We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”
Review of Chennai Dosa - MOVED

Chennai Dosa
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having read reviews of this establishment before my visit, I was feeling diffident. Yes, I'm not from South India, but have visited Tamil Nadu and Sri Lanka, and eaten much Tamil food. Yes, the location is far from attractive - a unit in a shopping mall that has probably seen better days. Yes, the layout inside is like a cafe; but visitors should judge not by appearance, but by food.

We visited at lunchtime during the Xmas break. Tables were clean, service (from the manager and a waiter) prompt and attentive. Other customers appeared to be of Asian origin - which must be a good sign. We decided to stick to old favourites - for me vegetarian buffet (self-service, as much as you want); £5.99, plain rice, 8 bowls of biriani, lentils, various vegetable dishes of varying heat and taste, a dessert, chapatttis, poppadums, raita. For my friends, masala dosa, which arrived after a reasonable wait: £3.10, with a good potato filling, sambar and chutneys. We drank water, but there is a licence.

I can't fail Chennai Dosa for delivering what it sets out to do - good, wholesome food at an excellent price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saffronsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    12
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I'm sorry to say, you people whom have commented saying it is good food have never eaten out before. Probably THE WORST food I have ever tasted in my lifetime. The glasses were dirty and not even clean, the sundries arrived half an hour after the curry...which was evidently cold by then (what was the point in even ordering it?!), the atmosphere was like I was in a school canteen. The prices I guess you can't complain about but then again I can see why it would be so cheap, the quality of the food was AWFUL. The food was too salty and full of butter/oil, enough to give you a cardiac arrest there and then. Safe to say I won't EVER be eating there again and neither will my family...even if I was given the food for free I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole. Think that pretty much sums it up really...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayshree134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best value indian food in manchester”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall the food quality is excellent. I often buy the vegetarian buffet which has excellent sambar / rasam etc. A couple of times the vadas were soft (reheated) but 95% of the time they were freshly prepared. Some have criticized the masala dosa as not being super crispy (which is true) , but I think they still taste pretty good. The rava dosa definitely is crispy! The best meal is the breakfast on sat / sun from 10.30 to 12pm. It has all the traditional south indian breakfast dishes (including a sweet)and you can have a dosa or masala dosa or puri all thrown in the fixed price. I think is was £5 for breakfast and a total bargain; it fills you up till the evening! The equivalent restaurants in asian areas in London may be better, but for manchester, this is the best tasting / value south indian food in the area. Also very friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful food provided at a cheap price”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are a weekly customers for their buffet breakfast and what can i say,it has become like an addiction now.i travel 53 miles to have their superb food.keep up guys and wish they had a restaurant in Leeds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexkishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good south Indian food”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have just visited chennai dosa and tried the masala dosa which was very good and also the chicken vuruval was very tasty and hot.
I have been to many restaurants in south India and this chain offer a authentic dining experience of some south Indian cuisine.
I think the best time to go is mid week service was good and the food arrived quickly it is also very good value .
So give it a try if you want to try something different .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chennai Dosa also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing