We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit from Golden Bay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bronte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Recently stayed at this beautiful B & B in Mapua. We came over for one night from Golden Bay and was greeted by warm & welcoming hosts in their lovely home. We had a very relaxing time in beautiful surrounding & a really nice breakfast, We will certainly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks so much for coming to stay with us. I'm sorry it was so short but thoroughly enjoyed our interesting conversations! Glad you enjoyed your wee break. Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 97 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed hear after a long car trip from Hanmer Springs. It was a very hot day but the drive through the Murchison Pass was long but beautiful.

Arrived to a very warm welcome from Lis would runs this great B&B. We were very lucky to get in as it is the ideal location for both Nelson and AT National Park. It is about 20-30 minutes from both but set in lovely countryside. There is a beautiful view overlooking the tidal river and the garden is wonderful.

We stayed for 2 nights in Nov 2013 and the weather was very hot. Lis is very generous and an amazing cook. Her passion is organic food and her breakfasts are incredible. I can not recommend this B&B enough.

Room Tip: Truly great location, wonderful food and lovely owner.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hi Kristina,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad you enjoyed your time here. I enjoyed your visit! One correction - we are on the Waimea estuary - it's ocean - not a river :-) It's still lovely and warm - perhaps hot by UK standards ha-ha. Kind regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were staying at this beautiful B&B for 4 nights. Lis is a great host, loving the detail. So we always had a delicious organic breakfast and divine delights in the evening:) She knows all activities in the area which are a lot. The accomodation is well located to discover Abel Tasman Park, Golden Bay, Nelson etc. We highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Philipp K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Phillipp. I really enjoyed your energy and positive attitude and the time you and Kirsten were here and hope the rest of your NZ adventure goes well for you both. You missed the rain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Cat's Pjamas. Lys is an excellent host in a relaxing and comfortable environment. The stay was beyond our expectations. We were also provided with excellent information about the whereabouts. Excellent, home made breakfast with food from her own garden.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacques0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Hello Jacques...thank you for reviewing Cats Pjamas B&B and I hope your trip home to Holland goes well. I very much enjoyed your visit and am glad we could contribute to your experience of this wonderful country! Kind regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Cat’s P’jamas is a real treasure. From first sight we fell in love with the gardens and the B&B’s situation. Welcomed warmly by Lis, our hostess, we immediately felt at home in every sense. Our room was spacious and the ensuite left nothing to be desired. Fred would have been most pleased. The attention to detail and good taste throughout Lis’s lovely home pleased our souls. Breakfast was delightfully presented and delicious, with pleasing variations each morning. The outlook through the bay window across the bay spoke alluringly of tranquility and adventure mixed. Lis is a trove of helpful information, thoughtfully tailored to suit her guests’ preferences. If you are fortunate enough to be able to stay at The Cat’s Pjamas, you will take with you lasting memories of a little taste of Heaven.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Hi Rosalie, Thanks for taking the time to write a review AND upload photo's :-) I thoroughly enjoyed your and Carl's stay and the interesting conversations we shared. So happy you had a good trip through NZ and found our spot relaxing. Kind regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent four nights at Cat's Pjamas in March and were very pleased with our time there. The B&B is conveniently located just off the main highway from Richmond to Abel Tasman, but the property was so quiet and rural in appearance that we could have been miles from the road. The house is lovely and welcoming, the grounds are beautiful (with garden and orchard) and the view toward Rabbit Island in the distance was peaceful. We stayed in the larger room (Fred's) which was more than adequate for two people with lots of possessions. Lis took excellent care of us and served the BEST breakfasts of all the B&B's we stayed at in New Zealand - organic, healthful, and different each day, . She also was very helpful with planning our days, cluing us in to many interesting sights, stops, and walks that we would not have visited otherwise. Plus, there's Tia the cat - as classic a cat as you'll find anywhere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Tia was very impressed with getting a mention - I think that's a first so now she's got a big head and wants me to read her all the reviews in case she has a growing fan club! Hope life back home is treating you well. Kind regards, Lis - oh and Tia of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

There is a saying:
There is no greater pleasure than to suprise a guest by giving him more than he would expect.
Cat's Pjamas seems to take care of their guest in exactly this way.
Luckily this was our longest stay in NZ for five very enjoyable days.
We never felt more welcomed and catered for.
My own highligt was the self made chocolate on the night table.
Another is the view at the breakfast table - sunset above rabbit Island - unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Steffen, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. I always enjoy having guests stay longer such as yourselves - get to know you a little and gives you an opportunity to explore our wonderful region more. Wishing you well as you head into summer and we descend into winter. Glad you enjoyed the chocolates! Warm regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast

Address: 232 Westdale Road | Mapua, Bronte, Mapua 7081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range: $73 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cats Pjamas B&B is a welcoming sunny home filled with local artists creations. Situated on 3 landscaped acres overlooking the sea. You'll be pampered with homemade organic nibbles and amazing organic cooked breakfasts served on our deck with spectacular views. We're within walking distance of Playhouse Theatre and Cafe, and close to the restaurants and wineries of Mapua. Our backyard offers you 3 national parks. Everywhere you turn you're surrounded by spectacular beauty and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cat's Pjamas Bed And Breakfast Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing