We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEAUTUTIFUL, CLEAN AND WARM ACCOMODATION!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vernetta...
1 review
“BEAUTUTIFUL, CLEAN AND WARM ACCOMODATION!”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I organised a Married Couples Retreat during the half term week in October 2017 and booked exclusive use of all the Barn's from Monday to Friday. From the beginning the managing staff were incredibly friendly, warm and helpful in making our booking and were always willing to help with the (many) additional requests we made. When we arrived, every single person was bowled over by how beautiful and quality the accommodations were, from the bedrooms and bathrooms to the kitchens, and living rooms everything was clean and stylishly rustic. The Barn's felt so warm and homely and well supplied with everything we needed for our stay. We were able to bring our own caterer and The Barn's staff were a great support to her as well. Thanks for having us and we'll certainly be back soon. We highly recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
Thanks V, for taking the time to review us - we love to get feedback from our guests and we loved having you all here. PS the singing was very uplifting! Look forward to seeing you again 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53sophie
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Utterly fabulous!”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I booked this place for my friend's hen party - and it was just beautiful. From the moment we booked, Steph totally looked after us, answering all my questions, sending additional information for activities/places to visit etc/other services etc.
On arrival we had fresh cake and a goody box of delicious jams, nibbles. We were actually moved from one property to main Mill Barn due to a leak but this just added to our fantastic stay. The properties are all beautifully presented, clean, cosy and super warm (the underfloor heating is such a bonus!). The added benefit of the hot tub meant we didn't want to stray too far from the place.
I cannot recommend this place and the housekeeping team highly enough - the hen party had such a fab time and I will definitely be back.

Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
Thanks S, for posting such a lovely review - you were great guests and we are so pleased you had a great time with us. The leak is repaired now so please come back and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneStour...
Stourbridge Uk
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't fault - such an amazing place for family and celebrations”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We booked the Old Mill and Hayloft for a long weekend for a family get together and we couldn't find fault with the guest services or the accommodation. We did have a medical emergency when an older member of the party became ill with an infection and the Herefordshire emergency services were amazing. If you want to know how special the living/Dining/ Kitchen area is - the paramedic who came in to update us on the patient they were taking to hospital walked through the door and went WOW!.

We couldn't believe how well the kitchen area was equipped , although we would have like more knives for preparation. Saying that we managed and never ran out of anything,
The " starter "pack of dishwasher tabs, tea towels etc was more than adequate and the cake was truly scrumptious.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were fabulous and the "entertainment" rooms were brilliant. We loved the "quirky" furniture made from farm objects.

I would like to say a special thank you to Sally whose welcome was amazing and the sign off when we left was personal, professional and friendly. A great front of house lady!
We would love to go back and hopefully we will and we continue to advise others to give it a go - if you do you won't be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2017
Hi Jane , thanks so much for posting such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return again. Hope the 'patient' has recovered!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LashfordW
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

12 of us stayed in the Old Byre for my 50th birthday, I cannot underestimate how lovely our stay was. The property is immculate and perfect for a big group. The huge kitchen has a real wow factor and we spent most of our trip in there or the movie room, or the hot tub!. The main living room is beautiful too. I would highly recommend this and hope to visit again sometime :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thanks Wendy we loved having you stay and hope you will come and stay again, thanks for your lovely review from the team at the barns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison Bi...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The H Party August 2017”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at The Barns for a family party to celebrate my sisters 50th birthday, there was 24 of us in total. The Barns is beautiful and immaculate, everyone was very happy with their accommodation with all the bedrooms and bathrooms being equal in their loveliness so no arguments there :)

We had Lyn Bullock come along and do a BBQ for us on the Saturday, recommended by Sally and Steph, she did an amazing job, brought all the food, crockery and cleaned everything up after, leaving us tidy and full.

The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we could possible need with the biggest fridge I have ever seen, which somehow we still managed to fill!!

Spa towels and slippers were provided for the hot tub, a very nice touch.

We brought our little dogs so the private garden was very welcome, a wonderful weekend, we just need to find another reason to celebrate, would be a amazing place to celebrate Christmas for a big family.

Thank you to Sally, Steph, Bev and all the team - great job :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Hi Alison - thanks for your great review - our team love getting them and Im pleased we could meet your high standards! Please come back for a Christmas stay (2018 available!) - the barns look amazing all decorated and are all very cosy and perfect for celebrating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinem...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place for a get together!”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As a group of 30 something's for a hen do, we could not have hoped for a more perfect venue. The barns are stunning, fitted out to an extremely high standard, and very thoughtfully designed. There were 20 of us, so we hired two of the barns which worked perfectly. We made use of the cooking facilities, which had everything you need to cater for a large group. Sally and the team were so friendly and helpful from start to finish. Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thanks for this Caroline we love getting great reviews like this
You were fab guests and so glad you had an amazing time and we would love to see you back here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful 40th Celebration”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose The Barns at Upper House as the location for 48 hours away with our nearest and dearest to celebrate my 40th Birthday. It was absolutely perfect. The location is gorgeous, the accommodation is to a very high specification and the whole place is perfectly set up for this sort of thing. It was very straightforward in terms of booking/admin/logistics. All the facilities are there for a perfect weekend or week away. On arrival, we were greeted immediately by Sally who showed us around. A lovely cake and fresh juices, along with some nibbles were left as a greeting hamper, and we immediately felt at home.

If you are planning something similar, with lots of busy, hard working guests who want to relax, can we recommend Rachel and Beverley? These two lovely ladies came in to help us both mornings with tidying away from the night before, and cooking breakfasts and serving guests, most of whom had large hangovers!! They were amazing, helpful, polite and worth every single penny. The Barns can organise for them to come in and help. We also used the caterers The Cider Barn whom we were introduced to via Sally Williams and the Barns management team and were very happy with them too.

I really hope this business goes from strength to strength, it fully deserves to. We would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you T and O for this great review
The team are thrilled especially Bev and Rachel as they loved helping your group and want to pass on their thanks! We love getting reviews like this and we too hope to go from strength to strength. Please visit again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;