We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My family and I had a truly relaxing and great time the 2 nights we spent at Atholwood. Perfect surroundings just by the bay, beautiful view and luxurious accommodations made our stay a perfect experience. Special mention goes to Sarah & Ian who were excellent hosts going the extra mile to ensure we were taken care of and comfortable at all times. We used to have long chats with them during breakfast just like old friends would do. They took care of our restaurant reservations and were extremely helpful. We really wished our stay in Atholwood was longer.

We would love to go back again and would not hesitate to recommend anybody who is considering this little paradise.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RDGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
219
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Our stay at Atholwood Country Accomodation was everything we expected and more! The setting and accomodations are beautiful and Ian and Sarah Cole were the most wonderful hosts. Breakfast every day was delicious and they were so helpful in suggesting restaurants and sights to see. Sarah even did our laundry for which we were most grateful! We left Atholwood considering Ian and Sarah to be more than just owners of a bed and breakfast. We now consider them friends and if they ever come to the USA and California we would love to see them and re-connect. They were a very important part of our fabulous trip to New Zealand

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnightingale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Our wonderful week at Atholwood was a truly relaxing experience. Complimented by
the hosts Sarah and Ian ,who provided all the necessary information and travel tips about the local area and organised our day trip to the Able Tasman National Park.
The breakfasts were cooked perfectly by Sarah and the entertainment provided by Ian
with his engaging conversation. The Cowdrey Suite, with its gorgeous views of the Waimea Inlet was the perfect way to wake up in the morning and enjoy the sunrises.
The weather was perfect all week and alllowed us to enjoy the salt water pool and the tidal estuary with its interesting selection of sea birds and wildlife. We are already planning our return visit next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie43434343434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Warm and Friendly hospitallity that exceeds all expectations, Located in tranquil surroundings with stunning views and a lovely swimming pool and hot tub to relax in.
Comfortable, modern, well equipped and very clean accommodation with serviced rooms.
Well situated for easy access to Nelson and surroundings as well as Abel Tasman National Park and the Hostess was very happy to arrange guided tours and adventerous activities so you can enjoy the holiday to its fullest.
Highly recommend and shall be returning in the very near future.
A huge thanks for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable
Mel and Kim

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The B&B Suites are located in a very quite and pitoresque landscape. Sarah and Ian are the perfect Hosts, they spare no effort to make it an unforgettable stay. We enjoyed the stay in their location very very much.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaniRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We loved Atholwood. We stayed at the Gatehouse for two nights. Clean, quiet. A great location. The owners were extremely helpful and pleasant. If staying here, we recommend the Smokehouse fish and chips in Mapua...!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Atholwood has everything you would want. Five star accommodation, kitchen, roomy accommodation, great hosts (thanks Sarah and Ian) and the little things that sets this accommodation part from the rest. A great location on the edge of the Abel Tasman National Park with lots to do for teenages (walking, kayaking and touring). We stayed for three nights, and each morning our rooms were refreshed, the frig restocked with little things like eggs, bacon and bread for toast. A delightful experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Canberra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
10.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
10.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Property: Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Address: 118 Bronte Road East | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholwood Luxury Counrty Accommodation is a unique five star luxury retreat, offering you serenity in comfort and style with two B&B suites and a self-contained apartment, all with their own balconies and views over the Waimea estuary,at the entrance to the grounds is the self-contained Gatehouse cottage. Set in 2.2 Acres of park-like grounds with native trees and hidden pathways that border the estuary, and ideally situated between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing