We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel and excellent homemade food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Groes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Groes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tyn-y-Groes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little hotel and excellent homemade food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nts and a further 2 nts in The High Cabin which is owned by the same people. (seperate reveiew)

A great location in The Conwy Valley for visiting Conwy and Snowdonia and a fantastic warm welcome to come back to after a day visiting the many attractions in the area.

Obviously some people just don't appreciate the HOMEMADE food and are clearly used to eating the mass produce food sold in the chains! Everything is made fresh for you and they have some great daily specials..don't forget to check the board in the bar!

We had a couple of the best meals we've had in a long time here!

Your on holiday why would you want Wifi in your room? Its available in the bar if you just cant go a few days without checking your emails!

Don't forget to try their own Ale!

The rooms are comfortable and spacious and for the price offer great value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back away from the road..although this is not a busy road so noise is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzerlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    106
    66
    25
    6
See reviews for
53
310
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We have just come back from a wonderful stay at the Groes Inn . We loved the beautiful room with the big bed , the decor and the spacious bathroom with the soft robes . It was very peaceful and quiet with lovely views over the countryside .
We ate at the bar , the food was not pubgrub but excellent with wine to match . We had very good service , it is great to stay at a place where the overs run it , it certainly shows .
A very beautiful Inn , we loved it and hope to come back
Frank and Elsa O'Gorman
Cheshire .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artyelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was booked as a romantic break, leaving our children with Grandparents for some 'couple time' and it was an excellent choice.
It is a very pretty traditional inn,very oldy worldy, with accommodation in a block on the side. It is in a beautiful location near to Conwy overlooking hills front and back. We had booked a balcony room but had been upgraded to a deluxe on arrival which was a lovely surprise. Our room was beautiful,it looked like it had been recently decorated in a lovely country style. The french doors opened onto our own terrace with table and chairs, just perfect to enjoy a bottle of wine overlooking the fields and hills beyond.
The room was very clean with a huge comfortable bed and sofa area. The bathroom had a fantastic shower with molten brown toiletries. There were also fluffy white dressing gowns included.
We ate in the restaurant, having enjoyed a drink outside in the garden we were shown to our table. The menu was slightly pricey but the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was cooked fresh to order with top quality sausages and home made bread.
We checked out and enjoyed a great day in Betys Coed. We will return as it is in such a lovely location with great quiet rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter with beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iggsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

A tastefully extended 16th century coaching inn. We were given a room on the ground floor,which was very tastefully decorated,very country cottage,very clean with a bed the size of a small country and as comfortable as it as large. Having marvelled at the size of the bed and the lavish bathroom,strewn with luxury Molton&Brown bath products, accompanied by large gleaming white soft fluffy towels and bath robes, we were totally astounded by the view we encountered when we opened the patio doors to reveal a more than ample decked patio area with a view of the "Snowdonian peaks" that can only be described as beautifully stunning. After affording ourselves the luxury of the view accompanied by a welcome cup of coffee we decided it was time for dinner.
We decided to dine in the bar rather than the resturaunt only because it was less formal and there was no need for a reservation in the bar. The menus were the same in both so the selection and quality of the food doesn't vary with surroundings. At first glance the menu seemed somewhat simplistic,with bangers and and mash, braised steak and apple and cinamon crumble and custard taking their place next to steaks and artisan iced creams and homemade breads but this is not to say it was at all boring. We found the food well cooked, well presented and served with a smile.Not the fanciest menu in the world but none the less most enjoyable. Final comment on the dining experience,there was a wine list which was not too shabby and fairly priced but for me the crowning glory in the bar was the GROES ALE, brewed especially for the inn,this is a light bitter ale with cittrousy,hoppy notes and an OG of only 3.4% or so, a highly quaffable quality brew, described to me by the barman as a good session ale. VERY SOUND ADVICE from a man who knows his job.A very large thank you to all the staff at the GROES INN our first but by no means our last visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddking57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were delighted with our stay at Groes Inn. The room was large and very comfortable, the food excellent (enormous portions), the staff could not have been nicer and the situation is lovely. We will return.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dianapreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We have stayed at the Groes Inn on many occasions and have just returned from another excellent weeks stay.The staff are all very helpful, friendly and courteous. We always have a room at the rear of the Inn overlooking Rowen and the mountains, and our favourites have patios, ideal for an aperitif.We have travellled extensively and stayed in many luxury hotels in the world, so are accustomed to excellent service and accommodation but get a real feeling of coming home when we return to The Groes Inn with the welcome and service we are given, We stayed in November with my brother and his partner (a french lady, and superb cook) who enjoyed the fillet steak so much they ordered again the next night !!!! So the person who complained in a previous review must have been very unlucky.As the owner pointed out in a reply to a previous comment, this is an INN not a Hotel, so it is unfair to compare it with a Hotel.We had a weeks half board, and enjoyed every meal.Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbillo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked via Groupon Deal, we had eaten at The Groes when we stayed locally in Rowan, so was very pleased when we realised which hotel it was. We had a lovely room (which we were told was due to be redecorated soon), on the ground floor at the back with our own patio. Brilliant views. We booked to eat in and had a lovely 3 course meal, food was excellant and well presented. The weather was lovely on Sat so we were able to have a drink on the patio in the afternoon. Breakfast was good too with pleanty of selections to choose from.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank christinegibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
19.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
12.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Property: Groes Inn
Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing