We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Church, very spiritual” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shrine of Our Lady of Madhu

Shrine of Our Lady of Madhu
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Mannar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church, very spiritual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

There are many stories surrounding Madhu church, but its generally easy to find and a nice place to visit. There's a cafeteria as well with some good food. A lot of people camp around the church, so we decided not to explore the rest rooms. BUt a definite must see if you're in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HanimA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PEACE - IMPORTANCE-PRAYER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

It is the same inner peace you receive when you go to The Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes. People from all walks of life, religions come to pay homage to Our Lady of Madhu. Our family members and all who were at the Shrine were engaged in prayer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANKSILVAGMGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Lady of Madu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's a very peaceful place and visited by many Christians and others as well. Lot of history and place to worship our Lady of Madu. You need to visit this church at least once

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janaka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A place of Religious Interest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lot of Catholics come here to visit and is a pilgrimage to them and three persons who accompanies me had very special reason to visit Madhu and certain reasons to Pray for. It holds the Statue of Our Lady of Madhu and considered very powerful by Catholics. We brought holy water and rosaries etc from there. You observe a lot of devotees visiting the place to make offerings for vows made or for special prayers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhanishka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batticaloa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The center of Sri Lankan Roman Catholicism”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you are Roman Catholic, this is the center of it all in Sri Lanka. If you're not particularly interested in religion, then it's a nice place to visit, but.

The shrine itself is pretty enough, very well maintained (the Church is the largest landowner in the District, and one of the richest organizations on the island) and important as a critical battlefield site during the civil war.

The raison d'etre is a small statue of the Virgin Mary, high atop the altar. The statue itself has a long and storied history in Sri Lanka, and so is famous. In-and-of-itself, it isn't much to look at, but then appearance is not what makes it importance.

If you are Roman Catholic, or have a particular interest in Sri Lankan history and culture, you must visit the site. The casual tourist might be interested in stopping at Madhu for a half hour or so if passing through, but I wouldn't make it a goal. It all depends on your motivation for going.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastwokitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of Our Lady of Madhu also viewed

Mannar, Northern Province
Mannar, Northern Province
 
Mannar, Northern Province
Mannar, Northern Province
 

Been to Shrine of Our Lady of Madhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing