We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of Groes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Groes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tyn-y-Groes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We were travelling to Holyhead for a ferry and ended up in Conwy, looking for a place to stay. We found the number of the Groes Inn on the satnav and gave them a call. The person on the other end of the phone was very welcoming and said that she would be able to accommodate us.

When we arrived, we were shown to a most beautiful room, with stunning views, an enormous bed and a fabulous and well-stocked bathroom.

We ate in the bar. Interesting and varied menu with daily specials on a blackboard, aimed at more discerning palates. Our food was very good: between us we had a seafood platter, grilled sardines and pork meatballs with pasta.

There was a good choice for breakfast also. The breakfast service was a little perfunctory and we had to go searching for a coffee refill (a pot of coffee on the table might have been a better idea) but the food was good.

The Groes Inn is not really a place to stay if you are travelling with small children, and it is quite pricey but we (the adults) would be interested in returning for a treat getaway weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    115
    68
    27
    6
See reviews for
58
321
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Have stayed here quite often and still love it....
As ever the problem with the Groes Inn is that although the staff are friendly and the fabulous rooms with the views up the mountains are superb, it all goes horribly wrong in the kitchens.....
Having said that have found bar food to be okay, but for a romantic dinner, you can do a lot better elsewhere.
Certainly if you stay here for more than one night, you will get totally fed up with the side vegetable offering which consists entirely of baton carrots and sugar snap peas.... nice now and then, but every night day in day out...no thanks ? It seems the chef needs to expand his ideas in this area.
The choice of dishes is not very enlightening with surprisingly little shellfish even though we are only a couple of miles from the sea. All the food is presented very simply. Basically, the food just does not come up to the standards of the beautiful surroundings.
Also, why oh why is there no breakfast buffet for cereals, yoghurts, juices etc...? There is plenty of room for it.
It is awful having to sit waiting for something to be served to eat when it could be provided there for you to help yourself so easily.
The hot breakfasts are fine, but the porrige is to be avoided.....best described as raw oats floating in hot milk.
We love the Groes Inn and would still come to stay there (and eat in the bar !) but hate to see so many negative reviews on Tripadvisor coming in recently.....
Please do something about the food style and service in the dining room and I am sure ratings will improve.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Stayed one night in a deluxe room which was excellent. Whole atmosphere is very good. Views are good. Restaurant not as good as expected. Noise from kitchen and many dishes were finished, even the black pudding. Service average. Rowen the nearby village is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I planned a friend's 60th at the Groes Inn and cannot praise them enough. In particular Carlos , Roberto and Kate who really made the table look lovely and looked after us so well. The food was generally good , especially the fish platter and the lamd shank . The sausages were good too i'm told! We didn't stay the night because 'said' friend lives in Conway but several friends did and all had a lovely time. Cooked breakfast was very good too. The rooms were large , clean and comfortable but a little pricey. Are only criticism was that menu was poor and some dishes overpriced for what they are. But rather a poor menu then poor food. We have had a bar meal before (that was good) but no other experience otherwise. We will be going again when we are in Conway next. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapgirlWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We booked a three night DB&B break, with the third night half-price, so effectively with free accommodation. Friendly welcome, spacious standard room with all facilities. £30 per head allowance for dinner, which we only just spent - good value, excellent food with lots of local ingredients, good real ale and wine list. Free wi-fi. Handy for both the hills and the coast. Just the ticket!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandKWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I don’t like writing negative reviews but we have just returned from a disappointing Saturday night at the Groes Inn and think the impressive website and accolades may mislead potential guests.
First the good! The Inn and its gardens are lovely; just like the photos. We got an upgrade to a four poster room with a sun drenched patio looking out over a beautiful view of open fields and hills.
Our room was comfortable, chintzy and a little tired at the edges. The bedrooms are actually in a separate building from the inn, almost feeling like a motel. Unfortunately we could hear the couple in the room above us when they got up at 6am and ran a bath and practised their clog dancing routines for the next three hours (that’s what it sounded like anyway).
The bar closes at 3pm; a real shame on a beautiful summer’s weekend, especially when we witnessed a group of potential guests being refused a drink at literally 2 minutes past the hour.
Unfortunately the bar and dining at the Groes was a big let down.
How did this place ever get the National Inn of the Year Award?
The actual bar didn’t seem that busy for a Saturday night, definitely more of a dining place (I wonder how many local regulars they have in there…) but there was a constant queue of frustrated guests waiting for a drink or to give their food order.
The staff informed us (on several occasions) that they were struggling with a newly installed computer system but even taking this into account, the service was pathetic. There was simply too few bar staff; those present seemed pleasant but stressed and inefficient. The atmosphere was anything but relaxing. They could employ just one glass collector and avoid the massive pile up of glasses on the bar at 10pm.
Feeling optimistic we ordered a bottle of champagne; it came in an ice bucket but wasn’t fully chilled. It soon became apparent that all was not well; plenty of long faces amongst the diners. Now I know why there are no guests in the website photos…
The dining room is lovely and we had a nice table in the conservatory. The food however was appalling. I don't think this was the computer system's fault...
We were offered a bread basket with one bread roll. Perhaps we were supposed to share. My starter was the Groes Smokie (a few pieces of smoked haddock and potato floating in an insipid sea of cream, no sign of the “crisp parmesan top”) and came in at a hefty £7.50. His smoked salmon (£7.75! How much?) arrived without lemon or the offer of fresh black pepper. My “special” Turbot steak was tasteless and watery. Our scant vegetables were undercooked and bland (microwaved?) . His shoulder of lamb was very tasty.
I left my meal half eaten (unheard of) and couldn’t stand the thought of an overpriced dessert. We adjourned to the bar and entertained ourselves people watching and wondering how a place like this could get it so wrong…
We weren’t the only ones despairing and perhaps we might have complained if we thought we might have got anywhere. There was no one obviously in charge and we were studiously ignored as we left the bar. We were living a real life episode of Ramsey’s “Kitchen Nightmares”!
Next morning the breakfast was fine. A nice fry up and the eggs were lovely.
On checkout we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay and told the receptionist quite frankly about our disappointing experience. She informed us that they had a new computer system which had caused problems (you don’t say), however we were the first to complain that morning…so that’s ok.
Regrettably the computer system managed to get our bill right.
The Groes Inn isn’t cheap…we suggest you try somewhere else. We won’t be going back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

This place is a wee cracker, overall a great inn, made up of wonderful friendly staff, great rooms, and very good food.
Bags of atmosphere and spotlessly clean. I was upgraded to a four poster which was a very pleasant surprise. Rooms well appointed and furnished, great showers, and bath products, and very comfortable beds. Two minor issues, no drawer space, and the wall paper could do with attention in various places. Food overall very good, comfortable Rosette standard. Sadly though their Menus run for a month, which seems to include the daily blackboard, which persuaded me to eat out one of the three nights.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,143 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,536 reviews
11.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
19.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Property: Groes Inn
Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing