We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Pampering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real Pampering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

From the arrival welcome to the quality and freshness of the house, everything about the stay exceeded expectations. The beds were comfortable and everything was beautifully clean and fresh. Lis is a goumet chef and produced some wonderful treats. To a confirmed bacon and eggs for breakfast man, the morning repast was a bit of a shock, but a very pleasant surprise! The home made muesli had me going back for more with the fresh home made yoghurt and fresh fruit picked from the property, followed by a yummy egg dish & coffee it was sufficient to keep us going all day.
Lis also was a fountain of knowledge of the Nelson region and was able to provide great information on things to do and see which made our trip extremely enjoyable

Room Tip: The larger room has a separate lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you survived a week of my breakfasts and lived to tell about it! Warm regards, Lis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at this b & b for two nights, but another night or two would not be too long - there is lots to see and do in the area. We stayed in Max's room, and there is a nice little veranda just outside the door. It is part of the main veranda which wraps around a few sides of the house, but it is quite private, to sit out and have a glass of wine.
The location was very good for driving to Abel Tasman in the morning, for a sailing adventure we had booked. But it would also be very good to visit Nelson - just a short drive away as well. And we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and choice of restaurants in Mapua, just a few minutes from the b & b. There are many more attractions in the area as well - in fact, it was one of our favourite areas we visited on our trip to New Zealand.
Lis and Chris were very welcoming, and the breakfasts were lovely. The fresh fruit salad was a great treat. The weather was nice enough to eat out on the veranda (another part of the same veranda outside Max's room), with great views out to the water. And in the evening, a nice little homemade snack appeared in our bedroom. Very nice touch.
Lis packed a lunch for us to take along on our sailing adventure. It was fabulous, but I am not sure whether she wants to make that a regular part of the services she has on offer! Great idea in my opinion. So nice to have a picnic, rather than always be looking for a restaurant.
The only marginally negative (or slightly less positive) thing that could be said about Cat's Pjamas is that it is very near a busy road. However, having said that, the road noise quieted down at night, so there was no sleep issue associated with this at all. And, the location, close to the main highway west of Nelson, is very handy.

Room Tip: I would recommend Max's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hello Sue,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lengthy review - especially as you're undoubtably playing catch-up at home. If you're willing, do you mind letting me know how we could have improved the service and the room? Reviews have great value in giving us a chance to do things better and we're keene to provide an exceptional experience for people who choose to stay with us. Warm regards,
Lis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our thanks to Lis and Chris for their warm hospitality during our overnight stay (in Max's room). Located in an attractive rural setting just off the main route from Richmond to Golden Bay, the accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious and Lis's food is superb. Cat's Pjamas is an excellent place to stay and gets an unqualified thumbs-up from these two visiting Marlburians!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Thanks Lis for your generous hospitality. You offer the best B&B I have experienced: all the comforts one could want, a lovely breakfast eaten overlooking a view (pancakes my favorite); great location, and a stunning property. A highlight for us was being just as happy spending time at the Cats Pjamas relaxing in the garden, swimming in the pool, and lounging on the sofas as leaving the B&B to be a tourist. I might also mention your chocolates, and the coffee just outside our door. I fully recommend the Cats Pjamas. It would be impossible not to be satisfied with your stay! We will be back.

Thanks again,

Marc & Anita

Room Tip: You can't miss. All of the rooms will be a pleasure to book. The property is well away from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Hi Mark, Thanks for your comments :-) It was a pleasure hosting you for your honeymoon. WIshing you many happy years together. Kind regards, Lis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have ejoyed a wonderful B&B experience at the Cat's Pjamas. The accommodations and property are exceptional and our hosts Chris and Lis have made us feel extremely welcome. The food has been out of this world and we would definitely recommend the Cat's Pjamas to anyone visiting the region.

Room Tip: We have a 2 year old son, Jacob, and so we found Fred's room ideal as it has a separate living a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Enjoyed your brief stay - the best part of running a B&B is all the wonderful people we meet! Hope to see you down this part of the world again sometime. Kind regards, Lis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having never stayed in a B&B we had no idea what to expect. Any reservations were quickly dispelled when we were greeted by our hosts, Chris and Lis, who made us feel very welcome. The room was beautifully clean and the ambience of the property was delightful. Little extras such as having the bed turned down and a chocolate treat was unexpected but appreciated. Flexibility of breakfast time was offered. Breakfast on the verandah with a spectacular view was generous, nutritious and beautifully presented. Altogether a very satisfying experience and one we would look to repeat.
Caroline & Peter

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caro U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Beautiful accomodation and surrounds. Fantastic food - kept us full for hours! Would highly recommend! Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
2.7 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
3.7 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mapua Chalets
Mapua Chalets
#3 of 14 in Mapua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
8.7 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast
Address: 232 Westdale Road, Bronte, Mapua 7081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cats Pjamas B&B is a welcoming sunny home filled with local artists creations. Situated on 3 landscaped acres overlooking the sea. You'll be pampered with homemade organic nibbles and amazing organic cooked breakfasts served on our deck with spectacular views. We're within walking distance of Playhouse Theatre and Cafe, and close to the restaurants and wineries of Mapua. Our backyard offers you 3 national parks. Everywhere you turn you're surrounded by spectacular beauty and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat's Pjamas Bed And Breakfast Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing