We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be...”
Review of Compton Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compton Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Compton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be...”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This pub is now being run by new management.

The Swan re-opened at the beginning of march, after the old management left suddenly. The lease holders have refurbished the bar (still refurbishing it by the looks of it), but it hasn’t worked.

The layout of the pub has changed, and has been divided up by lots of new walls - this leads to the place feeling either claustrophobic - or completely empty. It kind of ruins the atmosphere as well as the pub can be quite busy, yet everyone is sitting in there own little corner behind a wall - as if on their own. Why they decided it needed changing in the first place is a little odd.

The TV is on all the time in the bar area showing some random channel or the news, which is quite distracting...I even saw a horror movie or clip showing at one point, not good considering the pub was full of children too.

Most of the original staff have gone - including the chef. I haven’t eaten there - so can't comment on the quality of the food – the kitchen didn’t seem that busy though. The menu looks OK, but edging back towards your traditional pub grub...fine if you like that sort of thing.

The managers seem quite rude, and don’t really talk to anyone but the staff whilst there wandering through the pub with their dogs. The bar service is quite slow, often there is no one behind the bar to serve you.

The bar prices are higher than all the other pubs in the local area. The choice of beers is good though, including West Berkshire breweries Good Old Boy which was surprise to see on in a Green King pub – however they didn't have IPA on which is odd for a Greene king pub ??

The mountain of used blue hand towels in the corner if the toilets needs attention.... before it wanders off...

All in all a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
40
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed for a week recently as our house was full of builders. Really comfortable and attractive room which was very good value. Jean Marc's food is excellent and Penn makes sure the front of house works well. Really friendly and relaxing place to visit, you must try it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandHardtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed here on at least 3 occasions now. Really homely, friendly staff and an excellent chef. Real care and attention to detail, breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincs-Lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed at Compton Swan last weekend; myself and husband had the Chardonnay room and our friends had Cabernet. We ended up here after spending hours looking for the perfect get away in the Chilterns for a quick 24 escape from London.

It was one of those rare occasions where the place actually delivered more than was promised by their website. For example there is an enormous and beautiful garden at the back - perfect for a well earned pint after walking. There are easy walks from the pub car park and I think it would be a good location for more serious walking along The Ridgeway too.

The owners have clearly thought about all that is naff when you stay in a hotel/B&B and tried to eradicate this. The first thing that impressed me was the friendliness of all staff. The second was a jug of chilled milk for our room; no nasty UHT cups of tea here! Proper mugs to drink from too (and in the restaurant for breakfast the next morning).

We ate in the restaurant too. They were able to offers us cocktails beforehand-really nice touch for an English pub and I felt thoroughly spoiled. The starters and main courses which we tried were top drawer. I didn't feel the puddings were to quite the same standard or there was as much choice (but I am a puddingaholic). Our waitress was knowledgeable about both our food options and also our wine list (which was very pleasantly surprising in terms of price).

The bedrooms and bathroom facilities were good, with lots of thought about all you might need. It was a bit noisy as it is directly on the high street and we had windows open due to the unseasonably hot October. The water tank also seemed to be just above our room, again a bit noisy (but it has to be somewhere!).

Breakfast was good and all freshly made to order. No problem in accommodating variations from the set options. No hurry to move us on either. We met the Frenchman responsible for all the good food; tres bon!

Wish the new (3 years) owners the very best. If you are looking for the easy weekend away from London, walking stop on the Chilterns or just somewhere to eat and drink if you live locally, I would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Chardonnay and Cabernet on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReferenceMaterial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice pub with very nicely appointed rooms. However, dinner and breakfast service was not as good as would be expected with newly appointed staff clearly not fully trained.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is such a little gem! I've stayed here twice now and eaten and drank here on numerous occasions, it is such a delight!!! The staff are a joy to talk to and the food is out of this world!!! A must stay if you're in the area!!! Child friendly and very accommodating! A must!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sthomson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Visited for the first time a couple of weeks ago with friends. Impressive decor - lovely family feel - best of all, the interesting lunchtime menu. We didn't have much time to spend there but as we have friends in the area, we will certainly be back. I gather that the rooms are good as well - and I remember seeing this pub closed down a few years back so it's great to see it up and running and the hub of the village - deservedly so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentgirl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton
14.8 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
372 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
609 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,708 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in East Garston
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 2 in East Ilsley
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton Swan

Property: Compton Swan
Address: High Street, Compton RG20 6NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Compton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Compton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Compton Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Compton Swan, set in the idyllic West Berkshire countryside, offers a welcoming and relaxed environment in which to spend quality time with family and friends. With our Michelin guide award winning team, we offer a wonderful menu ranging from wonderful organic steaks all the way through to vegan dishes. At the bar you can find a fantastic range of beers, including a specially brewed house bitter, alongside a great range of wines to suit every palate, never mind the cocktails. We have 6 luxury rooms available, all en-suite with breakfast included to suit all dietary requirements. Fantastic walks and log fires await you. Simply irresistible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Compton Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton Swan Hotel Compton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing