We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great spot!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Atholwood is a great option for touring the Abel Tasman region. The Cowdrey Apartment had a great bed and bathroom and we loved the balcony, and it was nice to have our own private spot. The views of the estuary and mountains were beautiful--it's a very peaceful place to spend a couple of days!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveler2014580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
219
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having completed a long drive from Christchurch, we were welcomed by Ian and Sarah at Atholwood, a haven of peace and tranquility. The Cowdrey apartment was beautifully appointed with a superb view from our balcony of the Waimea estuary and its local kingfishers.
Our hosts provided us with very helpful advice and information of the area over delicious breakfasts.
The location is ideal, with quality restaurants at Mapua- just five minutes drive away.
Tom & Fiona

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

beautiful location, great rooms with great views over water to distant mountains. sarah and ian most helpful hosts. loved Mapua ( 5 mins drive away).micro brewery serving super beers, two good restaurants and fish and chippie. great treat to eat fish and chips outside brewery with a nice pint !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Outstanding position, with stunning views, extremely well appointed and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for Sarah and Ian and they were consummate hosts! Mapua and its wharf are only 5 minutes away and have a range of eateries suitable for most tastes (and wallets). We spent Christmas Eve on a boat trip to Able Tasman canoeing, swimming and trekking and Christmas day was spent on the beach at Rabbit Island - fantastic!!

Room Tip: Cowdrey Suite has outstanding views and is superbly appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNorthWales2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Atholwood is an absolutely first class B&B in a great location, combining luxury accommodation with extensive views over water to the mountains. We stayed for two nights in January 2014 in the Cowdrey suite, a purpose built apartment separate from the main house and featuring a lounge, bedroom, bathroom and small kitchen and a balcony deck. Every detail was perfect, from the décor, the bedding, and the bathroom, down to the home-made cake waiting for us each day.
We looked forward to the excellent breakfast as we would if staying with friends. Sarah and Ian were happy to recommend places to visit but were also happy to chat about a whole range of subjects; very relaxed and always informative. We found one of their recommendations, nearby Mapua, to be a particular favourite with its cafes, restaurants craft shops and microbrewery. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Atholwood to anyone visiting the South Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Atholwood for 2 nights (in January 2014) as part of our Honeymoon trip around the South Island. We stayed in one of the apartments overlooking the bay/sound and the views were stunning. The apartment itself had all mod-cons and finished to a really high standard. Finally the hosts/proprietors were lovely people. They were very accommodating and as you would hope. Not really knowing the area (or having done much planning) they offered us some really good suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to got to. You will be very pleased with staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location with fabulous views, spotlessly clean and very friendly hosts. Much better than staying in a hotel and we could not find any fault whatsoever. Breakfast was excellent. We would recommend Atholwood to anybody. Jan and Paul

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanPaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
10.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
10.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
11.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Property: Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Address: 118 Bronte Road East | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholwood Luxury Counrty Accommodation is a unique five star luxury retreat, offering you serenity in comfort and style with two B&B suites and a self-contained apartment, all with their own balconies and views over the Waimea estuary,at the entrance to the grounds is the self-contained Gatehouse cottage. Set in 2.2 Acres of park-like grounds with native trees and hidden pathways that border the estuary, and ideally situated between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing