We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
773
471
123
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
471
123
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view indoor pool praia d'el rey marriott breakfast buffet is lisbon airport great beach rooms are spacious atlantic coast minute drive lobby bar hire car surrounding area royal obidos fantastic location local restaurants well worth a visit medieval village
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2016

I knew we, family of 4 traveling in England and then Portugal, would need a little down-time by this time in our trip and this was the absolute PERFECT place to do that. The hotel was hidden, beautiful and just fabulous! The personnel were truly exceptional and I must add as the main traveler in the family that this was likely the best customer service that I have ever received in my 20+ years of travel. I am a firm believer in Marriott and its trusted facilities however now I'm a big believer in this hotel. I am not sure when we will be able to do a world trip like this again but if I can make it back to Portugal again, I WILL stay here again.

Room tip: IF you can, get a room on the Atlantic side facing the ocean. Sunset and views are incredible!
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLowe-ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear JulianaLowe,

There is no bigger compliment than a guest who returns or is planning to return. We were therefore extremely happy that you enjoyed everything so much that you will return again! We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to Praia D´El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Hotel management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

We found the resort satisfactory in every way. Very expansive beach and golf resort development, set in beach front sand dunes with all 5* amenities. Got upgraded to a beautiful sea view room with a large balcony. We truly enjoyed our walk on the wide beach in front of the hotel -- plenty of space to enjoy nature. The resort was about 20 minutes from Obidos, making it an ideal base for us to visit to the historic sites in the areas (we had a car).

We really liked the buffet dinner -- tremendous array of high quality food and varieties of main dishes. Actually, we enjoyed the buffet dinner as much as some of the better restaurants we dined during our Iberian trip, including the Michelin 1* restaurants.

The price was unbelievable inexpensive as we made a mid-week booking very early - 156 EUR for room plus breakfast / dinner for two. We would have to pay $ 500 to $600 USD or more for the same 5* quality resort in the USA.

This resort is a great example of how inexpensive Portugal is as a holiday destination.

Room tip: Ocean view
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maturetraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear maturetraveler9,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the several activities available at our hotel and resort.
We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and we will pass your message to our Chef!
We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to Praia D´El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards,
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed here overnight to break up the drive from Porto to the algarve. We would have definitely stayed longer. The property is beautiful and secluded - we felt very relaxed going to the pool or walking on the beach. We loved the free breakfast, and the food at the clubhouse was delicious, and open before 7 when the other restaurants usually are. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had a king room and a double room - the beds were a little more comfortable in the double room. We loved visiting Obidos nearby, it was a 20 minute drive but staying at the resort was much easier in terms of parking and getting in and out of the hotel than if we had stayed in town. I would return to this property in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank steez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear Steez,

We are happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the resort, the hotel and the Óbidos village.
Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to Praia D´El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

the resort has a perfect location , right on top of the cliffs offering amazing views.
rooms are very spacious and well appointed .ours had a terrace which I higly recommend
staff is very professional and friendly.
great breakfast

Room tip: rooms with terrace
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Duty Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Dear Ritauc,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about our location, views, rooms and friendly service.
Our chef uses fresh local products for our breakfast buffet and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.
We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!
We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to Praia D´El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards,
Bianca Santos Cunha
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Undoubtedly a luxurious hotel which is well furnished with spacious rooms and friendly attentive staff. Breakfast was fine with a large selection of cereal, fruit, cold cuts and the ubiquitous bacon and egg. Omelettes were also available, cooked to order.
Dinner in the main restaurant was buffet style and offered a reasonable choice but would become rather repetitive if dining here every night. There is also a smaller a la carte dining room offering more imaginative dishes.
The complex of hotel, villas and golf course is quite remote requiring a 30 min taxi ride to get to nearby towns which offer a wider choice of restaurants.
The large swimming pool was uncrowded during our visit and the huge deserted beach is at the bottom of the garden.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tyrone321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Duty Manager at Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear Tyrone321,

We are happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with our rich and varied breakfast, location ans staff.

Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to Praia D´El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Bianca Santos Cunha
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews