We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenaire Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenaire Cottages
Boronia, Australia
1 review
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

So me and the wife decided to go here for our anniversary. Good choice!!! Ended up arriving at dark and when I woke up the next morning, WOW the view was amazing! We took the opportunity to tour around and see the sites which this is a great place to begin from. House amenities is very much suitable with a great spa and coonara fireplace. Was very satisified as I wasnt looking for 5 star hotel feel, but rather a home away from home. We got it here!

Bo and Neil were very friendly so happy to accomodate. Provided us with a food trail guide which was a great day out and all in all I cannot wait to come back again. Perhaps next time I will walk around the grounds more and have a BBQ. It was cold and rainy so chilling in front of the fire was the best.

Some tips to make the house better:
1. Umm......to be honest I got none!

When I left to return house, I stupidly left some clothing behind to which it was collected, cleaned and mailed back by Bo. Thank you so much for everything! Like Arnold says...."I'll be back!"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewc3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil and Bo M, Owner at Glenaire Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind response. We love it when our guests enjoy our beautiful property as much as we do.
Asta la vista!! as Arnie also says.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loved this place, we traveled as a group of four with two little dogs and stayed in the forest cottage. So spacious with cute furnishings and a massive fireplace perfect for roasting marshmellows and potatoes for a midnight snack. The property is huge with beautiful views and the entire experience felt like we were camping in luxury. It is not a 5*luxury hotel quality however, having said that the experience and set up of this place is completely different and it is the type of place you would go if you wanted a home away from home and a great place to take your doggies for a hike out in nature. For a dog-friendly place, it is more than perfect and so clean. It is very hard to find accommodation around Victoria that is dog friendly and not old and dirty. This place is definitely one of the best dog friendly places around Victoria!

Neil was extremely friendly and more than willing to help. There were a few hiccups with the water tank and empty match boxes (which means we couldnt start a fire) but Neil was very apologetic and came to our cottage straight away to fix the problem. Wouldn't even really call it a problem!

The hiking track was heaps of fun if you are up for a little hike and we had the pleasure of meeting some of the gorgeous pet sheep at the bottom of the hill! Our dog was only a puppy when we went so it was extremely handy to have a fenced area especially for your pets.

The only thing I would suggest is to have more kitchen amenities like cooking oil, salt, pepper etc as sometimes you forget to bring these things but other than that it was a well stocked kitchen!

Loved this property, it was a perfect place to just laze around and relax after a few months of hard work, it was a shame we didn't get to stay longer as it just felt like a tease, we would definitely return for a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: Forest cottage is perfect for a group of 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil and Bo M, Owner at Glenaire Cottages, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks Janice for your lovely review. Clearly you enjoyed it for what it is meant to be. And be advised that fresh virgin olive oil, black peppercorns and a brass Turkish pepper grinder are sitting conveniently above the microwave oven. Look forward to seeing you again. Neil & Bo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

What can I say but amazing cottages and amazing hospitality from Bo & Neil. I come from a hospitality background myself and Glenaire Cottages impressed me. It is a magic place to unwind & relax. The cottage has everything you need including tea & coffee. The property is magic with the most amazing view.

The cottage is well presented and clean. The spa on the balcony is wonderful and at night the stars blanket the sky. Bo even bought some tea light candles which was a lovely touch to make the evenings perfect.

Thunder our dog enjoyed his stay and the accommodation was perfect for him, with a great fenced off area with views to dye for.

I highly recommend this property and wish that we had many more like it in Victoria

Thank you Bo & Neil - money well spent

Room Tip: This place is fantastic - lake cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed in Cove Cottage for 2 nights. All rooms were good sizes, was clean, and kitchen equipped with all the usual utensils, as well as tea bags, coffee and cooking oil. The view was amazing out over the tree tops and countryside which you could enjoy from the lounge or from the spa on the veranda. The Spa (a jet bath) was a nice touch, albeit a little small and I would have loved the veranda to get the afternoon sun.... No restaurants in walking distance - was a cafe nearby, but you can't walk those roads. Great restaurant in 10 minute drive away. Undercover gas BBQ available (although ours was infested with ants), and a fully enclosed space if you brought a dog along. Owner greeting very friendly and informative of area and things to do. Bed very firm and pillows hard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Staying in the Lake Cottage was amazing. The breathtaking views of the valleys and the Southern Ocean were amazing. The cottages were central to most of the attractions in the Otway Ranges. Sitting on the porch at sunset was magnifcent... PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

What an amazing view we had over the forest and out to sea. We spent a long weekend in the Forest cottage in September, and even though the weather was shocking (with hail on and off on the sat) we spent the most relaxing time in front of the wood fire. Our dogs were also most welcome, it is great to find somewhere that the dogs are made to feel as welcome as we were. The rosella's were beautiful with up to ten on the balcony at anytime.
The walks on the property were lovely, and a relax in the spa at the end of the day was perfect.
We will be looking forward to returning to the cottages and will be recommending to family & friend. Thanks Bo for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Just remember to take all you need with you and you'll have a wonderful relaxing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil and Bo M, Owner at Glenaire Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make your review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay & look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the Forest cottage for a week in September 2012 and had a brilliant time. The cottage was lovely, and had everything we could want for a relaxing break, with a fire place in the large lounge that had views across the forest and out over the ocean – perfect for spending a lazy day or to chill out after a day spent walking and exploring.

Neil and Bo were great hosts – advising on walks, places to visit and the best places for spotting roo’s and koalas.

We didn’t want to go home, and will go back with friends as we are sure that they will love the place too.

Two tips – take what you need and what you think you might need as it’s a bit of a drive to the nearest shops, and visit the Ridge café at beech forest for breakfast – the food and coffee were brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil and Bo M, Owner at Glenaire Cottages, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Simon,
Thanks for your comments. It is always a great pleasure to know people appreciate our efforts.
Best regards,
Neil & Bo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenaire
13.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
19.5 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
0.7 mi away
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
#2 of 2 in Glenaire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Boomerangs at Johanna
2.3 mi away
Johanna Seaside Cottages
12.6 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenaire Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenaire Cottages

Property: Glenaire Cottages
Address: 3440 Great Ocean Rd, Glenaire, Victoria 3238, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Glenaire
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Glenaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenaire Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by nature, Glenaire Cottages are designed to offer a restful sanctuary, superb views and a taste of relaxed country living in a breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful setting. In winter, sit in front of a crackling log fire and watch the wild storms roll in across the Southern Ocean. In summer sit on the balcony, sip a refreshing ale, watch the birds, take in the fresh air and bask in the immense beauty of it all. We offer a choice of four spa cottages. All have outstanding ocean views, log fires and your comfort and privacy in mind. We are pet friendly and provide firewood, fresh flowers, romantic candles, all linen and can cater to your whims by arrangement. Satellite television, DVD, stereo, a covered veranda, undercover parking, gas BBQ and pet friendly yards are all included. Guided tours, transport, catering and special treats can be provided by prior arrangement. You also have access to the Otway National Park and The Great Ocean Walk with exclusive access to our private farm and forest trails. Our aim is to see you relax and inspired by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glenaire Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenaire Cottages Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing