We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costeno Beach Surf Camp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, the infectious enthusiasm of the staff for living the 'beach dream' was radiant. Colm, Santi, Geoff, Dion, Greta, Julia, Lo and Ryan were all incredibly helpful, friendly and the fact that I remember their names is testament to how wonderful they were. The food was great and there was always seconds for the greedy ones. I caught some sweet waves at the nearby river mouth and another beach called Narajos but I did bring my own stick although you can rent them. We were meant to stay 2 nights which soon became 2 weeks! Bring bug spray X

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    62
    28
    17
    13
See reviews for
2
70
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was lucky enough to have a Colombian friend with a car so we road tripped there from Cartagena - I therefore dont know how hard it is to get there without a car. We were going to stay for a night, but we ended up staying for two (or three?) - I could have stayed longer. People were friendly enough and I had a good time there hanging out with the staff and other backpackers. I didnt have a board with me on this trip but was able to choose one close to my preference from their rack of boards - woke up for a dawnie while everyone was sleeping and had a pretty fun little surf, despite the waves being super small. If there was more swell we would have been able to get a trip out to some more solid surf, but alas we were not lucky enough for that. After surf breakfast was amazing - try the banana pancakes! I had like four breakfasts the one morning. I see that some reviewers said the staff were not great - they were friendly enough and helpful to us. The place is pretty damn cool - and if there was more surf and more time I could totally just hang there. Also - if you have a car, there are some cool forest hikes and waterfalls nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineMissions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Costeno Beach is a very relaxed place to spend a few days. It is right on the beach and is very beautiful. I took a surf class one afternoon and spent the rest of my time relaxing on the beach, swimming or reading. I stayed in one of the hamacas, which where a bit high up (and I'm quite tall) and tight for my back, but I slept well. My only complaints would be that it is a bit pricey. The dinners they served were not that big and a bit expensive for Colombia, however I understand that the hostel is located on the beach.

The breakfeast was very tasty, cayeye and arepa y huevo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosoyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Before reaching Costeno Beach I had heard nothing but positive feedback about it and upon arrival, my expectations were exceeded. My friends and I were made to feel like part of the family. The location is unrivalled, the food is fantastic and the staff went out of their way to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves. Costeno Beach and the people I met there has been one of the biggest highlights of my trip around South America. I cannot recommend it any higher.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amybakerwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My fiance and I had the best experience there. We were on a packpacking tour of south america and after crossing the border by bus from Venezuela and having a horrible experience, we made it to costeno beach which felt like paradise! It is away from everything. The staff was so nice. Santiago helped us with everything. Anything you need can be delivered to you for 3000 pesos. They organised the lost city trek for us and we got a complimentary massage ON THE BEACH on our way back it was just great. The atmosphere of the place is perfect. Everyone gets to know each other during meals and you can chill in hammocks, play volleyball, movie nights are organised. The sunsets are perfect. I would recommend costeno to anyone! just go you will love it.

Room Tip: You can choose a hut right on the beach which have share bathroom or choose a private room with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

although the location, scenery and place is absolutely beautiful because it's completely isolated, directly on the beach with jungly nature behind, the hostel was extremely disappointing. the hostel was very poorly run. staff was, in my opinion, inpolite, not helpful, some times even rude and disrespectful and it seemed as if they were too busy and focused on themselves (looking good, having their party, hitting on girls) rather than taking care of visitors. they mixed up many bookings and many things got lost there.

also the name is misleading, as it is definitely not a surf camp. there is one guy taking people into the waves that are definitely not appropriate for beginners, which they don't tell you beforehands. he doesn't seem to be a teacher, didn't prepare us and didn't make any effort to help us stand up. at some point he went out of the water and just watched us struggling.

all in all a really disappointing and sad experience to see how ignorant and self-centered people can be.. especially in such a beautiful place!

However you should definitely not miss the beautiful beaches, sunrises and sunsets of tayrona, in another, more loving hostel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariekun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian r, Owner at Costeno Beach Surf Camp, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
sorry to hear you didn't feel the love in costenobeach. We try to show everyone a great time. The surf as you know changes every day. Sometimes its great, sometimes is bad. We think Dion is great at teaching people to surf, standing up generally depends on the ability of the person surfing. Im glad you enjoyed the area and atleast have a positive opinion of Colombia and our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place has potential to be something amazing. The asthetics of the camp were simple but idyllic for a surf camp. The property is well maintained and clean.

HOWEVER.... The staff there are appalling. I'm actually embarrassed that these guys actually feel like they are better than most people. None of them can surf and they hold themselves as if they are above and beyond others. It is unfortunate because it has so much potential.

I believe going to a surf camp should be fun, warming and integrative. But it was nothing like this. I have read many other reviews and the same message is evident.

I wouldn't waste my time or money here. Go to Palomino where there is real people and a soul to the town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_r0ck2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian r, Owner at Costeno Beach Surf Camp, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Im glad you were able to enjoy yourself in palomino. We are real people here, but your right, palomino has a town. We do not. No towns close. a little confused by the we are not surfers comments, but thanks for the advice, we will continue working on giving our guests a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magdalena Department hotels
0.2 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
497 reviews
4.7 mi away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buritaca
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CasaGrande Surf
CasaGrande Surf
#28 of 149 in Santa Marta
54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada Villa Margarita
Posada Villa Margarita
#1 of 4 in Los Naranjos
39 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Mar de Bien
La Mar de Bien
#4 of 104 in Santa Marta
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costeno Beach Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costeno Beach Surf Camp

Property: Costeno Beach Surf Camp
Address: Km 39 Toncal de Caribe, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Magdalena Department
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a hell-uv-a place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Costeno Beach Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costeno Beach Surf Camp Colombia, South America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing