool. The combination of the magnificent food and playful atmosphere (guests can request karaoke) was a delight and our group had a lot of fun. I was a little sad about checking out on Sunday but we couldn’t extend our stay (it was overbooked). Overall, a great value for money and I would recommend Van Chai to anyone that comes to Vietnam. I myself will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I and a couple of friends living in Hanoi decided to get away from chaos of the city, and chose Van Chai as our destination. Although it's about two n half hours away, we all found it to be a charming haven for relaxation. The three days spent there were filled with swimming, sunshine, billiards and spa, joining in on some beach volleyball as well. The staff were even kind enough to set up a bonfire by the beach for us. The food was delicious, the restaurant right beside the beach provided the perfect atmosphere for our feasts, I especially enjoyed the catch of the day, vietnamese steamed fish. Perhaps the biggest surprise was beauty of Van Chai itself, the rooms are reminiscent of the traditional vietnamese style of brick and wood. Understated elegance and rich in history, spread out among bonsai gardens and trees. Overall a great place to relieve stress, or to simply enjoy some free time, with family or friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My son (15) and I stayed at Van Chai for 4 days and 3 nights. It is a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. We extended our stay at Van Chai so we were able to experience 2 styles of rooms. Both the staffs Public Relation Representatives speak English really well and they accommodated all our needs.

If I am ever back in the area, I will definitely stay at Van Chai again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TimHillock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is the second time I ve been to Thanh Hoa. The first time was 10 years ago when Sam Son was a quite and nature place. I really enjoyed my trip this time when I chose Van Chai. All rooms were deigned like old Vietnamese village style. I love the atmosphere. It s peaceful and relaxable All staff are so friendly and helpful, they always smile. :)
I m glad that I chose this place for my summer vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thu Huong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Van Chai Resort is quite unique in style. Very relaxing, quiet atmosphere in lovely location by the sea. Bedroom and Bathroom lovely and spacious. Food in the restaurant excellent and quite reasonably priced. The staff were extremely kind and tended to our every need. Pool area very nice and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank moonrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The resort is very attractive with well maintained gardens and is located on the beach. It’s a great and wonderful relaxing atmosphere for families.
We only tried the Ocean Restaurant. Food was great, although the breakfast let us down on our third day.
The rooms are very spacious and delightfully decorated, although in need of some modernisation. There is WIFI available in all rooms but the speed in not fast. Try Delux2 rather than Van Chai, its much faster.
Staffs are charmingly friendly and always ready to help and make your stay as comfortable as possible. You are always greeted with a warm and genuine smile. Special thanks to Ms. Thuy in the Public Relation Department who has gone out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
We tried the historic tour, however that day was too hot and we had to come back early.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hamid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Son
0.7 mi away
FLC Luxury Hotel Samson
FLC Luxury Hotel Samson
#4 of 16 in Sam Son
33 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dragon Sea Hotel
Dragon Sea Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sam Son
22 reviews
9.8 mi away
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
#2 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
#4 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tai Hoa hotel
Tai Hoa hotel
#3 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
9.3 mi away
Muong Thanh Hotel
Muong Thanh Hotel
#7 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Chai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Chai Resort

Address: Quang Cu Commune, Sam Son, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thanh Hoa Province > Sam Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sam Son
Price Range: $56 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Chai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van Chai Resort is a tranquil haven along Sam Son beach. This Grande Dame of historical and traditional charm offers guests the finest in luxury and service.With its stunning colonial architecture,spacious and relaxing rooms, beach front setting and personalized service; Van Chai Resort**** is a place where there is always enough time for things that really matter! Nestled within the pine forests on one of the most romantic beaches in North Vietnam, Van Chai resort is a sanctuary for retreat and rejuvenation. To many travellers, the grandeur of the resort and accommodation, the facilities within its enchanting ambience, and the tantalizing cuisines of its restaurants, has made Van Chai Resort a sanctuary for them to visit again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Van Chai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing