We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and beers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Compton Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Compton Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Compton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed here for one night on a voucher deal. Somewhat sceptical about these deals and whether the choice of food would be from the whole menu. But we weren't disappointed - we could order what we liked from a wide-ranging menu and were made aware of a small supplement for the more expensive dishes such as steak. The food was slow in arriving but I prefer this - the chef was obviously cooking to order and took great care over the food. Excellent quality and good size portions - really shouldn't have forced down the dessert! Breakfast was also cooked excellently. Service friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Even brought a complimentary large jug of water without asking for it when many restaurants would try and sell you bottled water. Room was a bit small but clean and modern. Comfy beds and nice and quiet. Would stay again, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
40
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at the Compton Swan with my husband on an overnight DBB offer - having already experienced the fantastic restaurant recently we were keen to return and make sure it was all as good as we remembered. I am happy to report that it was just as good as the first time, with the added benefit of not having to continue our drive after the wonderful food and wine. The room was warm and comfortable, decor subtly elegant, quality fittings and soft furnishings, with little touches that show real attention to detail and which lift this charming establishment out of the ordinary pub bracket - the AA 4 stars are well deserved. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order and unhurried. We left feeling relaxed and pleasantly full, and determined to return as soon as we could find another reason to travel that way - just wish we lived closer and could call it our local.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at the Compton Swan for one night. The bedrooms and bathroom were tastefully furnished and the bed was very comfortable.
The dinner was excellent, only surpassed by the wonderful full English breakfast the following morning. The staff, who were mostly young, were very friendly and helpful, in fact nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We visited the Swan on a voucher deal which made it excellent value - however even at their full tariff it would compare well with other places.

The room was large and spacious and clean.

The dinner was very good. Breakfast was excellent.

The service was slightly amateurish in style (largely young people serving) but charming, unintrusive and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

The stars we have awarded are solely for the food which as in the reviews was good for both dinner & breakfast.

However, the B&B badly lets itself down with its accommodation. As soon as you arrive at the Compton you feel you are very much entering a pub and that no consideration is given for Hotel Guests, I will explain this by our experience. As wife was suffering from a slight cold & with daytime temperatures around 8C we rang ahead before we left home and asked if they could ensure the heating was on in the room. Needless to say when we arrived the radiators were stone cold, not only that but after two requests for the heating to be turned on still nothing was turned on and the bar staff said it took time for the heating to warm up. However on not hearing any water coming through the pipes then I knew they had not turned it on and managed to collar a waiter on the stairs who finally got the heating turned on 2 hours after we had arrived. This warmth did not last long as I presume from the time they just put a 1 hour setting on. Again the morning, after sleeping in a jumper, I had to personally call the pub on my mobile to ask for the heating to be switched on. With morning temperatures of around 1-2C no one thought to start the heating for the ‘guests’. In terms of hygiene also, the Compton was also sadly lacking. Before use, we found hair on the loo seat and in the bath, cobwebs around the shower head and spiders in the bathroom blind. Along with the sight of exposed tiling on the bath, this very much was sub standard even for a place offering cheap package deals. Also to compound the cold of the next morning, there was no hot or even warm water in the overhead shower. Elsewhere in the room, I would not encourage the room tea as the water from the taps is cloudy and the kettle upon opening and seeing the state of the inside looked like it had never been de-scaled.

Also remember you are staying in a pub first and foremost so its not a place for light sleepers, there was noise from downstairs till well after 3am.

In terms of good points about the pub, then its food is good as was the service of the waiter. He was new and I hope his enthusiasm rubs off on the moody bar staff who offered little service to us. Again the standard of the breakfast food was also good. One thing to note is that on a package deal like ours is that alot of dishes such as all the fish starters/mains are charged as a supplement to HB rate. Also if wine is in your package there is no flexibility to change to another drink even if cheaper. For a place that is supposed to be highly rated this seemed petty.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningGuest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Only stayed for one night but would have stayed for more if we had time!!

Excellent food, great rooms, and very modern and comfortable bar....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob9616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We had a lovely meal here (didn't stop in the rooms). The starters were excellent and we were both looking forward to the main course. This was a little disappointing and didn't quite live up to the standard of the first course. Quantitty and quality were good but just lacked the wow factor. Wine was excellent and well priced. The desserts looked excellent - we couldn't manage one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton
4.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 2 in East Ilsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crown & Horns Inn
Crown & Horns Inn
#2 of 2 in East Ilsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Miller of Mansfield
The Miller of Mansfield
#1 of 4 in Goring-on Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton Swan

Property: Compton Swan
Address: High Street, Compton RG20 6NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Compton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Compton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Compton Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Compton Swan, set in the idyllic West Berkshire countryside, offers a welcoming and relaxed environment in which to spend quality time with family and friends. With our Michelin guide award winning team, we offer a wonderful menu ranging from wonderful organic steaks all the way through to vegan dishes. At the bar you can find a fantastic range of beers, including a specially brewed house bitter, alongside a great range of wines to suit every palate, never mind the cocktails. We have 6 luxury rooms available, all en-suite with breakfast included to suit all dietary requirements. Fantastic walks and log fires await you. Simply irresistible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Compton Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton Swan Hotel Compton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing