We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family away from my home!”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My family away from my home!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I have no doubt at all that writing this review is one of the few ways for me to repay the kindness and great hospitality shown to me by the Old Barn Inn owner Jackie and her amazing staff.

The surpassed my expectations by going beyond the call of duty through a testing reason for me t travel to Wales (family ill health). The friendliness and helpfulness of everyone was well beyond the call of duty, and the rooms where luxury fitted and kitted out with the finest qualit furnishings and appliances, the food was AMAZING. Great choice and affordable.

The location is perfect as its I the country as well as close enough to both Newport and Cardiff. I truly loved it here and I look forward t returning for the best Sunday lunch I have ever eaten out when my husbands health is stored.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Curious-Cow-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    71
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
76
130
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Lovely hotel and restaurant.

We stayed in the suite and it was fantastic, a huge room with a jacuzzi bath and a balcony overlooking horses in a field.

Very clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful and nice.

Lots of parking too.

The food was very good and fairly priced. The desserts cabinet is fantastic!!!

Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The suite is the most expensive room but definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We only stayed the one night but wish we could of stayed longer, the staff were lovely and very obliging, the food was lovely, the room was spacious and separate from the main building but secure, warm and well lit. The bed was very comfortable, large and Tv was good. there were Tea coffee and hot chocolate in the room.

The bathroom was very modern and nothing i could say to improve it. all round 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidelma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Super location food great
the staff are very friendly and very helpful

Room Tip: Great location staff the friendliest ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I popped in for lunch and it exceeded out expectations! We both had food off the light bites menu and there's loads to choose from and there's also a normal menu too with even more choice! The portion sized were more than adequate and very reasonably priced. Will definately return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Don't normally do reviews but feel a must having read a couple of not so good ones !
Cannot fault the Old Barn Inn such a warm friendly atmosphere !
Wonderfull food
Lovely staff
Amazing accomodation !!
Just returned from my third stay and will be booking again, I think that says it all ,would like to thank all the folk at the Old Barn Inn for making our stay a very special time as always : 0 )
Hope to see you all again very soon .


Pinky , goldie and piggy : 0 )

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkygoldiepiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on the weekend, we wanted a night away but not to far. The receptionist was very nice and welcoming, the room was lovely, decorated very nice, very clean. We waited over an hour for food, which we were not told about when ordering but it was worth the wait - lovely. The service was not that great, felt like she did not want to be there. No smiles, no atmosphere from any staff. Breakfast was lovely the next morning, again the service was poor, same girl as the night before, she looked like she just rolled out of bed, she had very bad attitude and not very helpful. Not a happy bunch!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshGirl_6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanmartin
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
7.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn Inn

Property: The Old Barn Inn
Address: Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Old Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel Llanmartin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing