We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“21 birthday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun
Ranked #1 of 1 Rogerstone B&B and Inns
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“21 birthday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food is extremely poor standard happy shopper stuff i think vile

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
24
26
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I found this restaurant in, "Near The Motorways" - a great book!

The place was clean, bright and tidy. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was tasty and filling.

The only downside is, "you have to go to the bar to order your soft drinks"! Why? I bet it's, "because that's the way it's always been". For anyone with a few kids, or for the elderly, this could be a real pain. Strange.

I did not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

A friend and I stayed here whilst visiting family nearby. We received a warm welcome, the room was excellent, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evening_lilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

A group of friends and myself meet regularly at The Rising Sun where we enjoy good food and a friendly atmosphere. The menu is good, with something for everyone. The meal is substantial, appetizing and always enjoyable. The staff are friendly and happy to accomodate everyone's needs and the prices affordable. What more can one ask. I would certainly recommend it to anyone. The Landlady has a lovely personality, is extremely kind and helpful.

Room Tip: I have not actually stayed in the hotel as I live locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Went out for luch for the first time in ages yesterday, even though i live in Newport its the first time i've been to the Rising Sun Rogerstone.
I would just like to say what a very pleasant place it is, the smell of the fresh home cooked food on display made it almost impossible to choose what to have for lunch, because it all looked and smelt delicious.You could see just by looking at the food on display that it was of a very high quality. The portions were plentiful and it was very good value for money.
The staff were very friendly, we had a very warm welcome. We ate our lunch in the conservatory over looking the channel, it was absolutely perfect.
We will certainly be visting there more regular. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

In years gone by, pub meals at the Rising Sun have been first rate, very good value for money and the pub has always been packed, but no more! Eating there yesterday afternoon, we found the pub half empty and the food expensive and of a very low standard. Contrary to what is claimed on the pub's Web site menu, the average cost of a meal on the bar menu was about £15. Maybe the pub's Web menu has not been updated for 10 years? We ordered two meals (1) a steak and mushroom meal and (2) what was described on the menu as a "meat eater's delight" - pork spare ribs and steak. Both meals were inedible. The mushrooms with the steak meal definitely tasted "gone off". We both tasted them to confirm this. The steak component of the "meat eater's delight" meal was , as thin as shoe leather and tasted like it too! Also, the spare ribs had hardly any meat on them. When we complained, the staff that had served the meal refused to taste the mushrooms (wise move!) and the meals were hurriedly taken away. We were told that the proprietress would come to deal with our complaint. She did eventually appear - some 15 to 20 minutes later! She was rude and abrasive, did not apologise for keeping us waiting and refused to give her name. She was completely dismissive of our complaints. We were both ill the next day, which we put down to the mushrooms. Needless to say, we have made our last visit to the Rising Sun, which is a great pity because this used to be a excellent pub that served first-class meals at reasonable prices. Not any more!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the pub so we cannot comment on the rooms. If you stay there, eat somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rogerstone hotels

Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We've enjoyed a few great meals in thus local Hotel although we've never stayed here. The food is great, home cooked food and generous portions. Well worth a visit for a nice meal.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melliemels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rogerstone
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun

Property: The Rising Sun
Address: 1 Cefn Road, Rogerstone, Newport, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Rogerstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rogerstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Rising Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing