We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Parkside Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
$91
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
$60
$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$78
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$80
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
285
12
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
12
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowdrey suitenew zealandsouth islandabel tasmanthe main housegreat hostscakemade us feelhot tubstunning viewsfull kitchenfirst classswimming poolspent nights hereour honeymoonbeautiful gardenexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 300 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great place to stay on the South Island. Off the beaten path but actually half way between Nelson and Abel Tasman and smack dab in the middle of wine country. Sarah and Ian couldn't have been more helpful and their property was gorgeous. Hugh room, fabulous view and always a treat waiting when we came back in the afternoon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Out of all the places we stayed whilst on our recent trip to NZ this was definately our favourite. The location and quality of accommodation couldn't be faulted. Hosts Ian & Sarah are very friendly and helpful and great company at breakfast. Would recommend you try it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our first nights in South Island, ... and what a way to start our holiday! We stayed in the self-contained cottage which was lovely, and then were invited down to the house for breakfast on our last day so we sampled both aspects of the property and really enjoyed that. Sarah was very helpful in planning our two days in the area, and, with very different weather in prospect, ensured that we made the most of our time. The accomodatiom was immaculate and the decor was beautiful, with stunning views across the estuary. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, she went out of her way to make sure that we were happy, and she succeeded! The weather was not too warm and so we never had the chance to use the pool or hot tub, but both were beautifully presented. In all, a charming, luxurious property with excellent host and hostess, and we fully recommend it to all.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jnsge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stated in the self catering gate-house which Sarah and Ian had just re-furbished. Great accommodation and the welcome pack was much appreciated. The accommodation certainly felt like home. Sarah gave us good advise on local restaurants and the trip to Abel Tasman she recommended should not be missed. If you want to stay in the area and want quiet and secluded accommodation this is one place you should not miss to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Thank goodness for our travel agent. We may not have found this spot on our own. Lovely quiet location, fabulous views and Sarah and Ian are great hosts. Sarah is an excellent cook and they were so helpful with booking trips and advising on places to eat. If we do go back to NZ we would be very happy to visit again, definitely one of the highlights of our month there. The standard of the accommodation and hospitality were great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews