We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My 50th Birthday weekend with a group of friends...”
other traveler has booked this property
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
633dawn
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“My 50th Birthday weekend with a group of friends - amazing accommodation.”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I am not going to lie, I didnt venture out all weekend to comment on the surrounding countryside and didnt want to, even though I packed my trainers for exploring! I didnt want to leave as the accommodation was perfect. I had a group of friends join me for the weekend - from young to a bit older!!! Everyone was so impressed with the property, so spacious and everything you could want. The kitchen, dining, living area was the most perfect social area, and it was filled with laughter all weekend, which was exactly what I was aiming for. Great weekend had by all, and everyone fell in love with the place.

I would also like to mention how helpful the staff were at The Old Mill, I did get a bit carried away with numbers when inviting people, and when I went into a panic about it my mind was quickly put at rest, they couldnt have been more helpful to sort things out with me.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2018
Hi Dawn - thanks for your lovely review , our team were were delighted to help make your weekend special and we are really pleased you got it all sorted and were able to enjoy your birthday party. You were great guests - we hope you'll come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhayes220...
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Place to Rest”
Reviewed June 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Although only nine of us,four different locations all meeting in one place to relax and spend some quality time together. My wife(dedicated searcher) found it, after much internet hunting. My Daughter approved it(So fussy!.....just kidding),good taste! And all us others just really enjoyed the experience.One very very small critique,which i will not get away without mentioning was the lack of the arrival cake,and i think bottle of something(though i'm not sure about that bit!). More than made up for by the friendly assistance during the stay and tea-bags and sugar we forgot.
Hot tub heaven and plenty of good weather(we can only thank God for that bit) made for an exceptional,memorable relaxing and fun weekend.
Will we return?........oh! if we really must;)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2018
Hi Julian, we are all disappointed to have received this 4 star review, however would like to point out that we don't actually provide a cake for airbnb guests sorry! To prevent further confusion you'll see we have taken all mentions of the cake off the web site as we prefer to give our guests other little luxuries like the spa robes and slippers . we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and if you do come back we will make you a very delicious cake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrain4d
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Large Group with Kids”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Barns is a fantastic venue for a large group gathering. It has every conceivable amenity to make your stay as comfortable as possible, which means you don't have to waste anytime once you arrive.

The layout means it's perfect for kids and the smaller ones can be kept safely confined while the larger ones can get out ans explore. The various room configurations means it is easy to accommodate different sized groups and combinations of families, plus the Steph, Sally and the team that manage it are really helpful as well.

There's plenty to see in the local area as well with plenty of good pubs, restaurants and walks a short drive away.

We've stayed here twice now and are already booked for 2020 (2019 was booked for the weekend we wanted unfortunately!) and plan to come back every year.

It's a shame that it isn't possible to give 6 stars!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
Hi Mark - thank you for posting your review - we love getting them and are so pleased you had another great stay. Im so sorry we are booked for 2019 but 2020 is in the diary. You are a lovely group and we love having you here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor M
1 review
“A holiday home from home!”
Reviewed April 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our third stay at the Barns and it never disappoints. The setting is perfect for country walks, running, and cider! The accommodation is beautiful and so well tailored for large groups - the kitchen has everything you'd ever need and we always manage to cook up some amazing meals in there. They're always so happy to help and provide local recommendations in the run up to the stay. We can't recommend it more!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review - as always your group are perfect guests and we look forward to your 4th stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul t
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding party venue”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What an absolutely fantastic venue. We had a party of 38 who were attending our wedding, so we made a weekend of it. It had everything we needed. Bags of space to hide away if required, but room enough to have everyone together. Would heartily recommend to anyone. We will be back for certain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thanks Paul - you were such a happy lovely group and we hope to see many of you again. Enjoy your wedded life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy L
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Venue for a Large Gathering”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The Barns was the perfect venue to celebrate my joint 40th Birthday celebrations. From the initial enquiry right through to checking out the staff were amazing; so friendly and helpful. The communication was brilliant, any emails were responded to on the same day. Nothing was ever too much trouble in helping us plan our perfect weekend away. We hired out The Old Mill, The Granary and The Hayloft for 22 guests; all I can say is wow, wow, wow!!! I knew from the photos that they were going to be amazing, but all three Barns were seriously on another level. They were all spotlessly clean, so tastefully decorated and so well equipped. There was nothing that hadn’t been thought of. The addition of the two games rooms and the hot tub were an added bonus and they were thoroughly enjoyed by all of our guests. Everyone had a fabulous time and we are hoping to re-book again for next year. Not for any special occasion just because The Barns are truly amazing. If you are thinking of booking, you must. You certainly will not be disappointed. A massive thank you to Steph, Sally and the team for helping to make our weekend so wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Thank you Tracy - we loved having you here - great guests and we look forward to seeing you all next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandachri...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing and pet friendly.”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I had stayed at The Barns previously so knew how lovely The Barns were. Due to the great location, high standard of the property we booked again as a family break away, 5 adults, 2 children and a dog. We had a warm welcome by Sally, and a lovely welcome pack, including a home baked cake. The Barn was as lovely as we remembered and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. The highlight of the stay was our mother (86 year old) who had her first experience in the hot tub. The Barn was immaculately presented, the hot tub was checked every morning to ensure full safety measures were in place. The owners had obviously put a lot of thought and effort into making sure those who stayed had everything they required. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you The Swire Family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Thank you Amanda for taking the time to post this lovely review. Very pleased your mother enjoyed the hot tub - we do like to ensure they are all sparkling, warm and inviting
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing