We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at Great Ocean Walk retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Wonderful stay at Great Ocean Walk retreat - beautiful farms and landscape; clean and spacious rooms; contemporay accommodation; friendly host "Angie and Bruce"; and convenient location near to all attractions.

And don't forget to watch the Shepherd demonstration in the morning...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here as two couples as we were after a base from which to do the Great Ocean Walk. We chose this property as it was ideally situated mid way along the walk and for this purpose we couldn't have done better. We stayed in the Riverview apartment which was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. There is a large room combining lounge, dining and kitchen which is well furnished and perfect for lazy evenings and self catering if that is your wish. There are two large bedrooms with king beds and their own bathrooms as well as an upstairs loft with two single beds. Just outside there is a laundry which is shared with the other apartments as well as your own outdoor dining area. Despite the unseasonably cold weather during our stay the place was very cosy being very well insulated and the gas heater keeping as very toasty at night. The views from both inside and out are gorgeous taking in the surrounding farm land. Although the property is just metres from the Great Ocean Road itself it is lovely and quiet with vitually no traffic noise at all.
We were met on arrival by Bruce who is most friendly and and very helpful with anything that you might need. He also dropped by during our stay just to make sure that we were happy and had no complaints which we didn't.
Location wise there is a gorgeous beach only a short walk away and Lavers Hill is about 14km's up the road for a very good pub meal (don't be put off by the look of the place) as well as basic supplies. The nearest supermarkets are at Appollo Bay which is about 30 mins away and is has numerous other shops and services as well as a surprisingly large number of places to eat.
Just be aware that this property is on a lonely but beautiful stretch of the Great Ocean Rd and because of the terrain there is no mobile reception at the accommidation itself nor is there any internet connection. You can head up the hill a bit for phone reception and if you really can't live without the internet for a week every eating place in Apollo Bay seems to have free wifi.
We came here in order to do the Great Ocean Walk which we did over five days and highly recommend it. The property is perfect for that purpose but it's also a great base from which to explore the many attractions that this wonderful area has to offer or jus as a retreat from which to hide away from the rest of the world for a few days and chill out.
Oh, and by the way Bruce, if you should read this we accidentally packed one of your face washers and brought it back to Sydney with us.......it should be arriving back there in the post anyday now!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tetley9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent a whole week at the Great Ocean Walk Retreat and loved every minute! It was the perfect base for doing the whole walk as it is right in the middle. With Castle Cove a short stroll away, it is the perfect end point for one day of walking, and start for the next. The apartments are beautiful with everything you might need. Comfortable beds, hot showers, sensational kitchen and the washing machine was a godsend! The whole place was toasty warm despite inclement weather and the polished concrete was wonderful under aching feet! It was the ideal place to relax and unwind after each day of walking. Our host Bruce was so helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. We plan to return with a large group and rent out all 3 apartments and my husband is now keen for a romantic getaway.....what better place! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Talk to the manager when you book, the apartment configurations are flexible so they can accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great Ocean Walk Retreat offers the best of everything. Fantastic well appointed luxury accommodation positioned to take in all that the Otways bushland has to offer, idyllic country vistas with the spectacular rugged coastline enticing you to get out and enjoy.

We stayed three fantastic nights on our second visit. It was perfect for us. After a day of walking the Great Ocean Walk we had the most comfortable place to return to where we could sit out and take in the peacefulness of the countryside with a nice chilled wine.

For those of you who want a spacious quiet and relaxing place to chill out in style, then this is the place for you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed on both apartments. They are all excellent and well appointed with wonderful views. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNandPSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed two wonderful nights in the Riverview Apartment and will definitely be back. The apartment is very well designed and appointed, extremely comfortable and the location is a perfect base from which to experience again the amazing beauty of the Otways. The beaches are spectacular, Castle Cove is a short walk and Johanna, surely one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, is only a short drive or bike ride, if you like a decent hill or two. Our lives and the lives of our children were enriched by several holidays in Glenaire more than twenty years ago. The Great Ocean Walk Retreat has added an exciting new dimension to holidaying in the area. What made it extra special was to spend some time with the wonderful hosts Angie and Bruce.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We enjoyed our four nights in the Riverview apartment which was our base whilst we walked several western sectors of the Great Ocean Walk. The apartment was very comfortable, warm and cosy despite the gale force winds and driving rain outside on several nights. A great place for groups with clever design allowing a variety of combinations of bedrooms and bathrooms. There is a well equipped kitchen and great views from the large picture windows overlooking a lush green river valley. Definitely recommended for anyone looking to stay in this area.

Room Tip: The upstairs bedroom in the Riverview apartment has fantastic views and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 3 lovely nights at Great Ocean Walk Retreat in Riverside Apartment and we cannot wait to return for another holiday!!
The apartment was so well equipped and the big King bed was just so lovely and comfortable!
The hosts Angie and Bruce were just so lovely and friendly and the Manager Sharon was so helpful in planning our break away!!

The views out the lounge window of the cows grazing in the paddocks below were just amazing, as was the short walk to the breathtaking Castle Cove beach!

We cannot wait for our next trip down to the Otway Ranges.

We highly recommend the Ridge Cafe for Sunday breakfast! Wow so delicious!

Room Tip: Riverside Apartment is lovely for couples with so much space to relax!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenaire
12.9 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#4 of 12 in Apollo Bay
626 reviews
14.8 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 33 in Apollo Bay
270 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Johanna Cottages
Blue Johanna Cottages
#6 of 7 in Johanna
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenaire Cottages
Glenaire Cottages
#1 of 2 in Glenaire
71 reviews
12.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
318 reviews
9.9 mi away
Southern Anchorage Retreat
Southern Anchorage Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wattle Hill
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ocean Walk Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ocean Walk Retreat

Address: 3227 Great Ocean Rd | Castle Cove beach, Glenaire, Victoria 3238, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Glenaire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Glenaire
Price Range: $145 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ocean Walk Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Ocean Walk Retreat is situated on a 200 acre stunningly beautiful sheep and beef farm, rich in natural history. Only a short walk to the Great Ocean Walk and Castle Cove, the Retreat offers three spacious and well-appointed eco-friendly apartments nestled in the Aire Valley and surrounded by lush farmland and rolling green hills. Architecturally designed, the apartments, known as ‘ Valley View’,’ Riverside’ and ‘Walker’s Lodge’ offer accommodation for singles, couples and families. The entire complex can be booked to comfortably accommodate larger groups of up to 13 people if required. The spacious living areas offer entertainment systems with plasma TV, DVD and sound systems. Any discerning cook or chef would be very satisfied with the well-designed and fully equipped kitchens. The luxurious bedrooms feature king, queen and single beds. All linen is supplied. The Great Ocean Walk Retreat incorporates modern, eco-friendly energy- saving principles. They include natural cross flow ventilation, a waffle floor slab to maximise insulation, north facing living areas and double glazed windows to harness the sun’s energy. There is gas heating and instant gas hot water as well as the use of rainwater, resulting in maximum use of natural resources and minimal use of electricity. All assist in reducing environmental impact and contribute to a more sustainable future for everyone. Relax in the sunshine and take in the views of the Aire Valley with grazing cows in nearby paddocks. Take a short stroll to the surf beach at Castle Cove, well known for its rock and surf fishing. For those wanting a longer walk, follow Sand Rd, adjacent to the Retreat and continue to the estuary at the Aire River Camping Ground. If you need guidance in planning your activities during your stay, your hosts have many years of local knowledge to assist you in getting the most out of your vacation in such a unique part of the Otway Ranges. The Great Ocean Walk Retreat is short drive to the Cape Otway Lighthouse (25 mins); Apollo Bay (30 mins); Otway Fly (25 mins); Lavers Hill (10 mins); Johanna Beach (10 mins); 12 Apostles (40 mins); Melba Gully Rainforest/Glowworm Walk (15 mins); Triplet Falls (25 mins). The Retreat has easy access to the Great Ocean Walk Sectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Great Ocean Walk Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ocean Walk Retreat Glenaire, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing