We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Atholwood, was just what we needed. A perfect little hideaway. A beautifully well maintained, very clean country home. We were welcomed by the owner and her very cute puppy and after speaking with her briefly she made us feel like we were not just guest but friends. Everyday we received complimentary cake, which was very delicious every time. The grounds are immaculately kept and great for outside picnics. Atholwood, is simply an amazing accommodation .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 276 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Atholwood is a secluded serene luxury retreat. Down a country road easily accessed from the highway, we were greeted warmly by the owners and treated like friends throughout our stay. The accomodations were beautiful! We stayed in the apartment suite with panoramic views of the impressive gardens and estuary. We enjoyed watching the impressive tidal changes and spectacular sunsets! The rooms had modern furnishings and were impeccably maintained. We loved the gourmet breakfasts and the company of our hosts. This is a great jumping off point to explore Abel Tasman Park and the wineries of the Nelson Region.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We couldn't be happier with this hotel. Friendly welcome, gorgeous room, their own vineyard and apple orchard... with a hedgehog! when we arrived the view was a marsh, beautiful but the real experience was to see the tide come up and fill the estuary, what a breathtaking experience. Go!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cailebotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Atholwood offers a good location for those who want to visit Abel Tasman. It is a little off the beaten track in a quiet drive and . We had a very warm welcome. We stayed at the Gatehouse which is spacious and very comfortable. A very nice pace to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 99Trip-tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This bed and breakfast was lovely. In addition to being convenient to Nelson, Abel Tasman National Park, and wine country, the location was absolutely beautiful. Our balcony window looked out on the water and the woods across the way. The room was spacious, with a sitting area and modern bathroom. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. The pool is down a slight hill, also overlooking the amazing scenery. So quiet and relaxing. The owners, Sarah and Ian, were very generous with their time, answering our questions and we learned so much about the people of New Zealand. They were not intrusive, but very approachable. They also made reservations for us for dinner at two great restaurants. The breakfasts were gourmet, fresh ingredients. The bedtime snacks left in our room were a nice touch, as well. I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blttColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Firstly, the suits offered great views of the surrounding areas. Secondly, although many B&B tend to be very personal with their guests, the hosts appeared to apply a more balanced approach; this enhanced the feeling of being guests at a professional accommodation. Throughout our stay the suits were thoroughly cleaned and provided sufficient space for a young travelling couple.

Moreover, the breakfast consisted of a simple but good selection of home-style dishes.
Although no exercise facility was provided, the proximity of vast forests provided opportunities outdoor exercise in a scenic setting.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Atholwood is nicely located between Nelson and the beautiful Abel Tasman National park, which is one of the many areas in which director Peter Jackson filmed the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit films. My wife and I stayed in the Charlton Suite which was modernly smart and spacious. We really enjoyed our dessert snacks when we came back from our long days of exploration. I recommend this accommodation; Sarah and Ian are a husband and wife team that are gifted in the school of hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
2.5 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
3.1 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimeret Place
Kimeret Place
#3 of 3 in Bronte
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
Show Prices

Been to Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Address: 118 Bronte Road East | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range: $194 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholwood Luxury Counrty Accommodation is a unique five star luxury retreat, offering you serenity in comfort and style with two B&B suites and a self-contained apartment, all with their own balconies and views over the Waimea estuary,at the entrance to the grounds is the self-contained Gatehouse cottage. Set in 2.2 Acres of park-like grounds with native trees and hidden pathways that border the estuary, and ideally situated between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing