We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Amazing”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Vila Magnolia

Villa Magnólia South Facade and Swimming Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Magnólia South Facade and Swimming Pool Area
Villa Magnolia  Beautiful Contemporary Architecture Villa Magnólia Fantastic Private Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Villa Magnólia South Facade and Swimming Pool Area
Villa Magnolia  Beautiful Contemporary Architecture
Villa Magnólia Fantastic Private Pool
Pool View from Upstairs Terrace
Pool Area
Pool Area Detail
Villa Magnólia has a Unique Interior  Design
Upstairs Dining Area
Upstairs Living Room
Downstairs Living Room
Entertainment Provided by Pool Table, Table Football, DVD and Book Library, etc..
Downstairs Dining Area
Decoration Detail
Master Bedroom of dreams
Doble bed bedroom
Twin Bed Bedroom
Another Twin Bed Bedroom
One of the Two Kitchens
Bathroom
Bathroom Detail
Another Bathroom
The Nearest Beach
Another Foto of the Beach
The area is a dream for golfers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Patroves, Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Windyj007
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large family holiday”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Magnolia – 15th – 22nd July 2017

As a family we have been holidaying in Villas (mostly all of them being in Portugal) for the last 15 years. This year we rented Villa Magnolia on the above dates and from the pictures on the website and from the comments/reviews we were expecting something pretty special as this villa had the WOW factor …………. The reality was something a little different.
The actual building is very impressive, but the fittings and furniture do not meet the standard of this impressive looking villa.

On arrival at the villa we were met by the owner and given a tour of the facilities, but this was the first time we have not been left a small Welcome Pack i.e. bottle of water, loaf of bread, butter – this is always much appreciated after a long journey to get you settled in before you can do your first shopping trip. In a couple of the bathrooms there wasn’t even any toilet paper! Below is a list of the other issues;

 No pillows in one of the bedrooms.
 In the master bedroom the toilet seat was broken in the bathroom.
 No shower curtain (or towels) in one of the bathrooms making it difficult to shower. The bathroom had also not been cleaned to a high standard resulting in a toenail clipping being found.
 No hot water in a couple of the bathrooms along with no water pressure. The water barely dribbled out of the shower in the bathroom on the top floor and if somebody in another bathroom turned on their shower this made it even worse virtually impossible to shower!
 No mirrors on the walls in some of the bedrooms making it difficult for some of the ladies in the party to get ready to go out on an evening.
 The sunbeds around the pool were old and tatty with broken arms. The tables and chairs were also very tatty, old and sun damaged. There were also only 11 sunbeds when we arrived despite the owners knowing we were a party of 13.
 Bedroom furniture in some of the rooms (in terms of dressing table, bedside tables etc.) was cheap and basic. In one bedroom the ‘dressing table’ was an old children’s white desk with an old office style chair.
 No umbrellas in the pool area.
 The fridge leaked water.
 The knobs on the cooker were broken making it impossible to switch it on.
 Only one of the saucepans worked on the hob as it was an Induction hob.
 The BBQ was absolutely filthy as a result we did not use it for fear of catching something nasty!!

On a positive note some of the above issues (the ones we thought could be easily resolved) were reported to the owner and in fairness he did his best to put them right quickly.

All in all in we had a lovely time at the Villa but the attention to detail was sadly lacking.
In our opinion this villa is probably let to large groups (Stag/hen parties) more often than to large family groups. This is a lovely villa but it could be made so much better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
How to respond to a review like this, containing the emotions of injustice, discomfort, disappointment, and total surprise. I am sure that no matter how hard i try to explain that what is said here it is not true, or it is distorted and exaggerated, there will be always a doubt. Many people will always get a bad impression of a villa that is absolutely fantastic. The only thing I ask is that please before you get a bad idea about Villa Magnolia, read the other reviews and only then make a judgment about this review, and about Villa Magnólia.
How can i say that some of the things said in the review are lies without being rude? How can i prove it? How can I convey that little things are transmitted in a distorted and exaggerated way formulating a picture so negative that it does not correspond at all to reality? How can i do this with my limitations on the English language?
Those are the facts:
1-First of all, there was a wow factor at the arrival, as there always is. I made the check-in and there was a big wow!
2- The furniture can be can be appreciated through the photographs published on the website.
3- That`s a fact we do not provide a welcome pack, and we never said we do.
4- There was a toilet paper rol in each bathrooms.
5- There was 32 pillows at Villa Magnólia at the check-in. Sunday, the day after the arrival, we received a text message asking for more pillows and supply 5 more pillows. On the checkout there was 37 pillows at the villa, some of on them on the wardrobes, not used.
6- The reservation was made for 12 people but in fact arrived 13 people at the villa, without we had been informed. For that reason there was 12 sets of towels (1 face towel, 1 bath towel and 1 pool towel per person) and we supplied another set of towels Sunday, when we were asked
7- The toilet seat of the master bathroom was not broken, it as loose and was screwed by me Sunday when we were given notice of it.
8- One shower curtain was removed by the cleaning staff for not being in good condition and was replaced Sunday.
9- We make the cleaning of the villa a point of honor, and the cleaning standard of Villa Magnólia is the higher. However, i would be lying if i said that was impossible that a fingernail has not been found in a bathroom, though this has never happened in any of our villas. I just think it's strange that this has not been reported to us, if we did, we would have had the bathroom cleaned again. I wonder when the nail was found? Would not it be possible that it belongs to one of the 13 people who were in the villa?
10- We were not aware of any problem with the water pressure. That was not reported to us.
11- Villa Magnólia has 7 bedrooms and 7 bathrooms. All the bathrooms have big mirrors and almost all rooms have mirrors. We accept the suggestion of putting mirrors in all bedrooms.
12- The cleaning staff found out that one botton of one of the two ovens existing on the villa was broken. I reported this to the guests at the check-in Saturday, and show them how the oven could work in those conditions. Monday i brougt 2 new bottons and replaiced both of them because I thought the other might break too.
13- Villa Magnólia has 2 kitchen, one on the upper floor and one in the lower floor. The upper floor has 2 hobs: 1 gás and 1 induction. The lower floor has one induction hob. All together there are 6 saucepans in differente sizes, 4 suitable for indution and 2 for gas.
14- There was 12 sunbeds in the villa and one of them had a arm broken. Villa Magnólia has now 16 sunbeds.
15- The guests say that the BBQ was not cleaned. If that is true, and i repeat if it was true,wich i do not believe, why was it not passed on to us? We would have had the BBQ cleaned again.
16- In the end the guest said: ´´ On a positive note some of the above issues (the ones we thought could be easily resolved) were reported to the owner and in fairness he did his best to put them right quickly.``.
This is what we do, if anything is wrong we put it right the quickly possible, We have a plumber, a electrician, a carpenter and air conditioning technician ready to intervene whenever necessary, because we care about the well-being and comfort of our guests. This, our service and the undeniable quality of the Villa, makes the majority of our guests come back to Villa Magnolia.
Thanks
Paulo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethanyta...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

15 of us stayed in the villa for a hen do and we couldn't of asked for more. Paulo and Cristina took us to a supermarket when we arrived as we arrived late which was very thoughtful of them. The villa was spotless, fantastic destination and absolutely beautiful. Paulo and Cristina were so helpful and thoughtful throughout which made our stay even more pleasant. They arranged our transport to and from the airport and also arranged a chef to come in and cook us a meal one of the nights which was fantastic. Thanks again to Paulo and Cristina for a perfect stay we would love to return again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom62...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent villa ”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled with 10 adults and 5 children under 8 . The villa was stunning, private and spacious . The villa was well equipped with everything you needed for a cooked meal to an outside BBQ area . The outside area was perfect with a great size pool (we got it heated ) and all the facilities that you needed to relax . The ground floor is where we spent most of our time which was perfect for keeping ourselves entertained with a large dining area , pool table and games room . The villa was A short drive to the beautiful old town and beach . We Couldn't fault the service provided by Cristina /Antono santos they were fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri O
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
“Vila Magnolia DOES NOT disappoint!”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled to Portugal from the United States with 9 adults and 6 children under the age of 5. Vila Magnolia was perfect for our family vacation. It had everything we needed. Three of the children were under 1 year old and Cristina was able to accomodate us with cribs and high chairs. The ground floor is where we spent most of our time, enjoying the pool and the outside area. Cristina was so helpful in the planning of the visit as well as when we got there if we had any questions. We explored different beaches that were just a short drive away. The Vila was close by to fresh seafood and groceries. Cristina even arranged for a local photographer to meet us at the Vila for a family picture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_mgrace_c...
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property was just fantastic for our family and friends. The house is beautiful and very spacious. The owners were fantastic and very attentive with us! We had a cook they recommended and she was amazingly wonderful and the food prepared was typical Portuguese delicious meals. Our children had an incredible time at the residence and exploring the Algarve!
Thank you and warmest regards,
Maria and Gary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners were very attentive and helpful
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ockle
Glasgow Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wonderful Vila in quiet location 10 minutes by car into old town Albuferia. We loved the huge size and space for 16 of us it was perfect. Kitchen was well equipped BBQ area good too. We ate out or by the pool, never once ate inside the Vila. Pool fabulous for us all and very pretty lighting at night. Would recommend car hire for shopping and golf or beach trips. Gorgeous area to explore. Old town lively at night we drove the car into town and walked back to collect next day (40 minute walk) owners lovely and very helpful. Would recommend and hope to return sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine280...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Had a fabulous holiday. The Villa is lovely, very clean well equipped. The owners very easy to work with. Would certainly recommend this villa to anyone. We also hired cars but taxis are reasonable. A lovely family holiday was had by all. Would most certainly love to return to the Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing