We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great scenery”
Review of Waterfalls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfalls Lodge
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great view from cabins of the lake. Cute beach with climbing toys, great for kids and adults. Beds were super comfortable. Cabins spacious and super clean. Lots of rooms for kids to play in the front in the grass and trees. A wedding was there when we where there, and they really went out of their way to make it nice for them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hedazatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at many fishing camps in Northern Ontario. If the purpose of your visit is to catch fish then Waterfalls fulfills that purpose. In one afternoon the four of us caught a dozen fish within a few miles of the Lodge. We then cooked and ate them with in our adequately equipped kitchen.

The lodge is easy to get to. The interconnected lakes are sheltered. You feel you are a long way from civilization. There is little boat traffic.

The cabins are basic e.g. no television, no phone. limited WiFi. The shower was just adequate. The bed was adequate. We were in cabins 5 and 6 and had a beautiful views up the lake. The cabins were bright with lots of picture windows.

The boats were sixteen feet, aluminum, with fresh water wells, fish finders and reliable 20 horsepower motors. They had comfortable swivel seats and were big enough and fast enough for this lake. You docked them adjacent to your cabin which was convenient.

We ate most of our meals in the lodge. The service was fast and the portions were large. The lunches they packed for us to take when we were out fishing were good. They bent over backwards to meet your food preferences. It was typical North American fare.

Yes, I have stayed in nicer cabins and had better food. Some of them were hard to get to - you had to get to them by boat. However I never caught as many fish as quickly as we did at Waterfalls. It was a pleasant memorable experience. I would probably go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

8-26-13

Dear Rob,
Just wanted to write and let you know just how much we enjoyed our stay at Water Falls Lodge. The entire grounds were well maintained and nicely trimmed. All of the flowers were well managed and cared for. All of your buildings were also kept up nice and neat, giving the entire lodge a professional welcome, inviting guest for their stay at Water Falls Lodge. The fish cleaning station was always clean and we visited it sometimes twice a day. We only ate at the main lodge once but the food and service were great. Heck they even had a few good jokes to tell. All of your staff were friendly and dressed in uniforms, which made it easy to ID them at a glance, and were eager to help up if needed. We used your guide service to help us eliminate water and locate fish faster. Al did a good job guiding and we caught many nice fish from his suggested locations. The ATV trip was a ball and wish we would have done it twice that week. The trails were cleared and manageable for even a novice rider. The boats on the outback lakes were clean, dry, and ran well. The fish were eager to hit surface lures all day and if we missed one, a tube would usually pick them up. We caught fish every time out on the lodge lakes. Most of the fish we caught were nice smallies in the 2 to upper 3 lb. range with our largest at 3.8 lbs. Most of our fish came on poppers. Due to the very warm conditions and sunny skies, most of the fish hit early mornings and late in the day, giving us time for a late breakfast and a nap after we cleaned the morning fish. It just so happened that there was a full moon. It looked so nice reflecting off the water like glowing diamonds on our way in after the evening fish. The pike were plentiful with many small ones. The walleye were deep (40 to 60 ft.) due to high temps during the day. All of the smallies we caught had full bellies of crayfish, but mostly minnows. All in all we had a great trip and hope to return next season to give Al a hard time, catch more smallies and maybe a walleye, help reduce to amount of beer that Canada has, and take time to relax. It is not that fishing is so important; it’s just that there are so many other things in life less important. And who knows, maybe I’ll catch a mermaid one day. Your sooo right Rob when you say “Come as a Guest and Leave as a Friend”. Take care, God Bless, and keep your lines tight.

Your new friend,


Rick Pontius, CIC, CGIP

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We can't say enough about Waterfalls Lodge. The accommodations, the staff, the service, the scenery, the trails were above and beyond our expectations. Everything was prefect. The owners Rob and Cathy are so nice and personable, their saying "you come as a guest but you leave as a friend" is so true. We could have stayed another week. We will definitely be back next year. Thanks Rob and Cathy and all your staff for making our vacation the best.
The McGoldricks and Rankines

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaghue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the time we arrived the hospitality was evident and they made us feel right at home. Our cabin/cottage was spotless and the view was unbelievable. We were at the foot of the lake and the trees surrounding made it completely private as if we were the only ones in the resort. Our nightly meals were delicious with a lot of variety and they really catered to my children and made it so easy to dine out and the best part ( not having to worry about the cleanup) Cathy and Rob were very gracious, kind and really made us feel like we were home away from home. The little beach area is maintained nicely and there is enough to do with the children to keep them occupied as long as they enjoy the outdoors. We enjoyed our boat each day trying to catch fish or just taking in the 7 lakes surrounding us, breath taking. We will definitely return and coming from the hospitality sector myself, my hat goes off to both Cathy and Rob for a job well done.
Danny, Laura, Matteo and Luke

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCI_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Waterfalls Lodge. My wife and I couldn't get over the great hospitality. ALL of the staff were great and when the heat went up off the charts Rob was there, asking how we were making out in the extreme heat.
When our boat broke down a couple lakes back on a cool rainy day, I spent 4 hours in the bushes at the side of the lake. I was the only one who had gone fishing in bad weather. The first guests who happened by, towed me back to the Lodge where Kim went to work diagnosing the problem. He couldn't fix it because the fuel pump had broken, but using the lodge's name, he got us priority service in a shop in Espanola. Rob and his staff took over and got my boat onto the trailer in spite of a stiff breeze for the trip into town, and we were back on the water the next day.
I caught plenty of bass and pike and even a few walleye although I don't seek walleye. They all went back to grow some more for next year.
The food was great and the camaraderie amongst the staff and guests in the dining room was wonderful. We made new friends, both amongst the staff and the guests.
It's only ten minutes down a decent dirt road to the town of Spanish. There, we found a branch of the Bank of Nova Scotia. Money was easily obtained there. There is a great convenience store with a gas pump, a liquor store and a well stocked grocery store all handy to each other and a full service Esso gas station down a little further.
We've cottaged all over the province for many years and never found the "perfect" situation until this year. We "arrived as guests and left as friends".
Thank you Rob and Cathy for a memorable vacation. We're looking forward to staying with you
again next summer.
Eric Judd
London, Ontario.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great week stayed in cabin 5 the only bad thing I can say is they need to fix the windows only two would open and when it is in the 90's it got HOT with no breeze. Other then that we really have nothing negative to say. The staff was great. Stephanie in the store went out of her way to help us when we needed to see a doctor after husband was bit by something. We did the housekeeping package only thing with that was I forgot kitchen towels but a bath towel worked they maybe could leave a few garbage bags for cabins I did remember to pack a few. Fishing was good not great but good heat probably did not help the lakes felt like bath water.boats were really nice easy to use. We missed the shore lunch they have did to want to stop we were catching fish !. We ate up at the dining room our last night and they over feed you the T bone dinner was HUGE more then one person could eat off of it. Cooked just right. And the ladies in the bar were a lot of fun we did go there a few nights!
Over all we will come back. We want to say thank you Kathy and Rob for a great experience and making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crisco1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish
10.6 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
35 reviews
24.0 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
37 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Lake Wolsey Cabins
Lake Wolsey Cabins
#2 of 3 in Gore Bay
13 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dunlop Lake Lodge
Dunlop Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Elliot Lake
43 reviews
24.9 mi away
Lakeview Resort
Lakeview Resort
#3 of 6 in Kagawong
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfalls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfalls Lodge

Address: 432 Waterfalls Road, Spanish, Ontario P0P 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Spanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Spanish
Price Range: $134 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfalls Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Food + superb accommodations + spectacular scenery + super hospitality + fabulous fishing = A GREAT VACATION. Trophy Smallmouth Bass. Selected as one of North America’s top 12 Walleye hotspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfalls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfalls Lodge Ontario/Spanish, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing