We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”
Review of Ocean Inn Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northcote
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Greeted with a very untidy man and not the friendliest, stove top disgusting and scum around it, unit not clean at all, how do you expect your units to be clean when you require your guests to clean your kitchens? never heard of this before 4 star qualmark what a joke!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The good:
Clean,
Convenient location, and
Good quality toilet paper (which is rare in motels!!)

The bad:
A bit crowded in the main room (queen bed fills floor space, chairs against kitchen counter don't leave much room),
Left to make the kids bed myself (separate room had bunks and a single bed, we made reservation for 2 kids ... only the single bed had been made), and
The queen bed was much toooo hard. We love a firm bed. Ours at home is firm. But this one was ridiculously hard. Neither of us slept well and were sore the next day. We even put the extra comforter from the spare bunk bed on the mattress as a bit of padding, but it was too thin.

I did mention this when checking out but was told all the beds in the complex were the same (we were in room 11) and most people either say it was the best nights sleep ever or the mattress was too soft! I have a very hard time believing that. I am not small, in fact over 100kgs but when sitting on the edge of the bed, it did NOT dip at all! It wasn't far off like sleeping on the floor. And the pillows were equally uncomfortable.

I was also told these were industry standard mattresses ... maybe, but I have slept in many beds at many motels and motels throughout NZ and have never slept on anything so hard, ever.

So, if you enjoy sleeping on a super firm/hard mattress, this place is for you! Unfortunately, despite it's cleanliness and convenient location, we will not book here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usakiwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is a fairly basic motel but the rooms were clean and tidy, and quite spacious - we had a seperate bedroom. It had a fridge and microwave and the host was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Don't trust this place website! What you see in the photos it's NOT what you will find!we had booked a room for 6 people and from their website you would believe it was a 2bedrooms unit....when we got there we found a queen bed,a single bed,bunks and a cot all cramped together...and the kitchen facilities being a microwave and a kettle and a toaster.
We asked for an extra room but they were fully booked.
Could be all right for a budget getway in Auckland as it is reasonably priced (even though 3 of us ended up going somewhere else...so do your maths)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Good beds, aging rooms, tv's and bathrooms... Some paint peeling from walls but if you need basic at a decent rate you cannot go wrong... Certainly wouldn't want to pay more than nz100 a night

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kershnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northcote
0.0 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anzac Court Motel
Anzac Court Motel
#2 of 7 in Takapuna
128 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn Motel

Property: Ocean Inn Motel
Address: 27 Oceanview Road, Northcote, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Northcote
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Inn Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Inn Motel North Island/Auckland - Northcote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing