We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Kiwi 360

Kiwi 360
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.69*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Sightseeing Tour Including Tauranga and Mt...
More Info
$116.75*
and up
Rotorua Full Day Tour Including Maori Culture Geysers Mudpools and Mt Maunganui
More Info
$657.17*
and up
Private Shore Excursion Rotorua Geothermals Pohutu Geyser and Mudpools
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Te Puke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kiwi360 is in the very heart of Te Puke - 'Goodness Grows Here' region,(just 40 mins from Rotorua along SH33 toward Tauranga),where nearly all of NZ's kiwifruit is grown. Visit Kiwi360 to take a kiwikart tour of our commercial kiwfruit orchard where the expert guide will explain the unique climatic and soil conditions which enable the 2500 orchardists in the Te Puke area to produce the highest quality, highest volume per ha, of kiwifruit in the world. During the tour visitors will also see 60 or 70 different varieties of fruit and nut trees also growing on the property. After the tour visit the best retail gift and souvenir shop in the Bay of Plenty in the main complex and enjoy gourmet food and refreshments in the courtyard garden cafe,Kiwi is the world's healthiest fruit and complimentary tastings along with kiwi wine, juices and liquers are always available.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found the tour interesting. Kids liked the kiwi fruit shaped carriages. Going through the area with all the different fruit trees was great & we got the obligatory photo beside the giant kiwi. We stopped in the kiwi fruit area & it was great to see how much fruit there was. Our guide had lots of info to share. When the tour arrived back at the shop there was wine, juice & fruit to sample. The tour isn't something I'd go out of my way to do but nonetheless it was interesting & the kids enjoyed it.

Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks Blueysmrs for your thoughts.I hope the guide did explain the fact that there are 2500 other kiwi orchards, in addition to our commercial orchard at Kiwi360, in the te Puke area.
This results in 100 million trays of kiwi ( or 3 billion individual kiwifruit ) being exported to 60 countries around the worls each year! I also hope the kids had some kiwi juice and a kiwi ice cream too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 158 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you have never seen kiwis on the vine, it's deffinately worth a visit. Very informative guide and gave us a good understanding of the whole industry. Kids will enjoy the ride. The sating could have been better though as they ran out of Golden Kiwi samples

Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your notes. It is an interesting story especially the gold kiwi challenges. At this time of the year the kiwi have just been picked and the supply is very limited until the fruit packing season gets into full swing. That should be the case this week.i hope you able to taste taste the kiwi juice and the kiwi wines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On our recent visit to Tauranga to watch rugby, my husband and I thought it would be nice to visit Kiwi360 for lunch the next day with some family who live in Te Puke. The last time we visited Kiwi360 was about 12 years ago and it was great, but this time round we were so disappointed.

We waited an hour to go on the tour - the driver was very knowledgeable but the tour missed the packhouse which we really wanted to see, the actually train thing was dirty with moss growing on the roof of each seating area, the same with the giant Kiwi the tour stopped at. The childrens play area was totally run down, with the water area green, yuk! The play area is advertised in the brochure, if we had taken children with us, they would have been totally disappointed. The cafe felt 'dirty' with flys on the water jugs, and ants on the counter. The 'bee' area was dirty, dust and spider webs every where and dead bees all over the ground. The outdoor bird house had no birds and ripped netting. Some general maintenance would have made this place so much nicer.

I wonder what our international tourists think when they visit? Are they as disppointed with one of our internationally recognised tourist attraction as we were? We will not be stopping in again.

Thank Kerrianne_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you Kerrianne_Hamilton for your detailed comments.
A few explanatory comments - the lichen spots on the outside, on top of the roof of each kart, have been removed. - we have checked the big model kiwi in the grounds for the same small growths - the playground area which has been closed for quite some time, is due to be bulldozed to provide room for a new farm experience. - the manuka honey static display where the glass sided beehive is located does faciltate observation of bee mortality.- there is no bird aviary. - the property owners ( landlord ) have agreed to undertake a complete building maintnenance upgrade which we hope will be completed during winter.
Thanks again for your observations, I trust you enjoyed the great game of rugby and the Chiefs win!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is expensive - basically just a shop selling everything kiwi fruit. We paid $20 each for a tour of the kiwi farm - turned out to be a 15 minute ride in a golf-cart like vehicle - what a waste of money. Everything in the shop is very expensive and the attitude of the people in the shop is a disgrace - its basically just a tourist trip. I would not recommend it.

Thank Newcastletraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Hi Newcastletraveller56, thank you for taking the time to comment. We respect your observations especially from one so well travelled.
The staff, including myself, remember your visit, (from your profile photo) and I regret not catching you before you departed, after our head guide alerted me to your probable disatisfaction.
I have spoken to shop staff on duty that day, and whilst complaints about their demeanor and service have been non existent until yours, I did review their recall of your visit. Although I am unable to find any specific fault, your comments have served as a reminder to all of us to be on top of our game 100%.
The tour normally takes 35 - 40 mins and usually, where there are only a small number of passengers, ( in your case just the two of you, the 13 seater electric people-carrier is used in preference to 48 seater, three kart, Kiwikarts.
Thanks again for your comments they have been helpful in checking our service levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great gift shop. The kiwi itself was a little smaller than I thought it would be... these kind of attractions aren't my thing but it was a beautiful day and although the helicopter ride was tempting we just stopped in and looked around. Staff were friendly. You can miss climbing the stairs inside - could have been amazing if the view was a little more exciting.

1  Thank StackIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi 360 also viewed

Te Puke, Bay of Plenty Region
Te Puke, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Kiwi 360? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing