We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family Location”

Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for family Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a fabulous place for a young family to stay. Big swimming pool, farm yard animals and pony rides available. We camped with 3 families for 4 nights - all had a lovely time. Only comment i could make is toilets and showers could do with a daily scrub as seem a bit grubby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 8Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a great family holiday park we stayed in a 3bedroom cabin to the side of the pool area it was clean tidy and comfortable for our 2day stay. Our kids throughly enjoyed patting the guinea pigs and all the other animals around the park. The staff are very helpful and pleasant too. Highly recommend this to any family after a nice break away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawinia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just got back from a very enjoyable stay at the Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park. We camped adjacent to the swimming pool, which was a handy spot and close to the kitchen/laundry/lounge/toilets and showers. We had a walk around the park and would have been just as pleased with a pitch up the other end. In fact, if you wanted shade the other end is probably a better spot. There is plenty for young children to keep themselves amused such as a playground, soccer pitch, volleyball net, ping pong room and animals to pat (we came across two horses, a Boston Terrier dog (roamed happily around the park and very friendly), cat and rabbits). Mini golf was a work in progress so this wasn't possible during our visit. The pool was pretty good, with a nice shade above the shallower end. When we were there the poolside looked a little untidy but didn't spoil our enjoyment. The water could have been a little clearer.
The owners seemed friendly and easy going. The campsite has wifi and we were kindly given this free of charge as someone had previously purchased too many cards. The park is very well laid out and has a very pleasant feel to it and quite peaceful. There was little noise from the adjacent road.
The shower I had was just about adequate. The water pressure was not what you would call powerful but it was plenty hot enough. The solar powered showers are free of charge.
We would be very happy to stay here again. Next time we'd like to try one of the units.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingkiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in here for one night on our down the line to spend the holidays with family. What a lovely hidden treasure. We booked a motel room and a cabin. The motel room was excellent, apart from an ant problem, which I'm sure we contributed to. The grounds and facilities are superb. The pool very refreshing. Also the ponies in the end paddock are a friendly addition. The kids loved the rabbit hutch and would have slept in it if allowed!. Thanks for a wonderful stop over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a great three day stay here early in the year in a cabin with three adults and two children. The children were thrilled to be sleeping in the top bunks as the beds had rails on with no threat of the children falling out (restless sleepers). Very friendly park and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Great facilities and lots for the children to do, they loved the swimming pool and the playground (also the ponies). We had originally booked a camping site in January but cancelled because the weather was appalling at that time. I later booked the cabin and was only charged the difference between the camp site and the cabin (nothing deducted for the earlier cancellation although I had already paid). Can't wait to stay there again. Audrey

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maketu
11.0 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pacific Park Christian Holiday Camp
17.0 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Warwick Hills Rural Retreat
24.8 mi away
Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park

Property: Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park
Address: 195 Arawa Ave, Maketu, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Maketu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Maketu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maketu Hilltop Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing