We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended...”
Review of Kimeret Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimeret Place
Ranked #2 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
997 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Highly recommended...”
Reviewed December 25, 2008

Excellent property, with a very welcoming host... Would not hesitate to recommend, or stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast truly exceeded all expectations, the area itself is stunning and the grounds of the house are just as good. Gill, the host, went above and beyond to give us quality service, everyday we went back to our room to find freshly baked treats and Maori legends placed on the bed. The attention she paid to every little detail was very impressive.The breakfast she cooked every morning was excellent and she could not do enough for us. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy, the bathroom had a lovely spa bath and underfloor heating, it was immaculate. Its the sort of place you look forward to going back to at the end of the day, my partner and I would recommend Kimeret to everyone and would definitely go back again. A great stay!

  • Liked — The Breakfasts
  • Disliked — The internet usage was expensive
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank royston33England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2008

My sister, and another girlfriend and I decided we needed a mid-winter escape from Auckland so booked into Kimeret Place. We had previously stayed there in December 07. That had been a perfect few days of Nelson summer weather and included tours of art galleries and cafes for three days. This time the location provided a different vista with frost glistening on the the balcony ,looking beyond to the snow capped mountains across the glassy inlet and under glorious blue skies. Wow! we can,t believe there is bad weather in this area. Maybe we are just lucky.
On both visits the accomodation proved to be luxurious and relaxing. Sitting in the spa pool sipping a local sauvignon blanc, eating Nelson Bay oysters and watching the moon rise was not too hard to take! Gill and Ian are fine hosts and helped us find our way to the local galleries, markets local eateries.Breakfast is a must at Kimeret! Better than any lodge or hotel I have ever stayed at in NZ. All local produce, bought daily, and served in the dining area overlooking the inlet. We are now back in Auckland but trying to justify another visit in December .

  • Liked — Location, tranquil yet close to adventures, eateries, town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bedraggled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed here with our children aged 4 and 1 1/2. We didn't stay in the main house, but in the building described as 'the cottage' which was actually a converted garage. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone with small children. Our kids were pretty well behaved, but it was very stressful worrying that they might spill something on the beige carpet or beige seat covers in the breakfast room. The breakfasts were excellent (and I have pretty high standards when it comes to food). We had a smallish sized (which suited us perfectly) cooked breakfast plus a good selection of other things.
I wouldn't recommend the cottage unless you plan to spend most of the time out and about. When we stayed it was autumn so it might be a different experience if you stayed when the weather was good and you could take advantage of the terrace. The inside of the cottage was pristine: very new carpets and curtains etc and everything looked very clean. However, the rooms felt a bit pokey, there was not enough space to put your stuff and the style of the place didn't suit us: in fact there was no style at all to it. Also, the kitchen (I should perhaps say kitchenette as it was minute) was shabby: one door didn't close properly and the kitchen units felt very old. The crockery, cutlery and pans were attrocious - the sort of thing you'd have picked up very cheaply 20 years ago. In my view there is no excuse for that given the prices that are being charged (it wouldn't cost much to get a cheap but nice looking white dinner set plus some new cutlery and pans).
The main house may be very different in set up, but I'd steer clear of the 'cottage' and I wouldn't go there with children under 10.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfan, Owner at Kimeret Place, responded to this review, July 22, 2008
I was very disappointed to read this review as the family had written some nice comments in the guest book and thanked me for a relaxing time. During their stay the weather was not good and so the children did not get chance to run around outside plus a lot of the activities in the area were closing down over this period. I was running a stay for 3 and pay for 2 offer when the family stayed so the cost per night was $246 for 4 people including a full cooked breakfast and all taxes which in this area is very good value. In my advertising it is stated that it is a kitchenette and not a kitchen and others have commented that it is more than they expected. I have however taken on board what was said about the cutlery and crockery and have replaced all the pans, crockery and cutlery. The broken cupboard was just where a screw had come loose which was easily remedied. I do wish that the family had made some comments at the time of their visit as we could of then done something to compensate their displeasure. I pride myself in my cleanliness and my breakfast so am pleased that these were enjoyed. The children were a delight to have in my house and it was a pleasure to do something special for them each morning at breakfast. I also pride myself in making my guests welcome and happy and hope that this one bad review will not put people off who want to come to Nelson region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Natasha Maria and Partner

We had a blast! For a couple wanting peace and quiet, this lovely place was it. And if you wanted to party a little, Nelson wasnt far to travel and Gill was great with us coming back so late! I admit four nights wasnt long enough but with the help of the fantasic hot tub on the deck, we were so relaxed that on our last day, we almost missed our flight. Thankfully, the mist that morning delayed many flights, including ours.

We loved the Alexander suite. When comparing to an hotel room, this room had so much more life and when its raining, it is so nice to stay and enjoy the room and the mini bar and everything else, ( including the spa bath! ). This is by far better than a hotel. Because Gill made us feel welcome and to remember we were on hoilday and to enjoy. And we didnt have to do a thing. The breakfast was WOW. The choices were varied and the quality was great. I loved all the goodies to choose. The Best !!!

Thanks so much, Gill for a great time and for making your place a warm and stunning home away from home.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank FoxyladyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding in Lincs
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2008

|What an incredible place!
The comfort and beauty of the house is so relaxing and the garden is stunning with fabulous views.
It was so lovely to lay by the gorgeous pool, reading my book, sipping my cold drink and being so happy that we were booked in to Kimeret Place!
Thanks Gill for making such amazing breakfasts and having such a wonderful guest house!

  • Liked — Relaxation, romantic, wonderful accomodation and lovely views
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike about this guest house
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SaraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks in the Nelson/Marlborough region and Kimeret Place was a delightful find- we were sorry we only had one night to stay, and will certainly stay longer next time we visit. It's ideally located not far from the main road but no noise whatsoever, and only minutes to Abel Tasman Park or back to Richmond/Nelson. The quiet rural setting is very restful. Our room had a private balcony that looked across to farms and the inlet. There is a wonderful Spa and Pool. The room was decorated beautifully and everything was immaculate, with great attention to detail. I thought the bathroom was brand new it was so clean. Gill was a wonderful host, and the breakfast fare was terrific. I'd highly recommend to anyone visiting this region.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the decor
  • Disliked — It was all good
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keen2go77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
7.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.2 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimeret Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimeret Place

Property: Kimeret Place
Address: Bronte Road East | Off State Highway 60, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimeret Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation options include two luxurious suites and two adjoining apartments (which can be booked as a two bedroom cottage ideal for families or groups) All have complimentary tea/coffee facilities, fridge, mini-bar, hair dryers, toiletries, sitting area with TV, DVD and Hi-fi as well as views from either balcony or deck. One apartment is equipped for self catering if preferred. Also available are light meals, internet and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimeret Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimeret Place Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing