We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location....”
Review of Groes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Groes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tyn-y-Groes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location....”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with a group of friends for May bank holiday. We were made very welcome by Mandy and received an excellent service throughout our stay from all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, even bringing three weary walkers a cocktail to our rooms!

The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Showers hot and fierce (though we always managed to flood the bathroom floor) and the Molton Brown toiletries a lovely touch.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed good pub grub & well stocked bar!

Our only complaint... we felt cheated that our friends had rooms overlooking the valley and we were on the road... Hope to visit again soon & will bring the dog!!

Thanks Mandy & team

The Northumberland Lads & their wives

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezza154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    116
    71
    27
    6
See reviews for
60
325
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast at the Groes both before and after a day at the Anglesey Circuit. We were looked after really well, the rooms, the food, the staff and the hospitality were all absolutely first rate. Nothing was to much trouble and even at 7am on Saturday morning our early breakfast was served with a smile, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 5, it fronted on to the road but it was very quiet. he views are really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spyder987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous venue, full of character. Friendly welcoming staff. Beautiful view from our room, with its' own terrace. Well worth paying extra for this. Food was delicious, although I thought the steaks were a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymollymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were four friends on a short break in the mos atrocious weather so this cosy inn was the perfect place to be. We were welcomed and shown to our room in the adjoining annex. It had been well prepared for our arrival, lovely and warm on a freezing cold day. Our room was large, with a queen size bed and small sofa. Very little drawer space, though. Bedside tables were just that - tables with no storage! Bedside lighting was too dim to read so we had to have the room lighting on too. So much for energy saving light bulbs! Bathroom was excellent, large, clean and well equipped. Food was good on the whole.One of our party had special dietary needs which had been requested before arrival but nothing had been done. Disappointing. Wine list was OK and prices reasonable. No nibbles though and I was charged £! for a small packet of crisps! Service generally very good and food came promptly. Billing was accurate.A very acceptable hotel in a picturesque location. Recommended, despite the minor niggles.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was a bit gloomy Try one on the first floor to get the best of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Four of us (on a walking weekend) stayed here - although three of us had stayed and/or eaten with partners previously. The blazing fires, great beer, super food, comfortable rooms and welcoming staff all made this a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor superior rooms (converted to twins for us four walkers) which were quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchellTorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had an excellent meal following a long and pleasant winter walk. Good quality with some excellent choice of "real ale". There was an allocated section for pets which is useful for a dog walker.Plenty of parking spaces too with an overflow car park.
I will be back on a warmer day when I can sit outside in the well maintained beer garden.
Overall,a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Groes on a number of occasions and always had a superb stay. The accomodation is superb and the meals are mouth watering. We had our honeymoon in a cottage up the lane facing in 1972 and used to drink in the Groes at night, so it is a nostalgic place to visit. We took our children and grand children for Sunday lunch when it was our 40th wedding anniversary in Oct 2012. There was 11 of us and with all the drinks and meals i was dreading the bill but i was very pleasently surprised how reasonable it was. Our gift off our kids was a 2 night stay in N014. this is a joy in the centre of Conwy and magical.

Room Tip: Spend that bit extra and go for a deluxe with your own patio looking over the fields towards Snowdon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnieSalfordU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,160 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
11.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
19.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Property: Groes Inn
Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing