We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Pandy Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pandy Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Dorstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend break in March. I was worried about the miserable weather, as I like my comfort, but my husband really wanted to check out the walking trails nearby. I was thrilled, the rooms were fabulously warm and comfortable and the heating was independent so you could adjust to your own requirements. The weather was really quite miserable and we didn't see the location at its best, but the Pandy Inn atomospher (there are the most amazing chickens and the friendliest dog) more that compensated. After l lovely day spent in bookshops in Hay, we were more than happy to return to the comfort of the Pandy Inn to enjoy our purchases. The food was amazing, and we had intended to go elsewhere the second night for a meal but changed our minds as they seemed to be having a party for St Patrick's night and allowed us to join in. I always think that the place that is supported by locals is always going to be good! Thanks to all, Mary B

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Pandy Inn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for three nights last summer and everything was perfect: the large very comfortable rooms,(lovely bed linen and fantastic showers), good food in a totally unpretentious atmosphere and great staff.

Room Tip: go for rooms at the back that look out on the countryside
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked in Feb 20012 (should have done this ages ago) expecting a nice little country pub near to Hay and some nice scenery. What we got was exceptional. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room was spacious and spotless with a very nice view. The owners and staff were all very cheerful and helpful. The evening meal was great, my wife ordered duck, not something I am a fan of but this was beautiful. Breakfast was one of the best. When leaving, we asked the owner if there was a more scenic route home, you would never pick/find the way he gave us but it was breathtaking. All in all top class break 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face the mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnboyYNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I booked this B&B for a nice Christmas break. The room was lovely, spacious and atmospheric. It has been built in traditional polish mountain style (apparently), light wood with gorgeous large windows. The wooden beams give the rooms a very relaxed feel, the furniture is modern but again made from wood, which really adds to the natural air of the room. The large kingsize bed and well equipped bathroom (with dressing gowns) are far better than the average B&B.
Breakfast was good, too.

We ate here for dinner the first night - as they also own the pub - which was excellent. The A La Carte menu is fantastic, a real treat. The pub is believed to be from 1185, possibly the oldest in the country.

Christmas Lunch was amazing.

Leave the cellphone at home as there is no signal and be aware that there are cockerels on site, so early rising is a given. But although we love a good sleep-in, it did not have a negative impact on our stay.

Thanks for the great trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 - the kingsize room - this has a balcony overlooking the Herefordshire hills, ve...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were visiting the area for a family party and had two nights at the Pandy. The accommodation is in a purpose built Zakopane style wooden building, but it was built to a very high standard and everything was spotless. There were 7 of us so we took all 4 rooms, ours was upstairs overlooking the hills and fields. We had a good meal in the restaurant the first night and pub snacks on the second. It is a very attractive pub and the staff were very polite and very helpful at all times. It is very convenient for Hay on Wye, Hereford and beyond.

Room Tip: Overlooking the fields at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The rooms at the Pandy Inn are situated in a purpose built Scandinavian style wooden building at the rear of the 13th century pub. We opted for one of the de luxe rooms at a small additional cost, having read that some guests were disappointed with rooms overlooking the carpark. We were very happy with this decision as our room had a balcony facing the fields as was equipped with everything we could have wished for . Lovely big, fluffy towels and bathrobes, luxurious toiletries and ample supplies of tea and coffee sachets for relaxing beverages on our balcony. Apart from a slight shortage of hangers in the wardrobe (4) we could find no fault with the room and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay.

The pub itself is steeped in history and the bar, with it's hop laden beams, is a delightful place to enjoy the generous and delicious breakfast, or a drink and dinner in the evening. The staff are charming, the service very good and there is an overall feeling of a relaxed, friendly welcome. Although the Pandy Inn is rather short on "kerb appeal" and the exterior and car park tend to let it down a bit, don't let this put you off. This is a delightful place and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the carpark if possible
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Touchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's not often that a venue exceeds the promise of it's web-site, but The Pandy Inn does it, and how! We stayed for one night and are already planning our next visit. From the moment we arrived I knew we'd found something special. The Inn dates back to the 12th century and is full of charm and atmosphere. The accommodation is definitely not 12th century!! Bedrooms are in a separate, beautifully constructed wooden house located behind the inn. Everything about the accommodation is first class - perfect bathroom, big comfortable bed with crisp white linen, spotless room with high ceiling and enormous window to take full advantage of the beautiful view. And, to add that something extra, our room had a little balcony to sit out on. We had dinner in the inn and it was just perfect. Beautifully cooked and with delightful service. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. So, for a perfect location, luxurious accommodation and a warm welcome, I can't fault this place. Just can't wait to return and further explore this beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but we particularly liked ours which was to the back of the wooden house and...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorstone
5.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
153 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
464 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn at Brilley
New Inn at Brilley
#1 of 3 in Whitney-on-Wye
154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westbrook Court B & B
Westbrook Court B & B
#1 of 1 in Westbrook Court
167 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Agent's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandy Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandy Inn B&B

Address: Dorstone HR3 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Dorstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dorstone
Price Range: $108 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small eco-friendly hotel/bed and breakfast. Food available in the Pandy Inn Pub. Smart, modern rooms with beautiful views, surrounded by nature, free range chickens and ducks. Lovely garden for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pandy Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing