We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There is no better place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Karaka cottage from the Waimea Inlet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Karaka cottage from the Waimea Inlet
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Karaka cottage from the Waimea Inlet
Bedroom
Bathroom
Outdoor bath
Outdoor bath
Sunny deck overlooking the estuary
private garden by the estuary shore
View from the East deck
View
early morning tide
Autumn colours
Morning mist
birds at dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bronte, Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Klaus T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There is no better place to stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Elspeth's bachs are completely private with a great views in all directions.
The bachs are nicely decorated and fully equipped.
It was certainly the nicest place we stayed during our three weeks in New Zealand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the views, the decoration of the interior
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theburnsi...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We Should Keep This a Secret!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just a short little weekend visit, but what a heavenly place...totally secluded. Bring in all you need, as you will not want to leave. Relaxing, perfect for us for a catch up with our adult son and partner...they took the little studio cottage that was also available...Comfortable, smart, bright and light. A home away from home.
However our house isn't perched at the edge of tidal estuary. Enjoy this truly special cottage and position. We adored it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford Uk
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland/Melbourne
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellington
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellywoul...
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Mid-Winter Marvel”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

It takes a special weekend away to put mid-winter floods and earthquakes in Wellington out of your mind. We found the perfect way to recover in Miro cottage - right on the edge of the water, surrounded by vines, trees and birds and with a breathtaking outlook over the estuary to snow-capped mountains. All the comfort you could want, but none of the sterile stuffiness of a hotel. Fantastic hospitality at a discrete distance and perfect, reviving calm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the surroundings
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing