We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to chill and surf, for everyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costeno Beach Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to chill and surf, for everyone!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend visited Costeño in July for 4 nights staying in a beach hut. I made the reservation via email a few days before and they answered very promptly and were expecting us when we arrived. You have to walk about 15-20 mins from where the bus drops you off but you can organise a transfer if you don't like the sound of this. But it's totally worth it! The setting is gorgeous, with lovely gardens, gorgeous, empty beach, and loads of palm trees. You walk through the palm plantation to get to the best break for surfing, near the river mouth. My boyfriend surfs but I don't, but I never was short of things to do there. I read a lot, played volleyball, went swimming and body surfing. Swimming at the river mouth is the best because its refreshing fresh water that's just a little bit cooler than the ocean. The food was fantastic, we were worried it wouldn't be enough for my very hungry boyfriend so we bought chips, biscuits, noodles in case. We bearly needed them, but it's a good idea if you have a big appetite. They have a camp kitchen which consists of a few pots etc and a stove, so noodles are perfect, and an option if you need to save money. But the food and booze is cheap enough anyway, 5,000 breaky 11,000 lunch and dinner, beers 3,000. The beach hut was perfect for two people enough space for your stuff, but very private, dry and mozzie free with the nets. We highly recommend anyone around this area to drop by for a few days. My boyfriend says the surf was not big but really fun waves. Only thing is they may need a few more newer board rentals, especially short boards so its a good idea to bring your own board if you have it. And wax! That was in short supply.

Room Tip: Beach hut is rustic but fantastic value and very comfortable. I hear the other rooms were great, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    71
    28
    20
    14
See reviews for
2
76
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Heard great things about this place so stayed for 3 nights. The place itself is great if you're after somewhere away from the crowds. I stayed in a hammock which was right near the beach and really comfy. The other rooms and beach huts are really nice too.
The only thing that let this place down was the lack of service. Most staff seemed quite unfriendly and made you feel like you were inconveniencing them when you asked for something. Also they were frequently out of drinks or snacks even though its a 15 minute round trip in a car to the shops.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Costeno is perfect for what it is; a relaxed retreat on the coast where there aren't any shoes or shirts in sight. The food is good, especially their breakfast menu. The staff are friendly, however everything is a little bit unorganized. The surf is decent, however it's quite choppy and it's quite a workout to get out the back.

The biggest flaw is that they have a policy where they will take anyone, regardless of booking. This means the only way to guarantee the room you reserved is to arrive early.

Overall a great hostel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotforgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Recently left Costeño Beach for a second time. Great place with lovely scenery, great staff, cool vibe. Met a lot of really cool people.

You can surf outside the hostel although better to head down the beach to the left out of the camp about 15-20 minutes walk. I had a lesson whilst there which was one of the best I've had throughout the world. The guy teaching us was Colm who is one of the owners and really passionate about surfing.

Food at the camp is great - you have the option of 3 meals a day which you can opt in and out of depending on how you feel. The cooking facilities aren't the most amazing ever but this is a camp in the middle of nowhere, besides the food on offer is great :-)

Getting to the camp from Santa Marta is straightforward, most buses no of the camp so will let you out at the entrance, its then a 20 min walk along a dirt track. Or get a moto taxi. Don't get off at Tayrona entrance as someone told us to in santa marta, you'll struggle to get a moto taxi or can there.

The staff were cool, Santiago is super sweet, Colm (owns the place with Brian) really lovely and helpful, Brian will have you in hysterics with his stories and always getting people involved in activities. I won't describe each and every person as a lot of people are involved in making the place what it is.

If you go, try and head to the new farm associated with this place, 4 of us went one night and had such a great time, one of the best eves in South America.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I loved this place! It's in the middle of nowhere, the beach is completely deserted for as far as you can see and the grounds are well kept. The rooms are very basic so don't expect much. They serve 3 meals a day at a fair price but I would advise bringing plenty of snacks because it's a hassle to leave once you're there. I went in March and the surf is definitely not for beginners as the currents are really strong and there's no break in the sets so getting out can be a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXtourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It was the perfect place to stay. The rooms were clean and quiet, beds were comfortable, and had everything you needed to relax. The food was great and reasonably priced although inbetween meals there was not much to choose from for healthy snacks.
They are very environmentally conscious which was refreshing for Colombia.
The hostel owners were so helpful about the area and made you feel like you were at home.
We did a day trip To Tyrona from here and it was perfect. So glad we didn't haul our packs in there for 1 night. Perfect day trip option.
Close by there is a river that you can walk to and relax in.
Would highly recommend coming here and skipping Palomino.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cool and relaxed place far from the big tourist crowds. Very nice off the beaten track feeling, well hidden and almost virgin beach. If you do not have a car it quite a long walk from the main road, walking through bananafield and passing some abandoned properties. Two main buildings, whereas one of them contained the reception, restaurant, bar and surfboard rentals, and a bunch of cottages. Location right at the beach between the palmtrees, very nice setting. Did not sleep here though, but all type of accomodation is quite simple. Cottages were just a roof and a mattress. Nice place for yoga and relaxation. Not very good waves for surfing.

Room Tip: The main building probably offers better condition of accomodation. Cottages looked cool, but just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Björn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magdalena Department hotels
0.2 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
562 reviews
4.7 mi away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buritaca
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mendihuaca Caribbean Resort
Mendihuaca Caribbean Resort
#1 of 1 in Mata de Platano
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costeno Beach Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costeno Beach Surf Camp

Property: Costeno Beach Surf Camp
Address: Km 39 Toncal de Caribe, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Magdalena Department
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a hell-uv-a place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Costeno Beach Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costeno Beach Surf Camp Colombia, South America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing