We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in some wonderful places in NZ but this was right at the top for quality of accommodation, views, superb hosts and wonderful area to explore. Nothing was too much trouble for Sarah and Ian who were the consummate hosts, very relaxed and professional. This was a great all round experience in truly luxurious surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
219
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The gatehouse at Atholwood is set away from the main buildings and whilst not having the views that the other units have, does have a small garden area and other attributes that make up for this.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious and the cakes each day were very welcome and delicious. (The chocolate brownies especially!) Breakfast provisions for a "cooked" breakfast were plentiful with real milk as opposed to long life or mini cartons with ground coffee as a bonus.

We were two couples and the 2nd bedroom is upstairs using an outside staircase which could be difficult in bad weather. Do bring some insect repellent though if you want to use the Internet at dusk/night as there is only access outside the main buildings, not in the gatehouse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have spent 3 nights at Atholwood, and from the moment we arrived to moment we left, we received the very best of Kiwi hospitality from our hosts Ian & Sarah.

They have purposed built luxury accommodation at a beautiful location on the shore side at Bronte Point, which is a great location for exploring the Abel Tasman Park or Nelson. This place does not disappoint!

On arrival we found fresh baked cakes in the room, and a very friendly welcome. Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts gave great advice on trips and restuarants, helping with bookings to make our stay even better.

You can be assured of a wonderful at this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The most relaxing and beautiful tranquil setting - amazing apartment with views to die for!! Facilities are top notch with everything you could ask for including a stunning pool and spa overlooking paradise! This is such a unique spot and a definite must do experience. Hosts Sarah and Ian make this experience truly amazing by going the extra mile with their top service and Sarah is an incredible baker/cook!! Thank you both so much for an experience ill never forget and I cant wait to stay again! x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joskiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hanningfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and wished we had stayed longer. The room was fantastic (Charlton Suite) with views over the Wiamea Intlet and the mountains. The finish and fixtures were immaculate and the owners treated us like friends. We had fresh cake in the room to greet us! The location is quite remote but the neary town of Mapua has two great restaurants.
This was without doubt a magical place to stay at and worth every penny we spent.

Room Tip: Book the Charlton Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevBinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A jewel in the Mapua region: Luxury accomodation on a high quality level with an unbeatable view over the bay and a very friendly service. Sarah and Ian gave us many recommendations for restaurants and leisure activities. We stayed in the first week of February, 2013, and enjoyed the sunrise directly from our bed!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed with Sarah & Ian in January 2013 and we had an amazing experience. Its distance from the city centre (20-30 mins approx) makes it a relaxing and private spot were you can enjoy their hospitality, enjoy the birds, be closer to the Abel Tasman park and enjoy the local wineries, among other advantages.
They pay a special attention to details, and are always ready to help you, guide you, recommend places to visit and help you out to their sweet delicacies and hearty and home-made breakfast! Leaving your shoes outside is allowed and encouraged, and the house is immaculate!
It's definitely the place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy a lovely stay!
Thank you Sarah & Ian!!!

Room Tip: The Charlton Suite is in the corner of the main building and it has a clear view of the estuary that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
10.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
10.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
2.3 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
16.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Property: Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Address: 118 Bronte Road East | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholwood Luxury Counrty Accommodation is a unique five star luxury retreat, offering you serenity in comfort and style with two B&B suites and a self-contained apartment, all with their own balconies and views over the Waimea estuary,at the entrance to the grounds is the self-contained Gatehouse cottage. Set in 2.2 Acres of park-like grounds with native trees and hidden pathways that border the estuary, and ideally situated between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing