We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive stay at Jenkinson's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenkinsons Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Longridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is one of those once in a lifetime finds (unless you keep going and you will). So glad I found Jenkinson's on Trip Advisor and followed the positive comments. We were greeted by Elsie the host and she treated us as a favourite aunt would greet you. Elsie has lived at the farm for 60 years and loves it. She takes the time to explain how the property has developed over the years and she is a wonderful story teller (so delightful the way she can laugh at herself). We were treated to a gorgeous tea tray with home make cakes by the fire on arrival. The part of the house which is available to guests is quite extensive and the breakfast room is delightful. TV is not in the bedrooms but the guest lounge is very inviting The house really has to be seen to be appreciated. Our room was right at the top of the stairs and our bathroom was directly opposite. Our bed was a 'half tester/poster' in beautiful wood with the most wonderful quality linen and joy of joys an electric blanket. The mattress was firm and to our liking and we had a very good nights sleep. The bedroom has the most beautiful polished wood furniture and was pleasantly warm. There is a tea tray in the bedroom with fresh milk. The bath was lovely for a nice soak and the water was good and hot. Breakfast was a joy with a cooked breakfast using farm products and my partner particularly liked the thick cut of bacon. Just a mention that there is no Wi-Fi at the house and although we usually only choose accommodation where Wi-Fi is available we are happy we stayed at Jenkinson's.
We hope that Elsie and her family are able to continue offering B & B for many years to come so that others get to experience what we enjoyed. Bless you Elsie.

Room Tip: To save others having a difficult time in finding Jenkinson's go left at the Thorn Road sign off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denyse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

Quality all the way. Very old farmhouse, inglenook fireplace, beams, etc. Great care taken with furnishings. Very warm welcome with tea and cakes - much appreciated after a long journey. Lovely surroundings. Excellent food. Extremely comfortable. Proprietor Mrs Ibisonvery accommodating. Woke up to the sound of silence except for the occasional bleat of a lamb and the tweeting of birds!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying with Mrs Ibison whilst studying at the nearby Alston Hall. The welcome you receive as soon as you walk through the door of the beautiful farmhouse building is unbelievably friendly and welcoming.
As if the idyllic surroundings aren't enough to make you forget about the big bad world, Mrs Ibison treats you like favourite family and provides an excellent service including a very nice tea tray and an absolutely gorgeous breakfast. All this using homemade baking and locally sourced products which just adds to the excellence!
I have already booked to go back to Jenkinsons in October and I would recommend it highly. It is ideally placed for M6 travellers, people seeking a base to explore Lancashire or just a getaway from it all kinda holiday.
Thanks Mrs Ibison!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spotless with excellent views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tingworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The farmhouse and gardens are beautifully kept, the rooms are immaculate and even though they are not all ensuite dont let this deter you as the ornate private bathrooms are right across the landing. The lady who owns the b&b is so warm and friendly, it feels like you are staying with family. Afternoon tea is served when you arrive which is such a lovely touch and enhances the general warmth of welcome. Breakfast is very good and the the breakfast room is such an interesting place to sit. I would not hesitate in recommending this b&b and feel its a great find for future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainem75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed overnight here on our way to a wedding. As soon as we drove up to the property, I fell in love with it! Mrs Ibison greeted us with a wam welcome and afternoon tea in the guest lounge. She makes running a B&B completely effortless and she clearly loves what she does and takes great care her home and those visiting. The house was spotless and a wonderful place. I instantly felt at home and did not want to leave the next morning! We had a twin room which was very large and the beds were very comfortable. The view from our window was superb. We had a cooked breakfast before heading on our way. We will certainly be back to visit one day. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

This farmhouse B+B is a delightfully warm and comfortable home, featuring all antique furniture and fresh-baked afternoon tea daily.
Immaculate gardens and peaceful surroundings. Wildlife at the front door.
This place is a true secret that should be shared amongst friends!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_BAussiesinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Pot luck led us to this beautifully restored stone farmhouse run by a most welcoming and helpful host, Mrs Ibison. The house is tucked away amid a peaceful landscape, complete with own sheep and a pretty garden. Inside it's packed full of lovingly polished wooden furniture and antique collectables, including the old fashioned but very comfortable bedrooms and a cosy inglenook lounge. Bathrooms are not ensuite but there are plenty of them (2 with baths). The only downside is the size of the delicious breakfasts you're likely to eat, plus home made cake to welcome you back from your day. Mrs I is great at helping you plan nearby visits e.g. villages such as Chipping and the Trough of Bowland. A real treat if you love traditional values and old fashioned charm. We'd be back at the drop of a hat if we're ever in Lancashire again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jenkinsons Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenkinsons Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: | Alston, Longridge PR3 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Longridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longridge
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing