We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulously dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Groes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Groes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tyn-y-Groes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulously dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked in here because the hotel and pub are dog friendly.
The staff were welcoming, and the rooms were nice. I have stayed twice - once in an ordinary double which was comfortable and clean, and once in a terrace room which was lovely. Both rooms had big beds, modern decor, great baths and showers, and nice touches like Molton Brown toiletries.
The pub doggy area inside has a slate floor, and a big fireplace. The food was good - I had seafood chowder twice and it was delicious.
The Welsh lager is good and breakfast is delicious and generous.
It's in a lovely spot just above Conwy.
I've stayed by myself (and the dog) and with my partner (and the dog).

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms with a balcony / terrace are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    107
    66
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
313
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The best assest this place has are the staff, all we encountered were friendly and professional, i am not so sure about those behind the scenes. We stayed one night in a balcony room, checkin was quick and efficient. Our room was a fairly good size, felt a little cramped because a huge area was taken up by the over sized bathroom which could easily have accommodated a seperate shower instead of an over the bath job. The bath sides were very high, mid thigh on me, making it uncomfortable to get in and out of. The arm chairs looked a bit grubby the bed felt lumpy but was very comfortable. The duvet was a felted lump of polyester. Later we became very aware of other rooms plumbing both flushing and showering! We ordered a bottle of wine from the list provided, rapidly delivered and very nice, sat in the arm chairs with French doors open enjoying the fantastic view of surrounding hills.
We had booked a table for dinner and were initially shown to a very small table with a walkway behind it, I pointed out a slightly larger empty table at one side of the room and we sat there. Strange as other couples were sat at nicely placed large tables on their own.
We were expecting good things from the food and the starters were fine, my husbands main of steak was good but my main was a disaster, I had ordered, from the specials menu, roast shoulder of lamb with a rosemary and garlic jus with whole mustard mash. What arrived was lamb but smothered in a mint gloop, it looked and tasted as if a jar of mint jelly had been stirred into some gravy, I never order lamb and mint, I didn't want lamb and mint. The mash was plain.
The first waiter I raised this with was flustered the waitress who followed was apologetic and after consulting with the kitchen offered me another meal, but by this time my husband had nearly finished and I hated the idea of waiting and then being all out of step, not what a romantic dinner is supposed to be about, so I scraped off the gloop and ate. The lamb was tasty. Dessert was uneventful if expensive for what they were.
At least two staff members made a point of saying we wouldn't be charged for my main course so at least that was dealt with in a professional way.
Luckily I have a sense of humour as breakfast was a farce in its own right. I ordered a full breakfast all the usuals but no baked beans or fried bread. First plate, with baked beans no sausage or black pudding. Second plate no baked beans sausage or black pudding. Third plate as ordered!
Coffee was weak, toast brown but a bit sweaty not crisp as if it had been cooked and stacked up. On the way back to our room we met the couple from the room below ours, they had just reported water coming in through their ceiling and wondered if a bath or basin was overflowing, er no, we had both showered and had noticed a little water on the floor so mopped with a towel, as one does, but as there are a couple of long cracks across several floor tiles not sure how much had escaped.
Just to finish up as we were packing a couple of people let themselves into our room, thought it was empty. Receptionist did apologise.
This place has a lot going for it but given the issues I don't think it represents value for money, we had expected much more. Attention to detail descriptions on menus and improving the quality of things like duvets and cleaning upholstery would make a big difference.
Some of the food is very good, the staff we dealt with were all lovely but overall its a shame we had intended to return for a longer stay to explore the area properly, now I am not so sure.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We actually visited this hotel only for a brief few days last year, and we rented the High Cabin room out in the middle of nowhere, which was perfect. The location is a total secret until you reach the hotel, where you are given a treasure map to your location, not far from the hotel, but with beautiful views, fantastic room and snug warm living area with heated bathroom floor, and 1 class goodies to treat yourself to! This cabin is total luxury and an absolute MUST if your seeking a romantic getaway for 2! The surrounding area is amazing, but be ready to travel through very narrow roads and lots of testing areas for your car breaks! It's just perfect for hiking about, or just relaxing in your cabin, which is what we did. It rained all the time we was there, but we did not care, it was lovely anyway.

All staff was so friendly, and very accommodating, they stayed up late to wait for us as we got lost and arrived late, and they were still smiles and kindness on arrival and even helped us over the phone to find the cabin as we was in the dark, I don't recommend trying to find the cabin in the dark!

Room Tip: Go all out and book one of the cabin rooms with hot tubs, you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Groes Inn in August on a DBB rate with our dog. The room we were given was large, well equipped and comfortable. We found the staff very friendly and approachable during our stay. I did think that some of the dishes on the menu were expensive for what they were but as dinner was included we didn't need to worry too much about this. However, the breakfast was fantastic and we particularly enjoyed our meals from the special boards on the second evening!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BumblesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We weren't planning this break but when we saw an offer on the internet, we decided to visit with our dog. The room was very spacious and clean. Nice touch was the complimentary bottled water. The staff were warm and friendly. The food was excellent. We intend to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 247Lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Whilst staying in self-catering accommodation near the Groes Inn we stumbled across the Inn for dinner one night - the first was so good we visited again during our week in north Wales. On both occasions the food was excellent, staff were exceptional and the environment of the bar where we ate was lovely. The food choice is good with a standard menu plus specials and all food was well cooked and well presented. The staff were accommodating of a range of guests including small children. A lovely discovery that helped make our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Our evening in the restaurant was a thank you gift from a good friend. We were slightly anxious due to some negative reviews written the day before our visit (these have now disappeared..). We were greeted very warmly and immediately felt welcome. The menu choice was good, although we felt both starters were over priced for what they were. The actual product didn't fulfil the expectations created by the menu description. However, the main courses were very flavoursome and filling. As it was a treat, we each had dessert. We had a minor complaint which I don't wish to share online, however, I feel that the way in which it was dismissed did not reflect the level of customer experience the Groes Inn is trying to portray. I would also like to say that we've had meals that have cost a similar amount which have been absolutely faultless. Would we go back again??....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimRch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
11.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Property: Groes Inn
Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing