We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed at the Old Barn after reading reviews on Trip advisor and booking.com. For a romantic night away with my Fiancee this proved everybit what has been said about it. The accomadation is modern, clean & not overstated. The restaurant served exceptional food along with ample portions with a good range on the menu. We had a starter and main meal which was more than sufficient and contained the best starter I have had anywhere. The bar itself had ample seating for when we stayed ( a thursday ) but I would assume on a Friday / Saturday would become alot more busier and contain alot more atmosphere.

Probably my next stay here would consist of accomadation and a bar meal ( 2 course ) as the meals being served in the bar seemed exceptional value and the choice, although not as much as the restaurant, appeared ample. A 2 course was £9 in the bar area and approx £15 in restaurant.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wocca71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for The Old Barn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 328 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

my husband and i have just returned from a mini break from the old barn hotel,absolutely amazing from arriving to leaving,on arrival we were shown to our room which was a loverly room with jacuuzzi bath and everything in the loverly room you could wish for,staff were so helpful and courteus,we were then offered cakes and drinks after settling in our room and this was a loverly welcome for us,we had booked a treatment at the spa and again the staff were so helpful and caring and made us feel at ease and very relaxed giving us towels and robes and showing us where everything was situated in the spa,the swimming pool is a good size with a steam room jacuzzi and sauna and alpng side of it was a loverly gym,again the staff were so helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them,we had a three course evening meal in the bar at night,loverly choice of food and again nothing is too much trouble for the staff,we retired to our room after a loverly meal,had a most comfortable nights sleep and went to breakfast in the dinig room ,again faultless and wonderful choice for breakfast,must thank PAT for the service and freindly person she is,all in all cannot fault this little gem,nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and they all do an amazing job,we shall definately return to THE OLD BARN INN and would like to thank all of the staff for making our stay such a memorable one so A BIG THANKYOU and hope to see you soon XXX

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnedring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

didn't acutally stay in the hotel as I live in Newport, but did attend a Christmas Party, couldn't fault the food or the staff but didn't find it warm and cosy at all, the place was freezing, I couldn't wait to finish my food go home and warm myself up, it was minus five outside at the time so it was a cold night but I did expect it to be warm inside.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We arrived at the hotel following our wedding checked in and was shown to our room by one of the very polite staff. Our room 'The Penhow Suite' was amazing, the views to the comfortable bed to the relaxing spa bath, everything was perfect. At the restaurant, where do i begin the food was spectacular nothing was too much trouble dont order too much portion sizes are very generous. The hotel doesnt provide room service but were accomodating enough to deliver desserts to our room no fuss or extra charge. A perfect nights sleep and the best choice of hot and cold breakfast i have ever seen anywhere. Overall this hotel was fantastic, polite, helpful staff and a clean, warm feeling. I WOULD RECCOMEND THIS TO ANYONE, U'D BE MAD NOT TO STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasevans3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The people are effusive in their welcome and provide excellent service. Outstandingly helpful and go out of their way to accommodate your needs and requests. Food was excellent. Atmosphere in the pub and public areas is exactly the kind you hope to find when visiting Wales - cozy, welcoming, and relaxing. Lots of locals and local flavor. The rooms are newly built and individually decorated - absolutely clean, roomy, comfortable mattresses and with beautiful vistas of the surrounding countryside. The only downside in the accommodations is that the bedroom doors (fire doors) automatically slam shut unless the occupants take care to close them quietly. Few do so in early mornings or late evenings, you may hear the slamming of a door. There is a local bus that will take you into Newport or Cardiff but a car is highly recommended. When we return to Wales (and did you ever think to visit Wales? - we didn't and were stunned at the beauty of the scenery, the friendliness and welcome of the people, and the array of castles and abbeys - not to mention tours through the coal mines - that can be enjoyed here) - we will make sure to return to stay at this wonderful little inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizcallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Our 2nd time here and will definitely be back. Service was excellent and the food was as good as ever. The management were quick to act after I had problems accessing the small digital safe in the room (low battery).
One negative was you had to pay about £7 for access to internet for one night. I would think they could give you a small amount of bandwidth just for checking emails (say 25MB) and cut you off if you exceed this small amount unless you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzer-Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I'm a fussy person ... and I could find absolutely no fault with The Old Barn. It was amazing - a little jewel in the countryside, perfectly located with exceptional customer service, amazingly contemporary and spotlessly clean rooms, wonderful food, well-kept grounds ... what more can I say.

It's well deserving of its 4 stars ... indeed, I would say it deserves 5 stars!

We'll be back in 2011 for a longer stay for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanmartin
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
5.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
7.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#3 of 18 in Newport
5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn Inn

Address: Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range: $76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel Llanmartin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing