We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay.”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The place to stay.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friendly. Clean and simple rooms. So amazingly cozy at dinner, thought we were in a movie of small Welch village pub. Better than normal pub food. Cuury chicken and fresh pompadoms, steak and ale pie. And made from scratch walnut and butterscotch cake w ice cream. Wow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    71
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
76
130
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay from the 2nd to 5th August .we had 2 rooms both were spotless,we could not fault the service on aspects ,we had a slight problem on Saturday evening which jackie and her staff sorted very professional

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Caerlean (only 6 miles away). On check-in we were met and shown to our room by a very friendly lady. Our room was large (dual aspect) and very comfortable. The bathroom was scrupulously clean and the bed very comfortable. The wi-fi worked well. We went out for dinner - which was probably a good arrangement as there was a wedding reception on (which didn't bother us on our return as the rooms are in a different building). We both had the full Welsh breakfast - which was massive and served by a very friendly young waitress. The only thing we could have wanted was a mini fridge in our room. It is close to the motorway but we couldn't hear it inside. It cost less than £80 for 2, B&B.

Room Tip: Room 9 is at the end upstairs and so benefits from an extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 285MelanieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale Of Glamorgan, South Wales, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 as we were attending a wedding reception. The hotel is top quality, rooms are great, spacious and very trendy. Beds are very very comfortable.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cluky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went for a family meal to the The Old Barn Inn last night and were disappointed by the meal we had here. While the other people in my groups meals were adequate, typical pub grub the pesto and cherry tomato tart ordered was of a poor standard. The new potatoes that came with the dish were not so "new" being wrinkly and past there best, one which had been served was black on the outside and on cutting it open it became obvious it was rotten. It shouldn't have been served in this state. The brie and cherry tomato tart was burnt and inedible in parts as it was so overcooked. The portions at The Old Barn Inn are generous, but we would of been happier with smaller meal sizes with better quality ingredients and more care taken in their cooking. The cost of the meal was not cheap £20 a head for two courses and a soft drink each.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a visual pleasure our visit gave us, we had popped in just for a drink, we were met with a large clean carpark, The walls were a show piece of flowers, up a few steps (there is a ramp as well )
Went into the lounge,we were greeted by the staff, a few smiles and hellos go such a long way to make you feel welcome.
Although we were not eating ,did have a look at the menu, something for most guests , and the food when served ,Wow! it looked wonderful. again the surroundings, were something to be proud of, flowers and views, spoilt as to where to look first,
So impressed we have booked a meal, so may get back to you later.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked a three night stay here and have nothing but praise for the hotel, rooms, cleanliness and staff. The food was excellent with the best steak & ale pie we have ever had! Georgina was a super efficient waitress!! She worked her socks off and I am sure we saw her getting thinner by the day. Sue the lovely lady who served our breakfast with such a lovely attitude. The weather was extremely warm whilst we were there and such a lovely touch to find an electric fan already in the bedroom. The bathroom was large, with a super bath with large wide end for a shower. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and we would recommend it to anyone. Oh, one last point - the bathrooms had quilted toilet paper! So good after the wafer thin rolls one often gets!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanmartin
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
7.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn Inn

Property: The Old Barn Inn
Address: Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel Llanmartin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing