We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have spent 3 nights at Atholwood, and from the moment we arrived to moment we left, we received the very best of Kiwi hospitality from our hosts Ian & Sarah.

They have purposed built luxury accommodation at a beautiful location on the shore side at Bronte Point, which is a great location for exploring the Abel Tasman Park or Nelson. This place does not disappoint!

On arrival we found fresh baked cakes in the room, and a very friendly welcome. Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts gave great advice on trips and restuarants, helping with bookings to make our stay even better.

You can be assured of a wonderful at this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 276 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

The most relaxing and beautiful tranquil setting - amazing apartment with views to die for!! Facilities are top notch with everything you could ask for including a stunning pool and spa overlooking paradise! This is such a unique spot and a definite must do experience. Hosts Sarah and Ian make this experience truly amazing by going the extra mile with their top service and Sarah is an incredible baker/cook!! Thank you both so much for an experience ill never forget and I cant wait to stay again! x

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joskiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and wished we had stayed longer. The room was fantastic (Charlton Suite) with views over the Wiamea Intlet and the mountains. The finish and fixtures were immaculate and the owners treated us like friends. We had fresh cake in the room to greet us! The location is quite remote but the neary town of Mapua has two great restaurants.
This was without doubt a magical place to stay at and worth every penny we spent.

Room Tip: Book the Charlton Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevBinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A jewel in the Mapua region: Luxury accomodation on a high quality level with an unbeatable view over the bay and a very friendly service. Sarah and Ian gave us many recommendations for restaurants and leisure activities. We stayed in the first week of February, 2013, and enjoyed the sunrise directly from our bed!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed with Sarah & Ian in January 2013 and we had an amazing experience. Its distance from the city centre (20-30 mins approx) makes it a relaxing and private spot were you can enjoy their hospitality, enjoy the birds, be closer to the Abel Tasman park and enjoy the local wineries, among other advantages.
They pay a special attention to details, and are always ready to help you, guide you, recommend places to visit and help you out to their sweet delicacies and hearty and home-made breakfast! Leaving your shoes outside is allowed and encouraged, and the house is immaculate!
It's definitely the place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy a lovely stay!
Thank you Sarah & Ian!!!

Room Tip: The Charlton Suite is in the corner of the main building and it has a clear view of the estuary that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights here during our stay in New Zealand, but wish it could have been longer.It really is a luxurious B&B, we had a very comfortable room with great attention to detail and many nice extras and an amazing view. Sarah and Ian were great hosts providing delicious breakfasts and kindly booking restaraunts and the boat trip they recommended was a fantastic day out.
Our stay here was definitely one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_C953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

During our stay on both the North and South Island we stayed in some excellent accommodation, but this one really was very special. Our apartment was spacious,immaculately clean, well maintained and with great views. The attention to detail was particularly noted, and we would have liked to have stayed longer.
Ian and Sarah were first class hosts, and were very helpful in assisting with our excursions and questions.
I can only give this accommodation my very highest recommendation.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Cowdrey Apartment which is seperated from the main house and offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
2.5 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
3.1 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimeret Place
Kimeret Place
#2 of 3 in Bronte
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
0.4 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
6.8 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 24 in Motueka
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Address: 118 Bronte Road East | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range: $194 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholwood Luxury Counrty Accommodation is a unique five star luxury retreat, offering you serenity in comfort and style with two B&B suites and a self-contained apartment, all with their own balconies and views over the Waimea estuary,at the entrance to the grounds is the self-contained Gatehouse cottage. Set in 2.2 Acres of park-like grounds with native trees and hidden pathways that border the estuary, and ideally situated between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing