We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch - plenty of choice!”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch - plenty of choice!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I popped in for lunch and it exceeded out expectations! We both had food off the light bites menu and there's loads to choose from and there's also a normal menu too with even more choice! The portion sized were more than adequate and very reasonably priced. Will definately return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    69
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
129
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Don't normally do reviews but feel a must having read a couple of not so good ones !
Cannot fault the Old Barn Inn such a warm friendly atmosphere !
Wonderfull food
Lovely staff
Amazing accomodation !!
Just returned from my third stay and will be booking again, I think that says it all ,would like to thank all the folk at the Old Barn Inn for making our stay a very special time as always : 0 )
Hope to see you all again very soon .


Pinky , goldie and piggy : 0 )

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkygoldiepiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on the weekend, we wanted a night away but not to far. The receptionist was very nice and welcoming, the room was lovely, decorated very nice, very clean. We waited over an hour for food, which we were not told about when ordering but it was worth the wait - lovely. The service was not that great, felt like she did not want to be there. No smiles, no atmosphere from any staff. Breakfast was lovely the next morning, again the service was poor, same girl as the night before, she looked like she just rolled out of bed, she had very bad attitude and not very helpful. Not a happy bunch!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshGirl_6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Their website claims that their double rooms have King size beds (ie 5 Foot) but unfortunately that is not the case, and as my partner is 6' 3", it really does make a difference because double beds are 6'3" long and King size are 6'6". We did notify reception when we left, and they did knock some money off, but they should not be professing to offer something that they dont have!! Have checked their website 2 days later and it stills says the same. Avoid the poached eggs too because mine were overcooked and inedible, but the waitress was uninterested in asking us was everything alright with our food because she could see I hadn't eaten it. We wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Ensure Bed size is as stated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old B, Owner at The Old Barn Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
we regard customer feedback to of the utmost importance and like to hear comments good or bad, however I would like to clarify that we are not breaking any trading standard rules when we advertise our beds as "king size". We have either a king size bed measuring 5ft by 6'6" or a superkingsize bed measuring 6' by 6'6". Sometimes we have larger guests who tell us in advance and we offer them the 6' bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The staff were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Even when we tripped the electrics with the iPod charger they wanted to lend us a new charger, rather than tell us off! We got moved to another room when they couldn't fix it right away. Fab! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guestatoldbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We booked for 3 nights, as stayed last year in May. It was so good we decided to stay 2 more days, instead of moving on for our last 2 days holiday. The rooms are lovely, the beakfasts so good & evening meals enjoyed by us all. Thank you Jackie, your like a ray of sunshine on reception in the morning, making everyone so welcome, also Sue for the great service at breakfast. I find it sad that 2 reviews complained when we saw how hard you all work to make sure your guests had a good time. Thank you to all your staff. We will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duchess1Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Oh dear. Knew I was in trouble when I saw the skin on the restaurant sauces sitting beside the reception.

Sultry girl showed me to the corridor, not the room.
Room is pleasant. Just do not get one near the car park unless you enjoy having people bang on your window at midnight.

Very poor meal in the restaurant.
Breakfast no better & you have to listen to the radio whilst you eat it.
Just reminded my of a Harvester pub.

I will not be back. There are far better B&B's & superb pubs north of Newport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanmartin
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn Inn

Property: The Old Barn Inn
Address: Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel Llanmartin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing