We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cappuccini Franciacorta Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Mixed Up!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you like old, but want “old elegant” then give this a miss, however, if “old rustic” is more your thing, then this might be for you.

This hotel is an Italian hotel, run for Italians on the top of a hill near Lake Iseo, and I think it struggles with what it wants to be. Certainly not for children or for the elderly, as cut into steep terraces on many levels. This is a romantic “couples” hotel, for the twenty five to fifty-five age group.

Why Mixed up? Well....................this hotel was once a property of the monastic order of Capuchin, an offshoot of the Franciscan order. Much of this heritage is preserved with rooms being named after various Friars “Cella de Friar Antonio” etc. In keeping with the monastic orders values, nothing is decadent, with the rooms being clean but basic and very “farmhouse rustic.”

The pool is very pleasant on a terrace above the hotel and the restaurant as also to a high standard and both could fit easily within a more “elegant” location.

Approach road to hill top is very steep with a number of hair-pin bends and altogether not very well signed.

Staff were always friendly and helpful, although English was limited, but we got by and made it work.

Aircon worked, but was noisy.

Nice touch, they call you and ask what time you’d like breakfast, but ....... they think 08:00 is early, so not for the business traveller who needs to be up and out.

Would stay here again, but not on a business trip.

Parking was free. Didn’t use the internet. Insects were free too, got bitten all evening on the terrace during dinner!

This hotel needs to define what it wants to be. Elegant, rustic, historic, ecclesiastic as the current mix dosen't work.

Room Tip: Unless "rustic" is your thing, don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    34
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
60
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brescia in Italy
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Me and my wife stayed here for a couple of days. Our mission was to have relaxing days and beauty treatment at wonderful spa not far from this charming hotel. We experienced a pleasant stay, enjoyed pool and walked around the fantastic garden. Our room was rustic but very clean. We loved this hidden gem and loved the location too, we wish we could have stayed longer and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

We spent less than 24 hours in the hotel and spa Cappuccini but it was enough to decide to take off.
Althogh the hotel is well restored the family that owns it is really unpleasant and craves for money so you will be charged for everything you do and also for what you don't do!
The spa is a good walk (about 1/2 km on a steep road) from the hotel and there is no transport service between it and the hotel.
The swimming pool needs to be improved and so most of the treatments. The service is very ordinary and, compared to the other spa I've visited, it cannot be compared. You need to ask for infusions because they are not given.
The price of the treatments is outrageous.
The worst part, however, is the check-out which takes about 30 minutes just to manage to print (hand written) the bill and where it seems like they paid us a favour to let us stay in their hotel.
Never again. Never.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — The managers of the place. Definitely unprofessional, greedy and unpleasant
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somplace else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Iome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2005

Our experience at the Cappuccini has been a strange combination of good and bad. The place is charming, the rooms beautiful, food very good and the treatement at the annex spa and the personnel there were a real pleasure. Less pleasant was the all experience with the family running the business. Clearly they are not professional, we heard them often screaming and fighting with the personnel and at the moment of paying they asked for a much higher (50% more) price than the one we found on the internet. We ended up paying the price we had planned, but it was an unpleasant ending. We tried three times to conferm the reservation and the prices over the internet/phone/and fax and they never replied. Bad faith? Maybe not, but bad manners. In any case, an enchanting part of Italy.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cologne
2.2 mi away
L'Albereta
L'Albereta
#1 of 3 in Erbusco
403 reviews
4.4 mi away
Relaisfranciacorta
Relaisfranciacorta
#1 of 1 in Colombaro di Corte Franca
230 reviews
5.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella Iseo
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella ...
#1 of 5 in Clusane sul Lago
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Relais I Due Roccoli
6.4 mi away
Cocca Hotel Royal Thai Spa
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Franciacorta
Hotel Sole Franciacorta
#1 of 2 in Capriolo
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappuccini Franciacorta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappuccini Franciacorta Resort

Property: Cappuccini Franciacorta Resort
Address: Via Cappuccini 54, 25033 Cologne, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cappuccini Franciacorta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cappuccini Franciacorta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappuccini Hotel Brescia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing