We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avli

Avli
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a Family run restaurant it had a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere the food was lovely went with friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynsjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    44
    19
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hmm... mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had two meals at this restaurant, which has a wonderful location with a lovely outside terrace. All the family are very friendly and the service is really good. However we had 2 very different experiences, hence the average review.

First time the Moussaka and the home made meatballs were really good, lovely meal with great Tzatziki, olives and bread as well. Wonderful meal, and a nice little ouzo and brandy to round the night off.

Second time I had to return my Kalimari for being so badly overcooked it was truly awful, however what was odd was the explanation that this is how most tourist have it.... Really, why would you want rubbery, chewy inedible squid. Anyway it was replaced with some great Squid cooked to perfection. I also had Chicken Souvlaki as my main meal and it wasn't great. Chicken was lovely and soft but the only flavor it had was that of salt. So over seasoned making it not a nice meal.

So difficult to know what to make of this place, it is set in a lovely location, with great staff but rating it on the food alone I can only say it was average given the mixed experience/

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jut35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Worth a visit.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and the food served was lovely. One of the better restaurants.
I would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avli - boomerang we keep coming back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Home prepared and cooked food (as most tavernas in the area) Lovely ambiance. and friendly staff. This is a return visit for us this year. Last year I had a quite word with Mr "Avli" - (I must find out his name) as my partner's birthday was due and I wanted a particular table for that night. Returning on the Birthday night we found the table beautifully decorated with flowers from his garden. We never know what to choose and go for the daily special.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SlothSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is ok, but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a fun evening here. Lovely staff, but the food wasn't anything special. The meat in the souvlakia was tough.

Guy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guypettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli also viewed

 

Been to Avli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing