We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view from patio, food disappointing”
Review of Salt Rock Grill - CLOSED

Salt Rock Grill
Cuisines: American, Japanese, Caribbean, Seafood, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice view from patio, food disappointing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch, after reading the previous reviews and sadly I agree with 'waltercook'.
Drinks and food order was taken and arrived in good time but food definately not the same standard as last year we visited, i ordered exactly the same thing and firstly presentation left something to be desired and the tuna was only rare in the centre the outside was tough dry and overdone. My partner did enjoy his burger and chips although said it didnt compare to the ones he had at 'Mickeys' on Elbow beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOBSON09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"service?"”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I know things can move slow .... but this was painful. It was polite and friendly when it finally arrived ..... but don't go if you're in a rush or watching the clock. Sushi was ok, BUT very expensive for the quality we received. Drinks were good and would have ordered another but just did not have the time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Only okay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found this restaurant walking since it was close-by to our apartment rental. The service was slow (even for island standards, we felt... it was not busy, either), and our waiter did not write down our orders which resulted in completely different food being served to us. We ate it anyway and it was only okay. The Dark and Stormy's were good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DHalps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Used to be my favourite spot for dinner”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Salt Rock Grill used to be my favourite place to eat dinner or hang out with friends on the patio when I used to live in Bermuda. I was dissapointed in my return visit as it appears that their standards have slipped as far as the food is concerned - not as tasty and a feeling of not caring about the quality. After seeing other diners' sushi plates I decided to skip that, as it didn't really look as good as sushi at the more established spots in town.

The bar area and live music is still fun, and the view from the patio is still spectacular, so there is still lots to recommend for the casual visitor. Prices are still reasonable (for Bermuda).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalterCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stopped here for lunch - really nice fish sandwich and burger with a couple of beers Usual Bermuda prices and menu but the view is exceptional sat outside on the terrace. We will certainly visit again next holiday

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Rock Grill also viewed

Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
 
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing