We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expected delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory
Ranked #2 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I were planning a day shopping in Cardiff and so decided we'd spend the night before in a hotel to make it a bit more special. Having read the rave reviews of the Old Rectory, I booked a room and hoped for the best. Although the weather on the day of arrival was grim, the experience was fantastic. The greeting was warm, the room was stunning and the bathroom was incredible. The whole experience was great and the room was very stylish and chic. Compared to similarly priced competitors in the local area, it really was a class apart. I'd probably class it as a boutique hotel but at standard prices. It is a hidden gem and if you're looking for somewhere special to stay within easy reach of Cardiff or Newport, choose this. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked two rooms for four of us visiting the area for a family party and we arrived on a gloriously sunny autumn afternoon an hour earlier than expected.
Sue, the manager, could not have been more helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble and the chambermaid, whom we also met was a gem, moving furniture, changing twin beds to a double, whatever was necessary to make a family member who uses a wheelchair more comfortable.
The rooms are new, clean and calmly decorated, the bathrooms surgically clean. Super shower with room for two. Comfie beds. Good sized flat screen tv in each room and tons of savoury treats to tempt you to buy to eat while you watch! Even the kettle was space-aged. There were generous quantities of everything, coffee, tea, biscuits (the caramel ones were devine), water etc.
Quiet, despite being near a main road, plenty of parking spaces. Can't comment on breakfast, we were all tired after a busy working week and much travelling so preferred to have a lie in than get up early to eat. And wonder of wonders, in the morning, there was no banging on doors by chambermaids keen to get on with their work, all was peaceful.
I had tried to book the suite but it was already booked, but I had a look at it, it really is lovely and very reasonably priced. BTW, I noticed someone had not given full marks for value in one of the reviews, not sure what on earth they expect but we certainly felt the cost was reasonable and indeed the suite was underpriced.
Sue helped us choose places to eat and booked tables for us, she took all the time needed to get us whatever we wanted and never lost patience even once, and believe me, we are demanding guests. The owners must thank their lucky stars to have found her.
When we are visiting our family in the area again, forget the overpriced and overblown hotels, we will definitely be choosing the Celtic Guest Houses and recommend you do too.

Room Tip: 'Bay' was the largest. The suite is the bargain of the year, even just for two people.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CariadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Its so hard where to start as there are so many amazing things to say about this guest house! From the minute me and my boyfriend called the guest house to book the room we were made to feel so welcome, sue was so very helpfull on the phone and ensured us we were going to have a great stay. We decided to stay in the suite room and on arrival we were greated by a lovely maid witch showed us up to our room and we couldn't believe our eyes. It was amazing, the room was so clean and so perfectly decorated right down to the fancy taps. We had our own terrace area witch topped the whole experience off. After the maid had spent time with us showing us around our room and describing how things worked like air con etc she left us our key card and said sue would be around for help that evening if we needed anything. We were already so happy with our stay after being there just one hour. Later that evening sue was kind enough to offer us an ice bucket for a bottle of wine we had bought along and even took time to tell us about places we could visit around wales. All of the facilities in the room were amazing, the shower was out of this world and we had the best nights sleep in the bed. What topped the room off was the luxury bath near the window. There were toiletries and bathrobes and slippers avaialible for us, this guest house is like no other we have ever stayed in. On the morning of our departure we packed our bags and were sad to be leaving such an amazing place, sue even came out to the front and offered to take a photo for us both together, she was so lovely and made our stay there the best it could possibly be. Nothing was to much trouble for her. We will most definatly be returning to the old rectory and talking about it for years to come as it made our first ever visit to wales a memorable one. We both can't wait to go back :) xxx

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie-callum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just spent 3 nights at the Old Rectory on a working trip to Newport and found the place to be superb and better than i could have expected, everything was of a high standard and nothing was to much trouble. I will never stay anywere else if their space when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I booked a four night stay at The Old Rectory, hoping for a comfortable, convenient base from which to explore the Wye Valley. We were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome by Sue, who was very kind and friendly throughout our stay. Sue was very attentive, and gave us lots of suggestion on great places to visit and how to get there.

Our room was lovely, and equipped with everything we could possibly need, from ironing and hairstyling facilities, to complementary bottles of mineral water as well as tea and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom shower fabulous.

The continental breakfast always offered a wide selection of breads, cereals, meats, cheeses and eggs, and Sue also provided a colourful platter of various fruits every day, with a range of yoghourts to choose from. Although this was a cold breakfast, there was a toaster for us to use, and Sue cooked hot scrambled eggs for anyone who wanted it. Nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble for Sue.

What I liked least : the kettle in our room. Very flash and modern, but a bit uncontrollable as it boils rapidly and automatically pours hot, spluttering water into the waiting cup on the draining grid below - only we didn't have a cup waiting!

What I liked best : Definitely Sue - she deserves 5 stars herself for her charming personality, her energy and enthusiasm, and her efficiency. I don't know how she does it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGDavis, Owner at Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Jeff ! What a super review you have been kind enough to leave us .... thank you ! I agree Magor which is just 3 miles away from us is indeed a quaint village with some decent restaurants and pubs. The surrounding area does boast some excellent activities as you mention. Our heritage is very rich and Cadw have spent a significant amount of money making the monuments accessible to everyone. We hope you will return to stay with us soon. With best wishes, Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Three of us including one of our clients stayed at this superb place for just one night on a recent business trip and we arrived at 10 p.m. after a long drive and delayed flight at Heathrow. We couldn't have asked for anything better. We were warmly welcomed by Sue who was really friendly and she checked us in promptly and nothing was too much trouble even at that fairly late hour. All three rooms were absolutely delightful - beautifully designed and immaculate with almost all you would get in a 5 star hotel at extremely good rates. Although you can see the M4 in the distance, there is no noise and the location is in a very nice country area. Unfortunately, we were too late to eat but next morning we were treated to an excellent breakfast, delicious and served in a charming breakfast room with stunning photos on the walls. Everything was so tasteful and, as it was our client's first trip to the UK, she was really impressed by such a great place to stay on her first night (brownie points for us!!!). I can only commend the owner and staff here for such a great job and would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation. Hopefully, next time I will visit on a leisure trip and have more time to explore this lovely part of Wales. Many thanks to everyone concerned for such a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGDavis, Owner at Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Stuart & Lesley. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting your lovely review. The warm welcome you experienced will always be waiting for you whenever you return to stay. It is encouraging to know that the investment we have made into our property shows through .. I am naturally biased but having travelled extensively throughout the world, I know the rooms are of a very high standard All that remains for me to say is that we sincerely hope to welcome you again very soon. With best wishes, Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were looking for a quiet B&B close to Wentwood and we found a perfect spot. This B&B is quiet, clean and the rooms are well appointed. We had great service and were booked into a couple of really good local restaurants in Magor, a place we had passed many a time on the M4 without realising that it was much more than just a service area. We found good walking in Wentwood an on the shores of the Severn, Chepstow with its amazing castle no mare then 30 minutes away. All in al this was a great place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet place but with many activities close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGDavis, Owner at Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hello Jeff. I'm delighted to learn that this is your first ever review on Tripadvisor .. and that we inspired you to leave us lovely feedback. South East Wales is a great place to visit any time of the year - we have an abundance of heritage on our doorstep and the places you mention are just a few of the jewels we have. The Usk Valley itself towards the Brecon Beacons is an area of outstanding beauty and has been the focus of poets, artists and sculptors for hundreds of years. We are thrilled that you chose to stay at our 5* Guest House and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon. With warm wishes, Garth Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanmartin
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
6.5 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
545 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory

Address: Llanmartin, Newport NP18 2EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range: $91 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory is a 5 star boutique Guest House which exudes luxury. Six stunning bedrooms with contemporary echos. Bespoke interiors to rival the very best hotels. Designer, Garth Davis has so captured the mood of effortless living. Located close to Newport, we are very accessible being just 3 minutes off M4, either Junction 24 or 23. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory Hotel Llanmartin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing